We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway at Tunnel Mtn Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights at Tunnel Mountain Resort (Friday and Saturday) and we enjoyed our time here. We had a loft suite which had a Queen size bed in it's own separate bedroom, a kitchen, living room with wood fireplace, bathroom with a jacuzzi tub -nicer than my tub at home! And a loft bedroom with a King size bed and ensuite bathroom. The living room couch was also had a hide-a-bed. We got a deal online and paid the same price as a regular hotel room. It was great to have the extra space of our own 'little vacation condo' instead of just a hotel room. The hotel staff were friendly. The beds were comfy and the bedding was good quality. The suite also had not one but two patios with great mountain views. We also liked that there was a little wine store across the street.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank beehivehoneybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

To our valued guest,

'Thank you' for your recent review.

We do appreciate your comments and also your valued time to write a review of our Resort on the Trip Advisor website.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
There are newer reviews for Tunnel Mountain Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

682 - 688 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Front desk was very helpful. Asked for extra blankets and got them quickly. Few things falling apart, but all in all a great experience. And its not downtown! Its nice to be away from the crowds. And the paths near the hotel are lovely. Deer in your front yard!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

To our valued guest,

Thank you, for your review. We do value your feedback and appreciate the comments you have made after your stay. These have been passed on to our team.

Like you, we love our location too!

We would like to say, you are one of our lucky guests to have encountered one of many of Banff's National Parks wildlife. It is always a nice surprise and a bonus which makes some great memories for you and your guests.

We do look forward to having you stay with us again!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed at Tunnel Mt. Resort for 3 nights with young kids. The place was dirty and house keeping only replaces towels. On the 2 nd day when we complained about room not being cleaned, they offered to send staff to clean. We had come back from skiing and kids were tired and ready for bed , so we declined. We expected everything to be cleaned next day , but again NO housekeeping was done, just towels were replaced and the place was still dirty.
Will Not Stay at this resort again and would NOT recommend this place to anybody
S.M. Calgary

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

To whom it may concern,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay and we do apologize once again for the short comings during your visit with us. We do take any concern very seriously and for that reason is why we sent the housekeeping manager to meet with you personally the afternoon you brought your first concern to our attention. Unfortunately there must have been a misunderstanding on our part as we were following the list that was left on the table. After our House keeping Manager came to see you, to clarify the situation, he was told by one of your guests in your room that they did not require anything further and to leave. We did ensure that your room received full service the following day to ensure all your concerns were addressed.

Thank you for your review of our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed there for a couple of nights with my two kids. The 1 bedroom and loft suit was very nice with a big fridge, fully equipped kitchen and a nice fireplace were we got to roast some marshmallows. A little swimming pool but all we needed. A couple of nice hut tubs too. Staff is friendly and check-in/out is fast. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

To our valued guest,

I was happy to read that not only you, but your family also enjoyed their stay at our Resort. This is great feedback we love to hear! Thank you for your review.

The loft suite you stayed in is one of my favourite rooms in our Resort. Its the added bonus of having a king size bed with the extra half bathroom where the loft is.

From all of us at Tunnel Mountain Resort we look forward to having your stay with us again!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We decided to head to Banff to catch a concert and never being able to plan on the weather, we booked 1 night at Tunnel Mountain Resort. The room was older, but beautifully laid out, loved the fridge, stove, micro, and dishwasher :) and of course the fireplace in the living room is fantastic. We had a one bedroom suite, but I think next time I would book the chalets. Set a little out of town so it was quiet but a great location to go for a walk. Pool, 2 hot tubs, and best of all a very reasonable price. One small quirk was a very hard mattress! It's ok, you make do.
People were friendly and staff was great at check in and out.
Definitely will do this again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

To our valued guest,

A sincere note of appreciation for your comments from your one night stay.
Our resort Is a well established Resort, and we pride ourselves on being in the scenic Bow Valley for 40 years.
We do have a mix of older and newer units, and maintain the up keep of these rooms with our Maintenance team.
We never get tired of hearing from guests like yourself, about the amenities, with 71 rooms that have kitchens and wood burning fireplaces which create what our valued guests feel creates a lovely and cozy atmosphere.
Our location is out of town (just 3 minutes in your car).
Our uniqueness in location is we have the views of mountains, forest trees and usually the odd bit of wildlife also.
We do know and understand how important a good night sleep is.
In relation to the mattress you had in your room, we are sorry to hear about it being too firm for you. To explain this for you, we have recently replaced the mattresses in the majority of all our rooms.

We will look forward to having you and your guest come to stay with us again at Tunnel Mountain Resort and perhaps in the Chalet!

Thank you once again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My bf and I meet up because we are long distance and went to Banff for three nights. I had read some of the reviews and was hestiant on booking a room. We were pleasantly surprised, the check in was easy and welcoming.Once we got to our room we unloaded our things and started a fire ( we brought our own wood) which made it cozy. We had the 1 bedroom suite. We liked how it was different room, first we walked into the bedroom, kitchen ( bathroom was off to the side) and then into the living room. The kitchen could have had a few more things such as Salt and Pepper, a Pan for cooking in the oven and maybe some oil. We have stayed in many suites and these items are usually included. There is a Safeway in town so we picked up those items. The bed were a little stiff but suitable. Place was decently clean and in a good location as we walked to town and we noticed there was a bus stop right outside the Resort. Across the road there is also a little store with some groceries incase you forget to bring something

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

To whom it may concern,
The management adn team at Tunnel Mountain Resort thank you for your feedback.
Any feedback is good feedback as it enables us to see how we are doing as a hotel and what we can do to improve ourselves.
A lot of good wee hints to pass on to TripAdvisor reviewers, thank you.
In relation to the pan, we agree, yes this have should have been in your room. The salt and pepper are their to order from our house keeping department.
We look forward to having you come back to us and enjoy the majestic Rockies at our little resort just not far from the downtown Banff.
Yours sincerely,

Tunnel Mountain Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in September 2012. For a cheap price, our stay here was really decent. The living room was spacious. Our room has a fire place, lots of furniture and a big balcony overlooking the road. I wish our room faced the mountainside instead. Utensils and cook ware are provided for use. It's like staying at your own home away from home.

My husband especially love the jetted tub. The Jacuzzi is within the same building as our room but if you want to use the swimming pool, you have to make a trek from your building, which may be a long walk, to the front desk building. The staff who welcomed us was very helpful. The location is not too bad, finding this place was an adventure for us, we got lost only once.

If it matters to anyone, the whole resort is dated. It didn't help that it was raining and it was a very cold day when we checked in but the place seemed unwelcoming and unattractive. But, after we settled in and the fireplace was lit, everything was okay. We have a roof over our head, our room was clean and we were dry. I'm just glad it was only a day's stay.

I would also add that this is a place suited for skiers who want to stay in Banff for a long time, save on food (there is no restaurant within sight), and have enough room to store their ski equipment in their lodging place. In its own way, this place is charming.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

To whom it may concern,
Nice to see you have come back to Tunnel Mountain Resort. We are making progress on renovations, recently we have changed floors in the living area and bathroom in our mountain cabins.
Maintenance is important to us, so we are striving to keep up with this every day.
Thank you for your comments. These have been passed on to the departments.
We would love to see you again next time, and what you can do if you are wanting a mountain view, then please request this and we will do our best to fulfill your needs.
Your sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,077 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
974 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $118 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing