We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banff Park Lodge, best sleep ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Knutsford, B.C.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Banff Park Lodge, best sleep ever!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed two nites in a north facing room and were able to have the sliding door open all niteas we faced a quiet side street. Beautiful mountain view, clean room with very comfortable bed! Nice to have small fridge in room, jacuzzi tub was great, even liked the shampoo/conditioner. While we didnt have time to use the pool it looked wonderful. Had appys and drinks in the lounge and they were good. the Sunday brunch was fabulous, with a wonderful selection of breakfast and lunch items, lots of seafood, chocolate fountain and chefs ready to make custom omlettes. Staff very friendly. Room made up early on our stayover day. only negative was the tv and i hear they are upgrading them. of course in Banff with the amazing scenery and lots to do tv not as important. Would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: while there were a couple of large trees outside our room the side street was very quiet and you cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCiancone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    756
    304
    92
    40
See reviews for
541
735
66
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a pretty nice facility and the location is excellent.

The Positives!
- Great central location
- Our third floor room was very spacious and quiet with no audible hallway sounds or noise from adjoining rooms
- On our stay-over day housekeeping was in early and cleaned the room thoroughly
- The lounge has great atmosphere and the service was excellent
- The pool looked recently renovated, a little small but very well finished; water depth is suitable for small children

The Gripes
- The room door had no security chain or swing lock. I’m at a loss as to why such a standard amenity was missing.
- The balcony had no furniture on it and the handle of the screen door was missing (removed I suspect). I had the feeling this was a deliberate measure to keep guests from using the balcony
- Lighting was poor, only one bedside lamp and one ceiling light that buzzed horribly when on
- The TV was an old CRT with a really shaky picture and no AUX inputs.
- Wireless Internet was terribly slow, just barely able to download or send email
- Quality of the pool water was fair at best and the pool basin was not as clean as it should be (three decades working in the commercial pool industry qualifies this opinion)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sideshowcecil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post an honest review of our facilities.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and you have some valid points that I would like to take the time to answer;

-Security is very important to us and I am happy to say that the reason we no longer have the old swing locks is that when you turn our new deadbolts, no one is able to access your room from the outside, even if they have a key. There is of course an emergency key that will open the door but this is kept in a secure location and used for emergencies only. This combined with the spy hole should prevent any unwanted people entering your room.
-I agree that patio furniture would be an asset and we are indeed looking for the right fit. Our views are our best asset and we would never try and discourage our guests from using their balcony. We will keep an eye opened for broken handles on the balcony door.
-I am happy to report that we are in the process of sourcing new flat panel TV’s and we hope to have them in place for this winter.
-Our pool water is tested regularly throughout each day and we have recently upped our cleaning schedule to include completely dumping, cleaning and re-filling the pool once per week. Thank you for sharing your professional opinion with us.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Regards,

Jim Milley
Operation Manager, Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great location and amenities. Nice spacious room. Clean sheets and towels. Very cmfortable bed and great pressure on the shower. Staff was super friendly. Good restaurant. Banff was absolutely beautiful as well. Will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a nice review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again in the future.

Regards,

Jim Milley
Operations Manager, Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a nice sized room with two queen beds on the third floor. We had a limited view of the mountains due to some tall trees on the property, but still quite breathtaking. There is a balcony outside the room, with no furniture, which was a little disappointing. We checked in around 2:30 am after a long day of flying, then driving from Calgary, and the person at the desk was pleasant and checked us in quickly, also giving us an option of somewhere else to park that was free. Parking in the hotel garage is expensive(daily charge). WiFi is also a daily charge of $10, no breakfast included either. This Lodge was actually $100 cheaper,overall, for our five day stay than others we looked at in Banff. Rooms are clean, and beds VERY comfortable! The restaurant in the hotel had reasonable prices for dinner. The pool and hot tub area was very small; the pictures are misleading. There are several shops on the main floor and furnishings throughout were quite nice. The lodge is close to the Bow River and also to downtown which was 3-4 blocks over. Free parking is on one side of the hotel (12hr) and we were also told that we could park in the hospital parking lot. Parking on the street is closely supervised. Watch the signs, don't park in an RV parking site! Visiting Canada was expensive, but worth it!! We were on the go constantly, so did not spend a lot of time in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on that is not on the main level (no view at all), and in the back of the hotel (quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itk1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a thorough review of the Banff Park Lodge.

I am happy to report that we are in the process of finding patio furniture that would be a good fit for us.
As not all of our guests require parking and WIFI, we choose to charge for these services in an effort to keep the cost of our rooms lower than that of our competitors as you kindly noted in your review.
A limited amount of free outdoor parking is available behind the hotel at a first come first serve basis however at $9.50 per day most feel that our option of climate controlled; secure, underground parking, with easy access to our elevators is a better option.
I am sorry you feel the pool area photos are misleading but I am glad you enjoyed the facilities.

We are happy you enjoyed your visit to Canada and your stay at the Banff Park Lodge and thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jim Milley
Operations Manager, Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The location is excellent. Check-in was smooth, and staff were super friendly and very professional. The room was clean while the bed was a sea of comfortable; the linens/towels fresh n' clean. We upgraded our room, and to our pleasant surprise it had a very spacious multi-spray shower! So fabulous after a long 8/hr hike up to nearby Harvey Pass! The room was quiet too, as we didn't hear our neighbours at all,and had a pleasant, restful sleep on our one-night stay. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slopey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
This place loved you too!

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to post them.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Jim Milley
Operations Manager, Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We love to stay at the Banff Park Lodge. Very clean rooms and very comfortable beds. The restaurant is second to none in Banff and worth treating oneself to a first class meal. All staff from the time you check in to check out are courteous, professional and very forcused on providing their customers with the best service possible. Staying here is certainly a treat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Very comfortable rooms. Hotel is easy to get in and out of. It is a short walk to all the bustle of downtown Banff, and a short walk to Tim Horton's for a cup of your favourite beverage. The staff is nice and friendly. The pool and hot tub is very nice, and they eucalyptus sauna is amazing. It sure helps a tired body feel better!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roni-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Property: Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing