We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2008

Spent two nights at the lodge and absolutely loved it. Staff were always helpful and friendly and able to accommodate our many requests. The room was huge and perfect for a couple on a weekend getaway. The jacuzzi was amazing! We also made use of the fantastic pool area (definitely more for adults than children). Had breakfast in the Chinook restaurant which had great mountain views and a wide selection on the buffet and menu. Were able to walk downtown to shops and restaurants within minutes. Could not have asked for a better time! Will be recommending to everyone!

  • Liked — Location, Rooms, Pool Facilities
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank breezey103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    734
    297
    89
    40
See reviews for
531
727
65
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cowtown
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2008

Living in Calgary, we are lucky enough to visit Banff often and stay overnight at least once per year. I have stayed at several moderate to better properties and so far the Banff Park Lodge is my favorite. It's located about 2 blocks from downtown so you can just leave your car and walk. The pool area is newly renovated and has the look of a nice spa - natural stone, a fire-place and seating area, clean locker-rooms and plentiful towels. It's salt-water and also features a jacuzzi, plunge pool, and steam room. It's an older property (I remember staying there as a kid 25+yrs ago) but it's been well cared for and renovated. We booked a B&B rate as it was only about $9/more per night and figured even if it was just coffee and a muffin it'd be worth it. We and were pleasantly surprised to find that we were entitled to the $18 breakfast buffet which featured hot and cold food, fruit, pastries and coffee/tea/juice. My only complaints are that they don't inform you of the $8/day parking charge, either when you're booking or on check in and we had booked a room with 2 beds and were given a king plus hide-away. Overall though, I would recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank jewelsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2008

I came to the BPL with my girlfriend last summer on our trip through Alberta into BC. We decided to stay at the BPL because we saw it had vacancy and because it was only a few minutes from down town. The front desk staff was really helpful and got us checked in quite quickly.
Our room was a decent size and clean, no complaints there. After getting in we took the short walk into down and had a wonderful night.
The next morning we decided to go down for the buffet in the Chinook restaurant. The food was quite delicious (although a bit cold) and the wait staff was very friendly and helpful. Our server Peter was great.
We checked out that morning and were on our way.
I had a wonderful stay at this hotel.
The only thing that bothered me was when we were leaving we ran into a staff member who was coming off work. I believe his name was To to, like that little dog from the Wizard of Oz. He was quite rude to us when we asked for directions. Not to mention he was the most vile creature I had ever lay eyes on. His evil face and coughing still haunt my dreams.
Aside from that it was a brilliant stay.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — To to
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Seanbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2008

I stayed at the Banff Park Lodge for one week at the end of September 2007 for a work conference. The conference facilities are okay, but may be a bit dated. The rooms are average - and it appears they could use a few renovations. The beds are not very comfortable.

However the maid service is good. We had meals included with conference and some days the meals were quite good, however other days the food was off. For example, one evening the chicken tasted like it had been cooked with dish soap.

I have stayed at the Rimrock and the Banff Caribou Lodge and they are much better value for the money.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — The pool was under construction
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wicket2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2008

Myself and 2 friends have just returned from a weeks skiing in the Banff/Lake Louise area. We stayed at the Banff Park Lodge and would definately recommend! Now Ok this isn't 5* or 6 * but it does blow any, and i mean any European ski hotel out of the water - as does skiing in Canada in general! We stayed in a Lodge suite which for 7 nights cost us £350 each - thats Travel Lodge money!!! The suite had 3 queen size beds, living/dining room and 2 full granite bathrooms. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, the hotel was clean, the buffet breakfast was fantastic. There really was nothing to fault at all.
Banff itself is incredible. The nightlife superb and the locals are just so friendly. I will NEVER ski Europe again. As for the food - well you cannot have a bad meal. The Alberta AAA steaks are the best kept secret in the world. I have eaten and raved about Kansas beef, Kobi beef and Aberdeen Angus but never had beef as good. BEST place to eat - Saltlik Restaurant- I have eaten in what are supposed to be the best in the world but the level of service and food here is incredible. We had the "nearly famous ribs" to start , AAA Alberta Grande fillet with layered potatos, garlic asparagas and a good bottle of red - about £30 each - superb. Other great places - Grizzly's - you can eat, beef, rattle snake, buffalo, elk, chicken etc etc - and you cook it yourself on hot rocks at the table - great experience!! Nightlife- too much to mention- but you have to go to the Karioke at Wild Bills - just for the local talent! There is just too much good about Banff and i do not have long enough to say all - Just go!!!! Oh and the skiing is the best - no queues, vast open expansive slopes, polite staff and fellow skiiers. You have to go - especially with the strength of the £ against Canadian $. It is as cheap if not cheaper than Europe and so much more quality for money. We flew with Zoom direct from Manchester to Calgary - £600 return - business class, hotel £350 - 7 nights.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NICKMO67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2007

Upon arrival we were told that since the pool/hot tub were under renovation we would need to take a taxi to another pool- not very appealing considering it was so cold outside. As we walked to our room, the halls were lined with loads of garbage from rooms that had been cleaned.There appeared to be black mould all over the shower tiles- also the bathroom and foyer had an old tile ceiling. There was no water pressure and the water ran cold in the shower. When we complained, a young female supervisor blamed us for not requesting the shower to be fixed sooner and she was completely unapologetic. Not impressed- only good thing was the location. Will not be staying there again.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank Wendel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2007

We chose to spend our last night in Banff at the Park Lodge. We had spent two and a half weeks in Banff mostly camping but spending a couple of nights at the Rundlestone and one at Bumpers. We chose the Park Lodge as we wanted something very close to the downtown so we could get our shopping done and enjoy a few cocktails at one of the restaurants without having to worry about driving anywhere. We were checked in quickly and were given a room on the top floor facing the street which is what we had asked for. So, we were off to a good start. However, once in our room we discovered our queen beds had shrunk to doubles. Unless of course that is their idea of queen size? Dunno. What was nice was a decent sized patio to sit out and enjoy some people watching. Now, this is the strange part. They have no chairs on any of the patios. Nothing! No plastic ones or anything. Why have patios if you can't sit outside on them? So, we went out to our vehicle and got our two fold out chairs and brought those in. They were somewhat worn so we even left them there upon departure for the next occupants to use (unless of course the staff chose to remove them). As far as the room went it was a decent size and looked quite clean. They place is showing it's age though as the top bed spread looked like it was leftover from the 1960's. The place really does need some upgrading. We did use the pool a couple of times and let me tell you that if you have ever swam at Johnson Lake (a few K's from Banff), the water at the Park Lodge is just as cold. Wow, it was chilly!!! But, the hot tub was nice and worked well. We did not get a chance to dine at their restaurants though the menus looked okay. The one thing I thought looked very inviting was their lounge. Would we stay here again? Probably, given the location. However, given the fact it cost about the same as the Rundlestone, I would chose the Rundlestone over the Park Lodge anytime. So, if any Park Lodge management types are ready this....get some plastic chairs put on those patios please!!!

  • Liked — Close to downtown.
  • Disliked — No chairs on the patio, freezing pool, place starting to look old and worn
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Banfff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Property: Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing