We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facility for a corporate Xmas Party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great facility for a corporate Xmas Party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

It's a great facility for a corporate Xmas party. It's got a fabulous buffet brunch on Sunday with a great view of the mountains. The food is excellent and so is the service. The rooms are average with a lovely balcony to view the mountains. The fitness facility is only treadmill and bikes but the steam room and hot tub and pool is great. The change rooms are great!

Room Tip: ask for 2nd or 3rd floor and a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InnerSmile58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    609
    247
    76
    37
See reviews for
423
591
55
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Overall this is a reasonable choice for a banff hotel, but a mix of pros and cons based on 2 stays:

Good Points:
1. Spacious, large rooms with extra sink outside of bathroom and small fridge;
2. Comfy beds;
3. Quiet rooms;
4. Good location, park the car and walk to dinner (try Coyotes for kicked up southwest food);
5. Tasty buffet breakfast (for a cost) with great views.

Weak Points:
1. Mix up with room package vouchers (first time they gave only 1 breakfast voucher and 2nd time were missing ski vouchers) so give vouchers good look and expect delays if mix-ups;
2. The first stay my wife and I had planned a romantic weekend and said it was important to have a king bed. Instead 2 queens and no ability to change (they said it was a request only). Other hotels allow you to book type of bed so there is no surprise;
3. Bathroom dated.

On balance worth staying if price is reasonable.

Room Tip: Request a room with view and check in before 3 to have better room choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zbestcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at the BPL over the New Year holiday and we dined at the Breakfast Buffet and we absolutely loved it! The food was hot, fresh, tasty and the variety of choices was amazing! The buffet was quite busy and the Chef and cooks attended to the buffet very frequently and kept refreshing the food.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Banff Park Lodge Resort for a couple of nights in November 2013, whilst we were touring in the area. I would say that the hotel's prime feature is its excellent location, on a quiet street just a couple of minutes walk from the interesting end of Banff Avenue (assuming of course that you're keen to stay in a very centrally located hotel).

The hotel has a massive underground car park, which is very handy for thawing out your car in the winter. However, the entrance is only 6'1" (180cm), so if you turn up in something a bit oversized, you might struggle to get in. Our rental GMC Yukon XL wouldn't quite fit. The hotel also has about a dozen outdoor spaces (in the alley round the back of the hotel), but these fill up quickly.

The hotel is quite large, so I can imagine that it can get a bit hectic in the summer, but in November it was pretty quiet, so we had a lovely, relaxing stay. We booked a standard room, which was clean and spacious and pretty much exactly what you'd expect of this grade of hotel. There's also a nice swimming pool.

The breakfast buffet was very good. The main restaurant in the hotel is also one of the highest rated Banff restaurants on Trip Advisor (at the time of writing), although we didn't get the chance to try it ourselves.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay in the Banff Park Lodge Resort and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again (although we'll try to turn up in a slightly smaller rental car next time).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelly59CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights over Christmas this year and had a great experience. On our arrival the reception and concierge were helpful and courteous and we were quickly in our room. Our room was large, warm, comfortable and had everything in it we required ie kettle, fridge, safe and hair dryer. The beds are very soft and a nice pillow choice. The only minus point to me was the bedding as I do not like using the top shiny bed covers as they are not changed with every new client...often wonder how many times they are changed and washed (not just this hotel). Therefore all that was left to use was the sheet which wasn't really adequate. However this would not detract me from staying here again.
We only had breakfast in the hotel twice as we wanted to be up, out and skiing and not sat around having a long breakfast. Both times we ate there was a good choice of food, nicely presented, hot and tasty. We ate in the restaurant once, as there are so many nice restaurants in Banff to try. Again the food was good and fairly reasonably priced.
We used the pool area most nights and the facilities are fine. What needs to change is the people who use it. Parents really need to take responsibility for their kids and not let them use it like a play area, shouting, screaming, running in and out of the steam room and not taking into consideration the other people using the facilities. Also lots of babies in the hottest pool area (which shouldn't really be allowed) and none of them were wearing swim nappies etc..even though it was clearly stipulated on the signs.
All the staff we dealt with were helpful and informative but the guys who stood out were the concierge staff..Robin, Luke, Aaron and the others who's names I have forgotten.
A few suggestions that would make the hotel even better - a heated boot room to dry ski boots as the heaters in the rooms are not really suitable. A pool table or a small games room have encouraged us and maybe more families to stay in the hotel (or come back earlier) on an evening as there is nothing really for kids to do.
Overall we had a lovely stay and will look forward to returning next time we go to Banff.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 70SallyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed at the BPL from Dec23-Dec28,2013. It is a very convenient location to all the major restaurants, attracations, coffee shops. Walking distance to the banff springs, bow falls(15min), cave and basin (20minutes).
Has two restaurants. Ate only at the Terrace for Xmas. Excellent food. Internet is $10 per day. We only used it for the first day. After that did not use it. Found it very slow and has a limit of two devices that can be connected.
Carpets are old. Need to be replaced.
Can't beat this location though. We were on the 3rd floor (the highest floor) and had the view of the mountaints from the back of the room.
The phones in the room were on the table besides the tv. Phones should be next to one of the side tables.
We had booked this hotel with a package with Expedia. Will pick the place again to stay.
Would recommend it.
Thanks

Room Tip: If you want a view of the mountains, make sure you do ask for it. we stayed in room 343. we had a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hsachdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

As the title of my review suggests, I have to wonder how this hotel managed to stay in business all these years after my experience staying here. I stayed at this hotel for four nights because my work held an educational retreat in Banff. Let me tell you the customer service was deplorable, at best! There were numerous accounts where I personally witnessed my colleagues were given attitude by hotel staff for helping themselves to coffee and food during our orientation sessions that our organization paid for. Unfortunately, my experience was among the worst. I had personally ordered food to my hotel room and they mixed up the order. When I advised the staffer, named Matt, about the discrepancy, they gave me attitude and at that point, snatched my money out of my hand and cursed at me when I politely requested to have the food returned. I consider myself a very polite and respectful individual and I could not believe I received such treatment. I brought this item up to the hotel manager, Frank Denouden, and his approach was cavalier and inattentive. They made the verbal commitment to compensate me for the meal but never followed through and failed to keep their word. Anyways, my organization paid approximately 30 thousand dollars for this retreat and when I brought up this experience on my feedback form, coincidently, we never held another retreat at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel. Many other hotels in Banff will actually treat you with respect and act as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,962 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,242 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Property: Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing