We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Seen better days and wifi doesn't work” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Seen better days and wifi doesn't work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Don't believe them about the wifi. There's no reception in our cabin, they admitted not in others, but said it would be fixed. It was not fixed. These days wifi is as important as water and electricity - it's a utility. Every room should have wifi and it should be no additional charge , as there's no extra charge for running water. And if you say you have wifi, you'd better well provide a strong signal. Other things: we were told we had been upgraded and yet our cabin matched what we booked and were expecting: strange. The pull-out sofa was ancient and I hesitated to sit on it let alone sleep. The bath was very worn, but clean, and one light was out in the bathroom. When we checked in, another customer was at the desk was asking that burnt-out light bulbs be replaced in two of their four lamps. There was not enough light from the lamps to read in the upstairs loft bedroom. The remote for the small bedroom TV didn't work. On the other hand, the kitchen was well-stocked for families wanting to cook (though the electric kettle was broken), and the price was excellent for Banff. It was, in essence, an average place, clean but run-down, some things not working, and without the promised wifi. But priced for those not able to afford better digs.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GastownWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are very concerned to hear that you had a poor experience at our hotel. The overall feedback we receive from guests helps us improve for the next guests. We would welcome the opportunity to hear from you directly as we try to address your specific concerns. If you wish to contact us, please call the hotel directly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    372
    184
    95
    50
See reviews for
320
440
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
guangzhou
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is actually ok but we were kind of shocked by the management and receptionist about how they dealt with the dispute when we checked out.

We were careless to make a brown circlular mark on the wood table after we finished cooking in the kitchen. When we checked out, we honestly reported the problem to the clerk at the front desk. He charged us 50 CAD for that. We were fine with the charge, but the clerk definitely lied to us when he said he telephoned the manager about the matter. We were face to face with him and didn't see him make any phone call at the time! After we came back, we sent email to the manager about the dishonest behaviour of the hotel staff. We were then even more disappointed by the dishonest argument by the manager. The manager claimed that the clerk actually went into his office to ask for his opinion for the matter at the time when we checked out, which was a sheer lie! The whole process of checking out lasted only around 5 minutes and we swore that the clerk hadn't left the front desk for even a second! The manager even went so far to claim that the hotel had placed cork pads in the room to protect the property against any hot item, which turned out to be another lie!! During the four days we stayed in the hotel, we found nothing like cork pads in the room at all!

We were totally fine with the charge, but we do hope that how much charge is made, it can be made in an honest and dignified way!! Frankly speaking, this was the worst experience during our stay in Canada!

Room Tip: The loft suite we booked was ok as we were not very picky. The hotel is some distance from downtown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Rosa,

Thank you for your review. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us however we are equally confused and concerned with your accusations of lies and deception. When you checked out of your room, you did bring to our attention that you burnt the kitchen table. We did come to mutual agreement of a minimal charge to repair the table. You paid the amount in person. We are unaware where the lies and deception come into the equation. Please contact us immediately via telephone if you are reconsidering what a reasonable charge would be for refinishing the kitchen table.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights.
Staff was friendly and helpful. The location is not walking distance to downtown but by car is short. The pool is good for kids..nothing spectacular.
There is NO restaurant here or even a continental breakfast offered
Laundry facilities work good
In the room there were the pros and cons
It was a nice view and layout but when it came to the little things well..
The shower head was terrible and the drain in the tub was very slow so I ended up standing in an inch of water and soapy dirt. There were smears on mirrors and there was someone's old toothpaste under the dresser. I wasn't touching it
After first night 1 bed wasn't made but others were and sugar wasn't replaced after using the coffee machine
Overall it needs some attention to detail but not the worst I've been in

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smokeeater2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I'm sorry to hear our property did not live up to your expectations. We strive to exceed all guests expectations, and are regretful we did not succeed with you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed in the cabin as it was the same price as the loft. We had the whole cabin to ourselfs, clean kitchen, all the facilities we needed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. From the balcony of the cabin we looked out into the forest and on our first day saw chip monks, squirrels and a coyote. Only criticism was that the shower was a bit tight, otherwise was great for a week long stay exploring the rockies.

Room Tip: The cabin was a good choice over the loft. Even though we didn't use the extra bedroom the space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cass155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, and we are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We booked a chalet for this trip. It was really huge with two beds on the loft and one bedroom on ground level. The kitchen while functional, needed some instructions to work the oven. But you can really cook a decent meal as it's well-equipped with a stove top, oven, microwave, kettle and even a dishwasher!
The staff at the check-in counter was helpful and friendly. The location of the chalet is about a 15 - 20 mins walk to downtown. While it's fine walking to town down-slope, coming back prove to be a slight challenge after 3 or more drinks.
I will really be able to give this hotel a much better rating if they gave it a makeover. Everything just looks and feels too old there. It will also be good if they have a cafe for breakfast or coffee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandieFossen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is through your comments and feedback that we are able to improve our service, training practices and facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in a one-room apartment and were quite happy with it. It is situated near the center but far enough to feel the mountain peace. It had a complete kitchen with everything we needed. When we opened the couch we discovered they hadn't changed the sheets and had to call for room service. They did bring us clean ones and we put them on. The reception girl was very helpful and we used the barbecue grill every day.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for an apartment on the second floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is through your comments and feedback that we are able to improve our service, training practices and facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in a loft chalet for three nights and this place was so lovely!

The check in staff were very friendly and helpful and after we had been settled in for about an hour they gave us a courtesy call to see if everything was okay which was very nice of them.

There is a local shop near by to grab things for this self catering apartment and it is only a short drive from Banff town center

Also we had an amazing view from our balcony of one of the mountain peaks which was lovely to look at with a nice cup of tea on the balcony in the mornings!

We loved this place and would definitely stay here again if we ever visit Banff in the future.

Thanks for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinez_Tinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I am so pleased to hear you had such an excellent stay with us. Our staff really enjoy making sure your vacation is really enjoyable, and it sounds like they were really able to help you make the most of your trip here. Please do come and visit us again, we would be pleased to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Property: Tunnel Mountain Resort
Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Tunnel Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing