We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good stay, nice & fast service but more charge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good stay, nice & fast service but more charge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights to have a quiet family bonding. As we just arrived, hubby needs internet and wanted to play a PS3 but for a hunchback TV for superior room? no way! We were surprise that you have to pay for the internet every 24 hours for $10 and another $15 for the microwave ( I have a kid so we need to heat up some food for him) and the weather that time is so cold so another $9/night for heated parking.

It is sad that you have to pay for everything add-ons, knowing that other hotels is giving that for free with no-charge at all and with free breakfast.

Pros: The swimming pool, sauna is nice and clean just too much chlorine that makes your skin so itchy after. The restaurant is classy and their pianist is amazing!

Conclusion: We'll try something else next time!

Room Tip: ask them for the nicer view.... room 372 and up on that section is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    556
    233
    67
    36
See reviews for
390
542
52
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Battleford, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have stayed here a few times because if the proximity to downtown Banff. The hotel is clean, rooms are clean. Good beds. Not like sleeping on a slab of wood. Very quiet. Front desk staff are wonderful and friendly. Would stay again and again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have been staying here for over 20 years and mixed other buildings in even the Banff Springs but always we return here for value and location. Are there more luxurious places in Banff - yep. But not many that are as professionally run and consistant in service and quality. The breakfast buffet is excellent value and when they open the theme buffet bring your cowboy boots and wagon sized appetite - it's great.

Room Tip: The suites are worth the extra as a treat - really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobFarr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at Banff Park Lodge for three nights to go sking at Louise and Sunshine.
Arrived Christmas Day with a fifty dollar plate buffet, didn't go as menu showed nothing worth fifty dollars, wet to Tim's instead.
Room was good size with two queen beds, clean and well kept. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Access to hotel from street was limited either front door or key card into underground garage at back either way long walk to room. There were doors closser to our room but couldn't access them from outside, they need to add card access to these doors.
Parking is mostly underground so if you have a vehicle over six feet high otherwise you park in the back along the building into the alley and as you go down the line the length of your vehicle needs to decrease, so small cars parked in long spots leaving trucks no place to park except to block alley. Very limited outside parking. Vehicles that could easily park underground were taking up spots at outside parking. Fortunately there is 12 hour free parking across the street, but it fills up quick at night as trucks etc can't pak at hotel.
Went to the Banff hot springs, nice, clean.
No free internet.
Good location to walk main drag ans shop

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrairieDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Lost and Found Department at the Banff Park Lodge is just excellent! We had left a dear stuffed animal (or maybe he wanted to extend his stay!) at the Banff Park Lodge, and contacted Lost and Found who let us know that they had it and helped coordinate a shipment back to our home in Brooklyn and calmed us down about the whole thing. They also commented on how sweet the stuffed animal was which brought a lot of smiles to our home!

We had a great time at Banff Park Lodge. It's close to everything in the town, and features underground parking which is such a treat when it's so cold outside!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have stayed in BPL with my family skiing on the Christmas break for perhaps 5 of the last 12 years. Its prices are on a par with other hotels in Banff, but you get a better quality stay for your money. It is a traditional style of hotel which gives it a classier feel than some of the others. The location is great, it is a very short walk to the town center with its restaurants, shops and pubs, but it has the tranquility of being off Banff Avenue. It tends to be the last point of pick up and first point of drop off of the buses to the ski areas, which is very pleasant indeed.

BPL has always had very good service at the front desk and the concierge, Robin, is truly excellent - widely traveled, efficient, helpful, cheerful. BPL's problem areas when we first started to stay there were the provision of food and drink, and the indoor pool and spa facilities. The first seemed too expensive, and the second slightly dingy. Both these have been worked on in the last decade.

The bar and bar food (which was really good this time, despite one night when the heavily overworked waiter was run off his feet and a little fragile) have made their prices much more competitive. Efforts have been made to make the family restaurant upstairs more attractive as well, but unfortunately the one meal we had there was very poor. My wife's garlic bread was burned black on the underside and needed very strong teeth to bite through. The veggie option, my vegetable curry, was a lot of vegetables like onions and carrots in large pieces basted in a weak dry curry sauce - not much fun to eat though the basmati rice was good. The source of the food is the same, so I wonder what happened. We have never ventured into the upscale restaurant at the back.

As to the pool area, it was thoroughly renovated and redesigned a few years back, and is very attractive now, with a nice pair of stylish locker rooms, with a shower, a good steam room, two spas one hot and one warm and the swimming pool, with some artistic designs on the wall and a lot of wood. There seems always to be a problem with badly brought-up out of control children in international hotels nowadays, but the management has tried to deal with this in relation to the pool by saying kids out of the area at 9 pm, which was welcome. I really appreciate it when hotel management tries to find solutions to such issues.

Just a small cavil. The bed covers were blankets inserted into covers. We were all cold at night and had to ask for more blankets. The material of the covers was very slippery, and invariably they fell off the bed by 3 am. I personally dislike having hot dry air blowing full blast all night as the only way to keep warm, for its dehydrating effects. There should be a solution to this problem.

We have tried various hotels in Banff, but always come back the Park Lodge, for despite the occasional issue as mentioned above, the service is excellent, the appearance is welcoming, the rooms are large, the location is very convenient, and the management is obviously doing its best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NogsArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and they were all fantastic. The concierge and front desk went out of their way to help and resolve any request. Will definitely stay at this hotel again the next time I am in banff. Was right downtown so you could walk anywhere and yet still had a gorgeous view

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth12439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,905 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Property: Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ETB, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing