We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant Stay and Excellent Summer Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay and Excellent Summer Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We travelled to Banff in late June with another couple and stayed at TMR for three days. We were very pleased with the accommodation and staff. Our room was large, comfortable and very well equipped, and the luxury bathroom with Jacuzzi tub, heated floor and steam shower was a complete surprise. The views are quite impressive from the balconies.

The front desk staff were pleasant and very helpful, and not only swiftly addressed a noisy HVAC problem in our friends' room, but also followed up to ensure that they were completely satisfied.

TMR has a number of guest facilities which we never used, including the pool, and sauna but we saw one guest barbequing steaks on the Resort's outdoor grill and would recommend it.

The rates were very reasonable and the location is about a 20 minute walk from downtown Banff if you don't mind hiking down and up a pretty long hill. Driving is easier, and downtown parking is readily available off-street in the summer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JES1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, and we are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    392
    197
    97
    50
See reviews for
345
464
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is about a mile walk from downtown Banff but so worth the stay. The room, with a queen bed, was quite large. We had a gas fireplace in our room (although we did not use it), refrigerator, safe box and a steam shower! The hotel is clean and the front desk staff were quite helpful. The fitness room is very basic - one treadmill, one bicycle and one stairmaster but at least they have a fitness room. There were two hikes within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We appreciate your positive review, and thank you for informing potential guests of our amenities. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We only had a basic room here with a tiny fridge and microwave. Rooms was a little dark but have been because it rained the whole time we were here. There was a balcony, but too cold and wet to sit out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recklinghausen, De
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

The overall impression of the Tunnel Mountain Resort is quite appealing. It is situated close both to nice hikes and Banff Downtown (not so difficult in a town like Banff). But there are some details that diminsh our assessment. First the room was spacious but extremely gloomy. This may be beneficial in midsummer conditions but it was annoying in the cooler conditions we found there in June. Second the bathroom contains only shower, tub and toilet. The washbowl was outside as a part of the kichenette. We don't appreciate the mingling of food preparation and personal hygiene. On the other hand the facilities in Tunnel Mountain Resort are convincing, e. g. they have a good fitness room.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for recently taking the opportunity to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We value your opinion, as it allows us to become better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last week based on Burnabyboy's review. I highly recommend this hotel for those looking for a decent room for a reasonable price. The room was clean and spacious, and the bed comfortable. My wife thought is was a great find.

Room Tip: It is a bit hard to find at night without a map. Not sure there is an elevator. Get an accessible r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StayedHereB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Tunnel Mountain Resort for your next stay. Thank you for sharing your experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We booked a cabin for four adults for three nights and were very pleased with the accommodation. Our cabin had a kitchen and dining area with a fireplace, living room,, one bedroom and a loft with two double beds as well as a lovely deck which was accessible through some sliding doors. We were able to watch a young buck whitetail deer just below our deck for quite a while the first evening which was certainly not something you can do just anywhere. The cabin is not huge, but was clean and fully equipped and certainly served our purposes well. We used the community Barbeque one night to cook steaks while the rest of the dinner was prepared in the kitchen. Very pleasant. Loved the fireplace which we used every night and wood was very reasonable to buy. Didn't use the pool and hot tub, but they looked very inviting. Very pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking this unique opportunity to share your recent experience Tunnel Mountain Resort. I hope future travelers will read your wonderfully detailed review and use it to their benefit. We look forward to being your hotel of choice on your return visit to Banff National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Property: Tunnel Mountain Resort
Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Tunnel Mountain Chalet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing