We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Stayed for 2 nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Grangemouth Scotland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Stayed for 2 nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Impressed by the large rooms at this hotel. Very comfortable for my first visit to Banff. We were part of a APT travel group. Found the staff friendly, and the food good and the location great. Only grumble was the lack of free wi-fi. If in the area again I would stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kat44007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    556
    233
    67
    36
See reviews for
391
542
52
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We just stayed at the Banff Park Lodge this past weekend for a wedding. As a Calgarian, I have been to Banff more times than I can count and have stayed at nearly every hotel in town. However, this was my first stay at the Banff Park Lodge.

The good:

Food: In addition to the wedding dinner, we had a late night snack and ate breakfast at the hotel. The food is very good. Unfortunately, the breakfast buffet closesvery very early (9:30 a.m. ... on a Saturday!). It would have been nice to try as it's only a couple dollars more than the a la carte items and it includes pretty much all of the items on the menu.

Rooms: The rooms are large and have very comfy beds. The rooms are a bit outdated, as are the hotel's hallways, but are on par with similar hotels. (This is not a 5* resort, nor did I expect 5* accomodations.)

Service: The wait staff that we dealt with in the hotel were excellent. Very friendly and accomodating!

Location: The hotel is in a great location. Near the river and only a two minute walk to Banff Ave.

The bad:

For some reason, and unlike any of the 10+ hotels I've stayed at in Banff, the Banff Park Lodge charges $10/day for parking. This took me by surprise, as there was no mention of this on our reservation confirmation or on their website. Other than the Banff Springs, I have never paid for parking at my hotel in Banff. This is terrible, especially given that our room was already about $20 - $30 more a night than other comparable hotels. But wait... there's more. The hotel also charges what they call a "nominal fee" for wifi. Their idea of "nominal" is $10/24 hours. (Even the Banff Springs gives free wifi to their president's club members, which is free to join). So, if you have a car and want access to wifi, you're looking at an extra $20 per night. Keep this in mind when comparing hotels.

So... add in all the extras and we were paying $40 - $50 more a night than at a comparable hotel down the street (and this was the "reduced rate" for the wedding). Wowza. For these reasons, this will likely be my last stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Calgal729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick-upon-Tweed
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

A friendly comfortable hotel which is close to the centre of Banff -near to restaurants, shops etc.
Its own restaurants were both good -one more expensive fine food and one less expensive more suitable for family eating

Room Tip: Our room at the side of the hotel was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A great night for buffet, fun music, slept great and friendly service from all staff including shops bars and reception. The bar was comfy and relaxed with news, wifi and sport. The rooms were spacious, watch out for wet children in the hallways!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne-MarieMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Out of the 4 hotels we stayed in during our trip from Vancouver to Calgary, this location was by far the best.

Don't let the outside look deceive you! The interior is spectacular, well maintained and well lit. ALL, and I mean ALL the front desk staff are extremely friendly, helpful and ready to assist you. I must have asked a question to at least 8 different front desk staff members and never was dissappointed by their quality of service or response.

The rooms are on the larger side and quite spacious. We had a room with a balcony with a view on the backside of the hotel, but could still see the mountains in front of us. Doesn't hurt to ask for a good mountain view!

The front desk staff were happy to assist us in finding a place to eat. They did recommend their own restaurant, and mentioned the strong Trip Advisor rating, but were courteous and thoughtful enough not to over push their own restaurant, and were eager to support the local restaurants as well. (This type of open mindedness and generosity only has us convinced now that when we go back to Banff, we will DEFINITELY be dining in the restaurant inside this hotel!)

The pool/hot tubs are to die for. EXTREMELY well maintained, clean, AND they have a Eucalyptus Steam Room! Our last day in Banff was rain and snow (...in May of 2013!!), so we canned our plans to go to the Banff Upper Hot Springs, and spent the day in the pool, hot tub and steam room! Spectacular!

Feels like a Fairmont, service like a Fairmont, without the snobbiness. To top it off, an economical price. We will definitely be coming back here!

Room Tip: Doesn't hurt to ask for a Mountain view. There is 2hr/3hr and 12/hr free parking around the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neotek618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We started out determined to stay at the Banff Springs but it looked very stuffy and the clerk did not seem to want to give us a price even remotely in the range of the internet prices. From there we shopped around Banff and arrived at the Banff Park Lodge. $99 per night plus $10 for underground parking (you can wash your car down there for free also)....free internet. Great room (king bed) ...very clean and right in town..flatscreen TV..couple of nice restaurants...very friendly and informed reception clerks. I could find nothing to complain about. I'm not sure what else is available but I would certainly stay here again....good value. They were renovating the buffet restaurant so we did not try it. They have a fine dining restaurant also but we were looking for something a little more casual.

Room Tip: ...the Grizzly House for dinner and Coyotes just up the street for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dmc19751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Enjoyed our stay in Banff. The hotel and city were both great. There is a direct shuttle from Calgary that makes the trip so easy. I agree with the previous comment that the concierge is very helpful and so friendly. It is a memorable trip that I will remember for the rest of the life.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whymiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,905 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Property: Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, ETB, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing