We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location ..pool .. steam room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“location ..pool .. steam room”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

we stayed here in oct over the thanksgiving weekend
.arrangements had been made month before

TO BE AWARE OF

as others have stated.

. old rooms, old tv , no free cont bfkt, no free parking

PICKED THIS HOTEL

LOCATION ..

... one hotel..sister hotel the BOW VIEW .. from bow river pathways..

wanted hotel closer to river ..shopping ,,restaurants still close distance

stamina and mobility an issue

would not be able to walk down banff ave every day towards river

from 1st hotel strip and then 2nd shopping/restaurant strip



POOL

pool.. lovely pool with

..mod sized eucyluptis steam room ..

mod - large size hot tub

pool smaller then seen in pictures

as hot tub takes a bit from the pool... as incorporated in the pool



no chorine odor from pool..

temp cool but comfortable

,,can sometimes smell eucylyptis in corridor

..very small workout site overlooks end of pool,,

tv on.. a distraction fr pool relaxing atmosphere

area looks very new and clean and bright

pool on main floor of hotel

2 sets of 4 chairs and table in pool area

lots of towels available

electric fireplace?? in pool area by chairs for atmosphere

has long opening hrs very early am to late evening

has adult times

adult times need to be enforced by staff





FRONT ENTRANCE

wood fireplace on

.. huge,,,,with nice sofas to sit by ..to left of entrance

bar on main floor very open to public ,

,has a gas fireplace in front of 1 table.. get to early !




















POOL


this is what i understand fr my research..?!

fox suites.. had no indoor pool..? but a hot tub that one had to go outside of room to get to

banff aspen... has outside hot tub ??

rundlestone hotel... too far from river for me.. due to health issues. at time .. has an inside pool

was considering delta banff... was able to walk there and saw pool ,steam room and hot tub
area seemed dark as on lower floor but hot tub separate fr pool

best western.. very small pool and hot tub.... visible fr street

fairmont and rimrock inside pool but away from banff ave ..the main st

douglas fir ,, separate bldg for pool ,, on tunnel mt ave ..far fr main st



note.. banff has 2 buses that go to hotels to bring you around


CONCLUSION

would stay again due to pool and location for 2-3 days

be aware of other extra fees in banff

include in hotel budget

cost food and parking

park pass

tourism tax

another tax to do with banff i think ??..cannot remember name..hotel tax?? not sure

resaearch other hotels that include free park/ free cont bfk if needed or stay in canmore

however

we were very happy with banff park lodge and would stay again we have also stayed at its sister

bow motel ? next door and it is very basic but right next to river would stay again has river view rooms and can use BPL pool

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fogo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    781
    313
    94
    41
See reviews for
558
765
71
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel many times and have always found the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are always clean and the location is really ideal. Only 1 block from the main street, it's close but also quiet. I'll be staying here again and again in the future. (also, the value is really good...and sometimes you get upgraded too!) ;)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beau1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I decided to give this Hotel a try as I wanted to be situated in town. I drove up to the front door and was disappointed to not see a bellman greet us. Front staff upon our entry were very friendly, however never asked if we wanted help with our luggage. The Hotel itself is outdated and tired looking although clean. My room was large. The TV's are outdated, the pillows were horrible and lumpy and there was soap scum between the tiles in our bathtub...all signs of age but avoidable.

In all fairness, the price of our room was extremely reasonable. I guess you get what you paid for!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turnbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed at this older Banff property over the Canadian Thanksgiving weekend. I have stayed at other hotels on Banff Avenue over the years but given the chilly fall weather, I didn't want to go for a half hour hike everytime I wanted to get out of the room. Located on a back street between the scenic Bow River and the downtown core, the hotel is ideally situated. Great shopping, restaraunts and night life are a short walk away. Underground parking is an additional $9.00 per day, but worth the convenience and safety. Service in the bar was dreadful, but there are plenty of alternatives close by. Skip the overpriced ($31.00!!!???) breakfast buffet. Maybe it was higher for Thanksgiving, but the quality of the food was sub-par and definitely not worth any more than $20. Melissa's across the street offers much better food and great value. The room was fine, the bed comfortable and everything was clean and well maintained. The room was quiet at night but what it is it with people who think it's okay to yak it up in hallways or with room doors open? Not the hotel's fault and these inconsiderate semi-adults seem to infest even the nicest resorts. I will definitely return to the BPL for my next trip to Banff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redwing780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed two nights at this very attractive hotel. It is centrally located within minutes walk of the wide range of shops, restaurants, laundry facilities, riverside walks - in fact, it is in an ideal location. The rooms were spacious, the beds comfortable and the bathroom was of good size, with the usual toiletries and towels. There were two laundry rooms (one washing machine and dryer) located within the hotel, but because of the heavy demand on this service, access to this facility was akin to winning the lottery. A buffet breakfast was available in an attractive dining room on the first floor and catered for most tastes. An excellent dinner was served in the ground floor restaurant. Access to the restaurant was through a comfortable lounge bar which was staffed by friendly bartenders where, because of its ambience, guests could be tempted to linger longer than planned. A very attractive and comfortable hotel in central Banff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paula67Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

What a great experience!!! From the incredibly friendly staff (the best) to the pillow menu!! The workout area,pool,and the incredible steam room!! Wow!! Great lounge,shopping and valet service!! If you're lucky enough to be there on the weekend I HIGHLY recommend the brunch Mmmmm! Thanks for the great stay!! Will Definately be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katielaughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, B.C.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed two nites in a north facing room and were able to have the sliding door open all niteas we faced a quiet side street. Beautiful mountain view, clean room with very comfortable bed! Nice to have small fridge in room, jacuzzi tub was great, even liked the shampoo/conditioner. While we didnt have time to use the pool it looked wonderful. Had appys and drinks in the lounge and they were good. the Sunday brunch was fabulous, with a wonderful selection of breakfast and lunch items, lots of seafood, chocolate fountain and chefs ready to make custom omlettes. Staff very friendly. Room made up early on our stayover day. only negative was the tv and i hear they are upgrading them. of course in Banff with the amazing scenery and lots to do tv not as important. Would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: while there were a couple of large trees outside our room the side street was very quiet and you cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCiancone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,022 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Property: Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing