We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Above Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just Above Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights. We booked through living social and received two free passes to the hot springs, and had a deal on our one bedroom suite. When we arrived (after a 4 hour drive) at 10:30pm, we were greeted by two women complaining that their room was FILTHY. After heading to the front desk to check in, we were having some chip malfunctions with my credit card, which it took nearly 40 minutes for the front desk staff to decide to swipe my card instead. I was tired, and at that point, beyond frustrated. But once we got everything sorted out, we headed up to our room which was clean, and cozy. We had a fireplace. HOWEVER, we were not offered any wood unless we wanted to pay $10. Compared to other hotels which offered a few logs, free of charge, already in place in your room, this was upsetting to me. We didn't use our fireplace at all during our stay. Other than those few mishaps, we had a jacuzzi tub, which was very nice. We had a full kitchen, which I always love in hotels.
Overall, our room was just average. Nothing made it overly exceptional, and I would stay there again, but not as my first choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for the review. I'm sorry to hear our property did not live up to your expectations. We strive to exceed all guests expectations, and are regretful we did not succeed with you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    389
    193
    95
    50
See reviews for
337
459
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here Friday, March 8-Sunday, March 10th, 2013...and it was okay...we've stayed at Douglas Fir (across the street previously and it's at 10...in comparison)

Dirty-walls, windows, heat vents, ledges-ick
Requires repair-bed in the loft-bed was very unstable, all plugs in room were very touchy...they fell out on their own, constantly had to re-adjust, also blinds on patio doors were falling off.
The pool is super small, so is the Hot Tub, and there were no towels in the change room.

Deer off our back deck-amazing...but there should be signs out there NOT to feed the wildlife, as our neighbour was...some people just don't understand.

Overall-Outdated, and needs some massive TLC.

Beds were comfortable! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the loft room 130-nothing special...it was close to the pool and main office, parking s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyoffour2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thanks a lot for reviewing our property on TripAdvisor.com and for bringing to our attention the issues with our Housekeeping. Be assured all of your comments were reviewed with our management team and the situation will be improved. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for a bit of a chance to get out of the city and relax and recuperate from stress.

The Executive King suite was lovely, very clean and cozy. The bathroom was a little cramped, but with a jet tub and steam shower it wasn't unexpected. The staff was very eager and willing to make sure we were comfortable. Also the view was absolutely gorgeous.

The only complaint I have is the bed. While it was incredibly comfortable, the sheets were I think just a bit too small for the bed (It's actually two single or twin mattresses pushed together with a King mattress cover which would account for the sheets being a couple inches too small) so every time we sat down on the bed the sheets would fly off the corners so we'd have to remake the bed multiple times. This wouldn't be a big deal to someone going out and doing a lot in Banff, but we were just there for a bit of a quiet getaway from stress so having a weekend staying in was a little frustrating having to remake the bed every time we got up.

Another little note; since the visa debit came about the water around the visa policies has become pretty murky in some places. To clarify for Tunnel Mountain; they do not accept the Visa debit in lieu of an actual credit card. I suggest if you don't have one, find someone who's does have a credit card that's willing to have the hold for you. They do have a form you can send in (I called ahead and figured this out ahead of time) that the person with the card can make it just so the card is used for a hold, and can't have any other charges put towards it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for posting a review on your recent stay. I hope your review provides useful advice to future travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My fiancee and I travelled here in March 2012 with our 6 year old daughter and 14 year old son, and we stayed in a loft suite. There is a small bedroom when you first walk in with a queen bed, TV and a closet (this is where our older son stayed)- the room has it's own door that can be closed and locked. There was an issue with the TV, it had a broken power button for some reason and the remote was missing but we had someone from maintenance bring one up.

From there, you walk into a fully-equipped kitchen and a very large full bathroom to the left. Kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need for cooking - all cutlery, dishes, pots and pans, etc. From there, you walk into the dining room and living room. Couch has a hide-a-bed which our young daughter slept on no problem. There is a balcony off the living room which we had fun sitting on watching the deer walk around the hotel grounds eating.

Upstairs in the loft was a large king size bed, another TV, a half bath and a smaller private balcony.

The hotel has a swimming pool with a hot tub. The pool area was small and dated but the kids enjoyed it anyways.

Right across from this hotel is another one with a convenience store inside which came in handy for a couple of forgotten food items since this hotel is up the hill on Tunnel mountain, a short disctance from town. It should also be noted that because this area with a few hotels are up on the top of this mountain, there is a shuttle service that goes back and forth. Some of the hotels provide complimentary passes for this shuttle.

Overall, yes this hotel is dated, a bit older, but it's great value for the price. We didn't spend much time in it anyway aside from eating, showering and sleeping. Would recommend it to others, especially families and we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meesha780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for the excellent feedback on your family’s stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I love staying here! We booked our stay with a living social voucher this time. I had no idea all the extras we were getting. Check -in is always super friendly and quick. We just got to our room and they put rose petals on the bed, there are also chocolates and hot spring passes in the room. Now we usually stay in the mountain cabins but this room is so cozy, I think it's called a one bedroom suite. There is a kitchen, a spectacular view of rundle mountain and a wood burning fireplace. Just perfect for our anniversary weekend escape.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank detroitwhaaaaaaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking this unique opportunity to share your recent experience Tunnel Mountain Resort. I hope future travelers will read your wonderfully detailed review and use it to their benefit. We look forward to being your hotel of choice on your return visit to Banff National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed from Feb.1st to 4th. We chose this resort as a return visit with our now almost adult kids as we stayed there in a loft chalet a few years ago and loved it. We were so disappointed to see how run down and dirty our chalet was. While I can understand that it is hard to maintain a property when you have lots of rowdy guests, there is no excuse for not having a clean room. There is a wonderful opportunity for the owners to have this become a gem of a family resort, but it is hard to do this when things are dirty. We were met with a bathroom floor that was unwashed in the corners, there was someone else's hair on the floor and in the tub. The towels were clean but in rough shape some were stained. We used the pull out sofa which was dirty and sporting cigarette burns. When we pulled out the bed out of the sofa we were shocked to find dirt, broken glass and other litter on the floor underneath. The kitchen and coffee tables were both sticky. One of the kitchen table legs was so bent we were afraid to sit on it. The plus to this is that the room did have the space we needed and the bed linens were clean. In the end that was not enough to win us over. Like I said, being a little run down is understandable but dirty is never acceptable. Sadly, we will be unlikely to return.

Room Tip: if possible ask to see the chalet before you decide to stay. They are not all the same as some have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks a lot for reviewing our property on TripAdvisor.com and for bringing to our attention the issues with our Housekeeping. Be assured all of your comments were reviewed with our management team and the situation will be improved. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at Tunnel Mountain during the "Snow Days" Festival at Lake Louise.

When we arrived they upgraded us from a 2 Bed room to a Loft Suite. This was a nice surprise.

The suite was clean and we had all the linens and towels we needed.

The bed was comfortable and the view was beautiful.

Our two children swam in the pool, which was warm and clean.

Overall the stay was nice and uneventful.

Would love to see a Cafe or other amenity on-site!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Tunnel Mountain Resort experience! Look forward to seeing you on your next Banff get-a-way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.0 mi away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Property: Tunnel Mountain Resort
Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Tunnel Mountain Chalet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing