We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Only Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Only Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were really looking forward to staying in Banff and I thought I'd chosen a great hotel but.... not really. We had an 'executive suite' but the description is somewhat misleading. The room was very dark and overlooked the main road and other buildings. The cleaning service left a lot to be desired. The first morning they were banging on the door at 9.00am! I'm not sure what they did when they were in the room but cleaning didn't appear to be part of the routine. The hotel is a bit too far out of town which I wouldn't have minded if there was a view of the hills. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingscoobies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

It is regrettable that certain aspects of the hotel did not meet with your expectations, and although I understand that some of the points raised in your review were a matter of personal preference, I do hope that our staff were able to assist in rectifying the issues for you concerning our Housekeeping Department.

I am sorry to read of your disappointment, however I hope that despite the points mentioned you were able to enjoy the other aspects of your stay, and would consider staying at Tunnel Mountain Resort again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    372
    184
    95
    50
See reviews for
320
440
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We book a loft unit for New Years Eve. The cost was over $400 so the expectations were high. The room wasn't as clean as expected but not terrible. We were very excited about the wood burning stove and shocked to find out we had to purchase wood for the stove!!! The resort was packed as to be expected on NYE. Our experience started to get bad at 2am when a party broke out in the room next to us. We notified to front desk and was told they would take care of it. The party went on until 5 am and eventually the front desk said there was nothing they can do about it (even though there is a no noise policy after 11pm). We are very disappointed in the resorts lack of ability or care to handle this. The manager gave us 20% of our money back upon further complaining. For the price we paid we expected better from Tunnel Mountain Resort and will never stay here again or recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpac41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share you comments concerning your recent stay with us.

It is most regrettable that your stay was affected by noise from neighbouring guests and I do appreciate how frustrating this must have been for you. Unfortunately from time to time there are instances were guests cause a disturbance, and we will always do our very best to resolve such issues in an efficient manner. We have a security team on hand for when such problems arise, however with New Years Eve being such an extremely busy time for the hotels in Banff, the security team along with the local police were inundated with calls from across the town, leaving our staff to manage such complaints. I am sorry that you did not feel we responded to your complaint in an acceptable manner, although I would like to assure you we did everything possible to resolve the matter considering the resources we had available on that particular night.

I would like to apologize further for the other aspects of your stay that did not meet with your expectations. I understand from your review that you were provided with a partial refund for the issues you encountered, however if this resolution was not to your satisfaction I would encourage you to contact us on 1-800-661-1859 in order to discuss the matter further.

I can assure you that this is not a typical experience for our guests at Tunnel Mountain Resort, and I hope that we will have the opportunity to demonstrate this to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We tried to get into the other hotels at Tunnel Mountain but booked to late. Tunnel Mountain Resort was the same price as the other hotels up on the mountain however not as nice (we call it shabby genteel" ).The rooms are lacking the basics such as a coffee maker that works ( and they brought us another one that took an hour to brew) toasters stuck in drawers that won't come out,lack of privacy as slats of the vertical blinds are missing and torn mattress covers. We stayed two nights and had a wonderful New Years dinner across the road. We will say that if you want to pay the extreme price for wood bundles( with not enough kindling) the staff has it to you quickly as well as a bedspread to replace the very heavy comforter as another reviewer mentioned it is hot in these units. We also were across from the road and bus stop but we didn't feel that was a problem.
The fellow at the front desk gave me a bit of attitude when we were checking in but we ignored him as the girl behind him made up for it. All in all the rooms are spacious with great mountain views and if the management wanted to have their " Vacancy" sign changed to "no vacancy" the potential is there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I understand from your review that certain aspects of the room did not meet with our usual standards, and for this please accept my sincere apologies. I would like to assure you we take all feedback from our guests very seriously, and I have therefore forwarded your comments to our Housekeeping Manager to ensure the issues are resolved as soon as possible for our future guests.

Furthermore I was very sorry to read that you were not fully satisfied with the service you received from our staff upon checking in. We usually receive such positive feedback in relation to the service our staff provide, however it is most regrettable that on this occasion you did not feel the service you received met with our usual standards.

I hope that despite the above mentioned issues you were able to enjoy the other aspects of your stay, and I hope we have the opportunity to restore your faith in Tunnel Mountain Resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed in a loft unit for a few nights in early December 2013 - my wife and I, and our 2 kids (2 months and 2 years).

The location is great - backing onto tall tress with mountain views between the branches. Parking is easy and free. It is too far to walk into Banff with a young family, so plan to drive or use the Roam Bus that stops right at the front door.

The space is large in the loft suites. The "Master Bedroom" is small, though, with only one queen bed and a short space between the bed and the 3 walls around it. It is big enough for a single or couple, but not for the whole family. With the furnace and other mechanical equipment in a non-sound-proofed corner of this room - it became Daddy's "snoring room".

The living room is large, with one full sofa-bed and a table with 4 chairs. The TV is large and modern. The fireplace is a great feature, and we used it each night.

The kitchen is well equipped with Ikea kitchen utensils and tools. It's basic - but it's all you really need for a few nights out - a full size fridge, stove top, oven, toaster, kettle, coffee pot, microwave, dishwasher, etc...

The bathroom is also adequate for a small family. Hot water pressure is low - but you didn't come here for a long day at the office followed by a long hot shower. If you need to steam out your muscles, they have hot tubs.

There is a balcony off the main floor that appears quite nice - although we did not use it in -36'C weather.

The stairs to the loft are a bit steeper than most will be used to in their city homes. This doesn't impact anyone, but it did make my wife more conscious of when / how our 2 year old was on the stairs.

The loft is huge, with 2 double beds and plenty of room for the Pack N Play and luggage. This was our main sleeping space.

Biggest Wins:
- It was -36'C when we were there. The room was always warm. There were no icy cold drafts.
- The staff provide a Four Seasons level of Customer Service
- The space is large and the layout functional
- A night's worth of firewood, kindling and paper - delivered to your suite for $7

Opportunities:
- Just like with any hotel/motel - there are opportunities to be cleaner and have greater attention to detail on the part of the cleaning staff
- The mechanical equipment off the MB is noisy, and would likely have bothered my toddler if I had tried to get her to sleep in there

We didn't have a chance to enjoy the pool or hot tubs.

Overall, we hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BizTrippingDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I was glad to read you found the resort to be well equipped and that you were pleased with the service you received from our staff.

Your comments relating to noise experienced from the furnace have been forwarded to our Maintenance Department for further investigation, and furthermore I have ensured our Housekeeping Manager is aware of your statement concerning the cleanliness of the room. We always do our best to maintain the best possible standards, and from this point of view your comments are very much appreciated in assisting us with this.

I hope we can expect to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

The loft room was perfect for us a family of 2 adults and 3 kids. kitchen was fully equipped and if we needed something the staff were very accomodating. Now heads up the bed in the 1 bedroom the matteress was a little harder and not very comfy. But it did the job. One of the kids did end up getting sick after 11pm in the bed, we called and they came instantly and changed all the bedding with new stuff. Again very accomodating. There is right across the street bus stops and a convenience store/liquor store. Walking to downtown can be done just bundle up and enjoy nature. Deer were seen from the balcony and near tunnel mountain road. Has a wood fireplace, wood is not free but bundle you get is including kindling and matches and paper.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyCavalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked an executive king suite here in mid October (off season) so the rate was very reasonable compared to the rest of the year. Upon arrival the room was very clean & tidy, but the longer you stayed, the housekeeping really slacked off. You could tell they didn't vacuum & the bed was poorly made. In these suites the sink is outside the bathroom by the coffee maker, fridge & microwave, so that was kind of awkward. It's a good sized room & you could park right outside the door plus they have a nice pool & hot tub. Other than the fact that housekeeping is lazy, we would stay here again, but only in off season as otherwise the rates are real expensive. It is also cheaper if you book online instead of right through the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccf633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Property: Tunnel Mountain Resort
Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Tunnel Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing