We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Nearby Hotels
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets(Banff)(Great Value!)
$150
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$346
$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
$229
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$362
$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$385
$373
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
$401
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Banff Springs(Banff)
$701
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,192)
Filter reviews
1,192 results
Traveler rating
384
421
222
109
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
421
222
109
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam showertunnel mountainexecutive suiteliving roomjet tubgas fireplacefull kitchenheated floorsdowntown banffsized bedfree buscoffee makerindoor poolthe main streetlake louisebalconychalet
Filter
Updating list...
820 - 825 of 1,192 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here Friday, March 8-Sunday, March 10th, 2013...and it was okay...we've stayed at Douglas Fir (across the street previously and it's at 10...in comparison)

Dirty-walls, windows, heat vents, ledges-ick
Requires repair-bed in the loft-bed was very unstable, all plugs in room were very touchy...they fell out on their own, constantly had to re-adjust, also blinds on patio doors were falling off.
The pool is super small, so is the Hot Tub, and there were no towels in the change room.

Deer off our back deck-amazing...but there should be signs out there NOT to feed the wildlife, as our neighbour was...some people just don't understand.

Overall-Outdated, and needs some massive TLC.

Beds were comfortable! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the loft room 130-nothing special...it was close to the pool and main office, parking spot is short...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familyoffour2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thanks a lot for reviewing our property on TripAdvisor.com and for bringing to our attention the issues with our Housekeeping. Be assured all of your comments were reviewed with our management team and the situation will be improved. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for a bit of a chance to get out of the city and relax and recuperate from stress.

The Executive King suite was lovely, very clean and cozy. The bathroom was a little cramped, but with a jet tub and steam shower it wasn't unexpected. The staff was very eager and willing to make sure we were comfortable. Also the view was absolutely gorgeous.

The only complaint I have is the bed. While it was incredibly comfortable, the sheets were I think just a bit too small for the bed (It's actually two single or twin mattresses pushed together with a King mattress cover which would account for the sheets being a couple inches too small) so every time we sat down on the bed the sheets would fly off the corners so we'd have to remake the bed multiple times. This wouldn't be a big deal to someone going out and doing a lot in Banff, but we were just there for a bit of a quiet getaway from stress so having a weekend staying in was a little frustrating having to remake the bed every time we got up.

Another little note; since the visa debit came about the water around the visa policies has become pretty murky in some places. To clarify for Tunnel Mountain; they do not accept the Visa debit in lieu of an actual credit card. I suggest if you don't have one, find someone who's does have a credit card that's willing to have the hold for you. They do have a form you can send in (I called ahead and figured this out ahead of time) that the person with the card can make it just so the card is used for a hold, and can't have any other charges put towards it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for posting a review on your recent stay. I hope your review provides useful advice to future travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My fiancee and I travelled here in March 2012 with our 6 year old daughter and 14 year old son, and we stayed in a loft suite. There is a small bedroom when you first walk in with a queen bed, TV and a closet (this is where our older son stayed)- the room has it's own door that can be closed and locked. There was an issue with the TV, it had a broken power button for some reason and the remote was missing but we had someone from maintenance bring one up.

From there, you walk into a fully-equipped kitchen and a very large full bathroom to the left. Kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need for cooking - all cutlery, dishes, pots and pans, etc. From there, you walk into the dining room and living room. Couch has a hide-a-bed which our young daughter slept on no problem. There is a balcony off the living room which we had fun sitting on watching the deer walk around the hotel grounds eating.

Upstairs in the loft was a large king size bed, another TV, a half bath and a smaller private balcony.

The hotel has a swimming pool with a hot tub. The pool area was small and dated but the kids enjoyed it anyways.

Right across from this hotel is another one with a convenience store inside which came in handy for a couple of forgotten food items since this hotel is up the hill on Tunnel mountain, a short disctance from town. It should also be noted that because this area with a few hotels are up on the top of this mountain, there is a shuttle service that goes back and forth. Some of the hotels provide complimentary passes for this shuttle.

Overall, yes this hotel is dated, a bit older, but it's great value for the price. We didn't spend much time in it anyway aside from eating, showering and sleeping. Would recommend it to others, especially families and we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meesha780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for the excellent feedback on your family’s stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I love staying here! We booked our stay with a living social voucher this time. I had no idea all the extras we were getting. Check -in is always super friendly and quick. We just got to our room and they put rose petals on the bed, there are also chocolates and hot spring passes in the room. Now we usually stay in the mountain cabins but this room is so cozy, I think it's called a one bedroom suite. There is a kitchen, a spectacular view of rundle mountain and a wood burning fireplace. Just perfect for our anniversary weekend escape.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank detroitwhaaaaaaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking this unique opportunity to share your recent experience Tunnel Mountain Resort. I hope future travelers will read your wonderfully detailed review and use it to their benefit. We look forward to being your hotel of choice on your return visit to Banff National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed from Feb.1st to 4th. We chose this resort as a return visit with our now almost adult kids as we stayed there in a loft chalet a few years ago and loved it. We were so disappointed to see how run down and dirty our chalet was. While I can understand that it is hard to maintain a property when you have lots of rowdy guests, there is no excuse for not having a clean room. There is a wonderful opportunity for the owners to have this become a gem of a family resort, but it is hard to do this when things are dirty. We were met with a bathroom floor that was unwashed in the corners, there was someone else's hair on the floor and in the tub. The towels were clean but in rough shape some were stained. We used the pull out sofa which was dirty and sporting cigarette burns. When we pulled out the bed out of the sofa we were shocked to find dirt, broken glass and other litter on the floor underneath. The kitchen and coffee tables were both sticky. One of the kitchen table legs was so bent we were afraid to sit on it. The plus to this is that the room did have the space we needed and the bed linens were clean. In the end that was not enough to win us over. Like I said, being a little run down is understandable but dirty is never acceptable. Sadly, we will be unlikely to return.

Room Tip: if possible ask to see the chalet before you decide to stay. They are not all the same as some have different layouts
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thanks a lot for reviewing our property on TripAdvisor.com and for bringing to our attention the issues with our Housekeeping. Be assured all of your comments were reviewed with our management team and the situation will be improved. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews