We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but not suitable for long stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Notts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location but not suitable for long stay”
Reviewed February 6, 2009

We have just spent 2 weeks at the resort for our honeymoon. We stayed in what can only be described as "cosy" accomodation, room 167. Our initial thoughts were "How come we payed £448 supplement because it was just 2 staying and not 4" As you enter, you enter the bedroom with a double bed, then directly into the kitchenette (with no dividing door) and then from there, directly into the living room. The view was spectacular, overlooking the mountain and the wood fire was a bonus. we came to unpack, but where do you put your stuff? espacialy as it's winter and we had all our ski gear. a VERY small hanging area, which was not screened and a drawer each. The bedroom was dark, with only 1 bedside light. The bathroom led off the kitchenette, which had a door you'll be delighted to hear! The whirlpool was a bonus. We stayed for 2 weeks and the house keeping came daily to flash a wet cloth and change the towels, but NO HOOVER for 2 WEEKS!!!!! The room was extremly hot, with no way of altering the temp, so resorted with having the balcony door open to let the freezing night air in!
Other than that we had a lovely stay.We found the put me up more comfortable than the bed, so spent a few nights on that. the location was great, out of the hussle and bussle of the main town, and regular buses down, which cost CAN$2 each or a cab for around CAN$7. There where lots of great trail walks close to the resort, which we foung ideal as we love to walk, and as there had been very little snow in Banff town since Xmas, (Lots in the ski resorts) we found the trails easy to walk.
We requested wood and other kitchen items on several occassions asnd found the service staff came immediatly.
the resort is self catering, which is why we chose it, but food prices are through the roof! I paid CAN$7 for a bag of grapes and almost CAN$4 for a can of tomatoes! Use Nesters though as it's cheaper with a larger selection than safeway. If wsshing, don't use the small laudrey located within the gym as I did a wash and it didn't spin. For CAN$1 more use the laudrey in Douglas Fir across the road. There is a small grocers at Douglas Fir with the basics, however it's expensive. If you like a drink, buy duty free, a cheap bottle of wine cost CAN$15 and a bottle of spirit cost CAN $25-CAN$35.
So overall the location was great for us, but didn't surfice a 2 wek stay, would be idal for a quick 2 day tour through.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrysmith1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    409
    212
    105
    54
See reviews for
366
488
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We went to Banff to get a little skiing in and relax after Christmas. When we arrived at the hotel we were told that our room was not ready and to come back in an hour. When we finally got to our loft chalet (139) the smell of mold and mildew was overwhelming. I had to go out to by an air freshener. Everything in the unit was either broken, torn, or just worn out. The blinds on the main window did not work. The dishwasher was broken. Two lamps had to be replaced. When we went to make breakfast the next morning the frying pan fell apart. The beds were doubles, not queen and our blanket in the separate bedroom was torn.

I watched the maids the next day and all they did was remake the beds using the same sheets, and replace the towels. No cleaning was done.
The hottub was gross and in a small dimly lit room.

The hotel does not provide ice so again a trip to the store. The kitchen has minimal dishes ect. It would be nice to have a rooster or even a salad bowl.

I asked for two more dish cloths as our dishwasher did not work and they never replaced them the whole time. Overall the premises have deteriorated and no maintenance is done. We were very upset and will never stay there again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — The whole place is dirty.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelduoEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2008

I'v stayed at tunnel mountain resort many times, and each time I couldnt even try to say a bad thing about the resort. We got to stay in one of there chalets, overlooking a vally of trees and wildlife. I loved how the whole back of chalet is glass... with such amazing view, its honestly breath taking. I couldnt get over how we woke up one morning and there were dear right outside the glass... Iv never seen dear so close before it was amazing. Not only the views and how close they make it to nature... one morning it snowed, and the staff had gone out and put snow scrapers on everyones car. Its just the extra mile that this resort will go, to let you know they care.
I will for sure be back this winter! :)

  • Liked — The Views
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JennNJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2008

The room for being regular 280 per night, needed some work. It looked like it had seen more partying then it cared to admit. Suite is spacious with loft and can easily sleep 6. But in order to sleep you better get used to hearing people in the next rooms as walls were paper thin. The constant buzzing of flies was enough to drive you crazy. I spent a large portion of the night hunting and killing them. The next morning we found the source of the flies as a garbage had not been emptied for a month. I mentioned my compliant to front desk staff, unable to look me in the eyes, she said that my bill had been finalized. They didnt care. I would not recommend staying here to anyone, for the price you can find cleaner and better places. I will not EVER stay there again.

  • Liked — Easy in finding
  • Disliked — not clean
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank theBruce73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEVON
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

Our reliance on trip advisors recommendations let us down here. We had high hopes especially as we were paying CAD$414 (inc taxes) for two nights for myself, wife and adult daughter in a Executive Loft Chalet. We found it dark and depressing. It was not just the decor. There was no view other than towering trees right up to our small table top sized patio. They not only darkened the room there was one growing up through the patio which split it into two which, if we sat outside, made talking to each other rather difficult. The inside gave the impression of a chalet that had been well used verging on being grubby. It certainly lacked tlc. Inadequate lighting added to the gloom. An infestation of flies brought a rapid response in the shape of us being given a fly spray and we were told to get on with it. We sprayed and shook curtains and literally shovelled away a dustpan full of dead flies .We had to repeat the same procedures the following day. There was no a/c . The noisy warm air heating system had a mind of its own switching itself on with a roar and off several times during the early hours disturbing our sleep. No amount of fiddling around with a thermostat made any difference. The cooking utensils were well used and pans very thin.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Grubbyness and inadequate lighting
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DevonFoxtrotone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Booked a two night stay via Expedia as a surprise weekend for my girlfriend's birthday. Arrived on a Friday evening and check-in was quick with friendly service. We went to our cozy chalet, complete with wood burning fireplace and loft bedroom, and settled in for a relaxing evening. As we were watching some TV, we noticed a small mouse, which we think probably came in with the firewood, run across the living room. We phoned the front desk and were promptly assigned to a new chalet which was even nicer than the original one.

We woke up the next morning to a pleasant surprise - there were deer grazing outside our patio doors. What a great way to start the day.....an awesome view of the mountains and some wildlife getting up close and personal! We took a walk down the road to a convenience store and saw even more deer at the resort across the street. Came back to the resort and walked around checking out the pool, whirlpool, sauna and steam room. After a nice breakfast in the chalet, which had a completely equipped kitchen, we headed out to Lake Louise for the afternoon and into Banff later in the evening for a nice dinner.

Tunnel Mountain Resort was a great setting for a mountain getaway......and also served as a perfect romantic setting to get engaged!! On her birthday in front of a roaring fire in the mountains.....it doesn't get much better than that and definitely a weekend that we will never forget!

  • Liked — Everything! (fireplace, loft, scenery, etc.)
  • Disliked — damp firewood difficult to light
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StrawberryJ-V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nepean
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2008

Spent a wonderful week in Banff, and Tunnel Mountain Resort was exactly what we wanted. We knew that it was off the main strip which was fine with us! A five minute walk down the mountain allowed us the convience of being in Banff with the ability to forget we were.
The suite was clean and comfortable with a great view out of the back sliding doors. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to accomodate any request.
Would recommend for those that are looking for a place to get away from the stress of everyday hassels.

  • Liked — Off the main street but great rooms!
  • Disliked — Getting a taxi
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CarolynNepean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,050 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,128 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Property: Tunnel Mountain Resort
Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing