We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not going back here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Not going back here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

When we first arrived I was very excited they had upgraded our room for free. So we went to our new accommodations and thought it was a little old looking, but the loft seemed nice and so did the view of the woods. I went to the bedroom on the main floor to get a cover for the couch because it had crumbs on it and it looked dirty so as soon as I turned over the bedspread, there was a bug on the sheet. I grabbed a kleenex and picked it up brought it to the livingroom and my husband looked up bed bugs on the internet and sure enough that was what it looked like. My husband called front office while I checked the other beds (we put the bug under a glass so it couldn't go anywhere), I didn't find anything else, but I didn't look super thorough either. They never came down or sent anyone to look, so my husband packed all our things up and we went to the front office. The girl made a phone call and then said they wouldn't charge us cancellation fees, (Thanks) That's it, no apology, no help in finding another hotel in Banff, just be on your way. What a stressful night...we did find another place, but it took a couple of hours. It is disappointing that we wouldn't have heard from management or anything.(they did have my email address and other info) I would NEVER EVER TRUST this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. Regarding the incident in question the room was immediately taken off-line; a staff evaluation was conducted, followed by a thorough professional examination. Management was informed by the pest control professional that no bedbugs were found in the room and it was suitable for occupancy. Our sincerest apologies as we were not aware that you had requested to be contacted, if you would like to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to contact us a t 1.800.661.1859.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    365
    182
    93
    50
See reviews for
312
437
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our suite exceeded our expectations. I expected a clean but older suite. Suite 165 was updated. Granite countertop in fully equipped kitchen ( you do have to ask front desk for a larger pan if you need. (I brought my own from home) updated furniture. Jacuzzi bath tub to my surprise, very relaxing. The bed could have used newer mattress but no big deal. The staff was great. The mountain view from the balcony was beautiful. This is the place to stay If you need to cook to save money on eating out. Food very expensive . Nice pool, hot tub, steam room, everything to make your vacation complete.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioHummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for posting a review on your recent stay. I hope your review provides useful advice to future travellers to Banff National Park and all the highlights at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth Garden City
Level Contributor
219 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights after driving from Calgary Airport (90 mins). We just had a regular room which was plenty big enough. As well as a king bed, there was big TV, DVD player, gas log fire (not used in August!), microwave, fridge and the bathroom had a whirlpool bath and a shower which doubled as a steam cabinet. We were surprised there was no restaurant or bar but the easy drive into town meant that wasn't a problem.
A good choice away from the busy town centre.

Room Tip: There's big difference between the regular rooms and the self catering units. Make sure you boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive480077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We greatly value your impressions, and are glad to have met our goal of ensuring your comfort and exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 4 nights on a two week trip to Canada.
IIt goes without saying that Banff itself is the best place either of us have visited, so much to do, so much to seem and everyone is so friendly.
The resort itself is also great.
We had a loft chalet, which was more than enough room for the two of us, in fact i think it can sleep up to 8 people.
The chalets look a little bland from the outside, and a little old fashioned inside, but clean. We had a balcony overlooking a forest, through which we had glimpses of the mountains.
The kitchen was equipped well enough if you wanted to eat in, which we did on 3 out of 4 nights. There was a dishwasher as well .... we dont even have one of them at home!
The staff are super friendly as well, particulalry one of the housekeepers Tom, a fellow englishman who gave us some tip on where to go out in the evening.
We also used the spa which had a hot tub, steam room and sauna, which was needed after a busy few days !
There is no restaurant or bar on site which would have been useful, there is a small grocery shop opposite, which was great for essentials, but a little expensive, but there is a very good supermarket in town.
We we come back to Tunnel Mountain .... yes we would.
Overall good value for money !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benana24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Such a great review! Thank you! It sounds like you were able to take advantage of the various amenities we have in our rooms and at the hotel in general. We strive for satisfaction by our guests and do what we can to give them the best experience. I am glad you got to enjoy the mountainous views right from your room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom suite in June. The hotel was just okay. It is dated and needs upkeep.Walking up to our hotel room , we could see light right through our front door. Cleanliness wasn;t the best

The staff was friendly.

With so many choices in Banff, a facelift or update is would definitely help.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheresaHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
I'm sorry to hear our property did not live up to your expectations. We strive to exceed all guests expectations, and are regretful we did not succeed with you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Don't believe them about the wifi. There's no reception in our cabin, they admitted not in others, but said it would be fixed. It was not fixed. These days wifi is as important as water and electricity - it's a utility. Every room should have wifi and it should be no additional charge , as there's no extra charge for running water. And if you say you have wifi, you'd better well provide a strong signal. Other things: we were told we had been upgraded and yet our cabin matched what we booked and were expecting: strange. The pull-out sofa was ancient and I hesitated to sit on it let alone sleep. The bath was very worn, but clean, and one light was out in the bathroom. When we checked in, another customer was at the desk was asking that burnt-out light bulbs be replaced in two of their four lamps. There was not enough light from the lamps to read in the upstairs loft bedroom. The remote for the small bedroom TV didn't work. On the other hand, the kitchen was well-stocked for families wanting to cook (though the electric kettle was broken), and the price was excellent for Banff. It was, in essence, an average place, clean but run-down, some things not working, and without the promised wifi. But priced for those not able to afford better digs.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GastownWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are very concerned to hear that you had a poor experience at our hotel. The overall feedback we receive from guests helps us improve for the next guests. We would welcome the opportunity to hear from you directly as we try to address your specific concerns. If you wish to contact us, please call the hotel directly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guangzhou
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is actually ok but we were kind of shocked by the management and receptionist about how they dealt with the dispute when we checked out.

We were careless to make a brown circlular mark on the wood table after we finished cooking in the kitchen. When we checked out, we honestly reported the problem to the clerk at the front desk. He charged us 50 CAD for that. We were fine with the charge, but the clerk definitely lied to us when he said he telephoned the manager about the matter. We were face to face with him and didn't see him make any phone call at the time! After we came back, we sent email to the manager about the dishonest behaviour of the hotel staff. We were then even more disappointed by the dishonest argument by the manager. The manager claimed that the clerk actually went into his office to ask for his opinion for the matter at the time when we checked out, which was a sheer lie! The whole process of checking out lasted only around 5 minutes and we swore that the clerk hadn't left the front desk for even a second! The manager even went so far to claim that the hotel had placed cork pads in the room to protect the property against any hot item, which turned out to be another lie!! During the four days we stayed in the hotel, we found nothing like cork pads in the room at all!

We were totally fine with the charge, but we do hope that how much charge is made, it can be made in an honest and dignified way!! Frankly speaking, this was the worst experience during our stay in Canada!

Room Tip: The loft suite we booked was ok as we were not very picky. The hotel is some distance from downtown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Rosa,

Thank you for your review. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us however we are equally confused and concerned with your accusations of lies and deception. When you checked out of your room, you did bring to our attention that you burnt the kitchen table. We did come to mutual agreement of a minimal charge to repair the table. You paid the amount in person. We are unaware where the lies and deception come into the equation. Please contact us immediately via telephone if you are reconsidering what a reasonable charge would be for refinishing the kitchen table.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,968 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Property: Tunnel Mountain Resort
Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Tunnel Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing