We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“It's Location! Location! Location! (With Kids)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“It's Location! Location! Location! (With Kids)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

It's Family Day long weekend in February, and my husband and I have chosen to take the kids Skiing in Banff! After looking at the Family Hotels, that are located outside of the downtown core, we have chosen to stay at the Banff Park Lodge which is in the heart of downtown. We've stayed here in the past and we have enjoyed it as a couple. Now travelling with young children, I like to have shopping options nearby.

This time we have opted to rent two rooms instead of one suite. One being a kings sized bed, and the second room attached being a room with two queens. We also obtained a roll in cot for $10/night, which fit nicely in the room with two queens. This hotel has Lodge Suites which is one large room that sleeps six. Though my preference is a wall and some space between me and my kids.

The king size bedroom also has a Jacuzzi tub. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable, though I found the heater a bit loud during the night so I turned the heat off till morning and we only had one minor issue with the tub, being when you pulled up the rod for the shower, a lot of water still drained into the tub. The Jacuzzi was sure nice after a cold day of skiing. Both rooms also came with a coffee maker and an electric kettle and a small fridge. The only thing lacking in the rooms is a microwave oven. Both rooms had large closets which were great to hang jackets and ski pants in to dry. The room with two queens also had a second sink outside the bathroom which was great when the bathroom was occupied for the kids to brush teeth at night.

Our rooms were at the very end of the hotel facing Wolf Street. Across the street was a parking lot, no bars, no hotels and no noise. The only thing we heard occasionally was the whistle of the Canadian Pacific Railway Train, as we were only a few blocks away from the crossing. This did not bother us at all, and I think most of downtown Banff would hear it quite clearly.

With kids you always need something, Banff Park Lodge is one block from Nester's Grocery Store (local grocery store), two blocks away from Safeway (Large grocery chain). One block away from a pharmacy, and my husband broke his glasses and one block away from the optomitrist. Across the street is Shell Gasoline and a convenience store. Also important to note the Tim Horton's Donut shop was only two blocks away, and if you break something skiing, the hospital is a block away.

The hotel is also a full service, the kids enjoyed the swimming pool, hot tub and cooler pool. It is important to note, that the hotel requests the kids swim time to be over at 9pm, to give the adults some time to use the pool. Which I didn't have a problem with that. There were always ample towels to use, and the eucalyptus steam room was really hot. There was a small exercise room, beside the pool which we did not use.

We did use the heated underground parking which was $10.00/day. In February this is really nice to come to a vehicle that is heated, and had all the snow melted off. There is a height restriction of 6 Feet, and our Chevy Avalanche had about two inches to spare! There is even a hose for guest to use to wash their vehicles with to get rid of the dirt. There is even locker service for skis and snowboards, but we chose to keep our equipment locked in the back of the truck. The only thing I wasn't really thrilled about was the $10.00/per 24 hour charge for internet access. Really, is this necessary when most hotels offer it for free??

My son and I ate at the Chinook Restaurant for breakfast, and my husband and I enjoyed a Valentines Dinner at the Terrace Dining Room and another occasion had late night drinks at the Terrace Lounge. All times service was first rate. The hotel also has some small shops such as a convience store, with a large selection of magazines, candy, postal services, and a selection of items which you may have forgotten at home.

We enjoyed being a block off from Banff Avenue, the main street. It was nice quiet, and walking distance to all the bars, restaurants and shops. If you have never been to Banff, be aware that it is a tourist town and prices are inflated here, though I found the Banff Park Lodge to be a good value for our money, and the number of services they offer... and we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mommytraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    587
    238
    72
    37
See reviews for
416
562
55
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

a very central place to stay within walking distance of all the shops, we had a large suite which had more than one could ask for! even a free bottle of wine because it was my birthday! breakfasts were great, the down side, for such a great hotel nickel and diming on charging for the internet! also because we were on a Globus tour our dinner was included one evening, the meal was excellent, choices of what you wanted, but we all had to ask to have coffee served to us! it seemed that since we were on the tour (tipping was included) except for drinks that since we were not paying customers we got the feeling of being second class, that part i did not appreciate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irish194960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed here for a wedding in January 2014. It was very large and conveniently located. The pool area is very nice and clean and was empty when we visited one morning. Staff was very friendly and although our room wasn't one of the redone rooms it was clean and comfortable.

Parking and wifi fees do add up like someone else mentioned in their review.

We had some drinks in the bar but didn't eat at the restaurant since there were so many others nearby we wanted to try.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suntrotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Travel dates Jan 31 Thru Feb 8

Notes to other travelers staying at this hotel or in Banff general.

1. There is a cost of $10.00 per night for internet in BPL
2. There is a cost of $10.00 a night for parking in the BPL
3. Do not park on the street you will get a ticket.
4. Tri Area ski tickets are NONE Refundable period if your staying and skiing for seven days i recommend you pre purchase only five days, then if you want to ski the other two buy them at the resort. They did not open the resort two of the days do to cold weather and we were told that's the cost of doing business when buying ahead of time. They did give us snow checks valid for two years. Only hope is to sell the snow check tickets to another guest just arriving.
5. To enter the park for seven days is $130.00 for the family pass, pay this, your using the park it goes to a good cause, they do check your park passes at the ski resorts entrance and will turn you around.
6. If you check out early from the BPL they will charge you a $100.00 early check out fee.
7. The breakfast buffet at the hotel is $20.00 per person i recommend eating across the street.
8. A cup of coffee down stairs is three dollars a cup. Its a ski resort.
I do not mind paying my way but was never made aware of these extra cost and polices of not refunding your money. Do to the cold weather the resorts did not open until late afternoon. Still all we got from ski hub where we purchased are lift tickets is i am really sorry sir but are policies are not to refund.
I can say i will not be returning to this area to ski or visit Banff again. I am sure they do not really care anyhow that one guest had an unpleasant stay. All i ask is to be honest when communicating over the phone. They know this. Do not inform me of hidden costs after i have traveled 2k miles.
Under certain circumstances policies can be broken.
I have skied all over the world and have never had problems like this in the US.

Room Tip: Cross all your Ts and dot all your Is. If you know the questions to ask all the above can easily be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ATripReview2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at several different accommodations in Banff, and I likely won't be back here. Dated rooms, sheets were dirty. Blanket on the pullout couch was stained. .. The couch itself is worn, old, and less than comfortable.

The Chinook restaurant - decent offering and good service, but $44 for supper (only price, all you can eat buffet) is a joke! Supposedly a 2 for 1 pricing - but if you a single dining - same price stands. Eat somewhere else.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sfrunchak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My family stayed at Banff Park Lodge after new year this year 2014. To our surprise, the hotel seems to be convenient, close to all amenities, shops, restaurants. It has its own fine restaurant on the main floor as well. We tried it and it was excellent. A full mark for it. I booked 2 joining rooms. One with 2 queen beds for the kids, and the other with 1 king bed and a jacuzzi for me and my wife. It was comfortable. It has a nice view of mountain with a balcony, The balcony is not relevant for our use during the winter. It would be nice during the spring or summer. The hotel has a pool, but we did not try. We had this deal from Travelzoo. So the price we paid for 2 nights was very reasonable. The physical status of the hotel and its common areas are older. We have no problem with them. Hotel staff are helpful.The only thing you have to be aware of is that they charge for internet connection. Some hotels in the area did not charge for it. The price is $10 per room per night. Hotel's parking is underground for a charge. There is no other parking around the hotel, except 2 hr street parking.

Room Tip: Try to find deals for rooms with mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife & I traveled to Banff this past weekend for my cousins wedding. The hotel was a perfect location for the wedding as all the guests stayed in the hotel and the wedding/reception took place on the 2nd floor which caters to corporate events/weddings. The rooms were spacious (the beds were very comfy and the showers had strong pressure and hot water). Wireless internet was avaiable but at a fee however given the low price that we paid per night for the hotel if you absolutely need access to wifi it's not a big overall expense. The hotel is located within walking distance to all the boutique shops/pubs/restaurants so it is very conveniently located. Across the street from the hotel is a restaurant (Melissa's Missteak) where we had breakfast each morning...the food was great and the price for a resort community was very reasonable. The hotel charges extra for parking...you can park somewhere on the road however the parking at the hotel is underground (good for the climate/weather) and they offer a free self serve car wash station in the parkade which was a neat touch. We would definitely go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,934 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Property: Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing