We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel room. Nothing spectacular” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Okay hotel room. Nothing spectacular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

We stayed at the park Lodge for four nights. They gave us a room facing the street, which was a bad choice given the traffic and noise, particularly at night. We asked for a room facing the back service road which was much better. The building is old and needs a big makeover. Everything is dated, the furniture, the carpet, the towels...everything. However, I think the hotel is clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. I believe that the only renovated area in the whole building is the swiming pool and steam room. For the price we paid, I guess there are better options in town, particularly in Banff which is a small town and everything is within walkable distance.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dated rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    557
    233
    67
    36
See reviews for
393
544
52
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

The room was old, small and shabby. I don't mind this if the price reflects that and I was lead to believe that when I bought the room.

There were other problems. The meal we had in the second floor restaurant was expensive and low quality.Again the value was not there.

The front desk duty manager provided an I don't care attitude.
There was a 72 hour cancelation policy so we were stuck for three nights...never again.

We had problems with this stay. We will not be staying at this property again.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernHusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

We went to American Airlines to book this! Besides getting 250 more miles, we were told when we checked in that it was linked to Travelocity, or one of those search engine sites.
The facility was great! The food however was quite expensive. Breakfast buffet was $17.50! WOW It is a vacation town however, so saying that, enough said. The room was great, the beds were so comfy. Firm but fluffy! The underground heated parking ($8.00 per day) was very nice. I would go back and stay at this place without a doubt!

  • Liked — location location location
  • Disliked — balcony had trees for a view.......:(
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneSoaringSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

We stayed here for a week in January 2008. The hotel is dated, and reception staff could do with going on a customer service training course. They could be a little terse!

The swimming pool and spa have been renovated and are lovely. The breakfast buffet was lovely, the restaurant was dark and dated.

The rooms were comfortable but dark and dated. The bathrooms could do with decorating.

The bar has strange opening hours!! but is pleasant enough.

The location is great - the ski bus stops right outside and there is a big thermometer on the wall outside. The shops and restaurants are close by.

We had a lovely time staying there and would recommend it.

  • Liked — the spa
  • Disliked — the dated decor
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tourist77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

For a family of five we booked a suite. The room looked terrific was large and had six double beds. Unfortunately each double bed was a put me up so were all very uncomfortable. The room had not been properly cleaned when we arrived. When mentioned to staff they offered no reaction.
The swimming pool and spa were excellent, as was the restaurant

  • Liked — The pool and spa
  • Disliked — The poor level of room cleanliness and poor quality of beds
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fanman1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

A great ski hotel. The ski locker is convenient (right next to the front door - where the ski buses stop) so no hauling skis and poles around.
Staff were very helpful - went out of their way to assist with a number of queries.
Rooms were fine. This is no luxury hotel, but clean and well equipped.
Bearing this in mind, and its extremely central location, I think it's good value.
We've stayed at Mount Royal, Banff International and others we chose to forget! The Banff Park Lodge is easily our favourite.

  • Liked — Location; convenience for ski lockers and ski bus; staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CarolDLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

I originally booked a room that came up cheaper on another website. I sent the hotel an email and within the day, the price was matched. That's good service. The hotel itself is showing some age, as the parking lot was kind of dirty and the hallways had a certain smell. However, the hotel and room were clean. I didn't understand the toilet placement, as it was right up snug to the bathtub. The location of the hotel is excellent, just a couple of blocks from all the action on Banff Ave. The internet and parking were extra charge. All-in-all, not a bad stay for the price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Showing it's age
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank djspazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,907 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 688 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Property: Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, ETB, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing