We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights in a room with king bed and it was clean and nice. The bed was comfortable but the fitted sheet did slip off in the night. front dest staff were nice and helpful.

The fitness center was what one can usually expect at a hotel...good equipment and quiet.

A great value to stay in Banff.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen6cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, and we are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

We only live 1 hour away from Banff and have tried many difference Banff hotels for fun. But when we do go we always try and book at this place. The room is awesome and has a Jacuzzi which we love!! It's modern, has a balcony and clean. It's just a little oasis when we need to get out of the city. We always wait for good deals for this place and they usually do come up. right now I took a look and they have rooms going for $89 a night. We've always stayed in the executive suite.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravlFunLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

What a fantastic review, thank you for taking the time to submit this after your stay with us at Tunnel Mountain Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a beautiful resort with a beautiful location. My wife and I stayed Nov 5th and 6th 2012 in the one bedroom loft chalet. The chalet is spacious and has a separate bedroom if you need it.This chalet has 2 beds up in the loft also. It has a wood burning fireplace, but firewood is not included it will cost you $7.50 a bag to order from resort and it is cut to burn, no axe required. You can bring your own firewood if you want, the resort has no problem with that. The staff at the front desk are excellent and very accommodating, as well are the support staff for customer service. We would not hesitate to re-book this this Resort for our next visit to Banff.

Room Tip: Their is no restaurant, thewse rooms have kitchenettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbertaBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We greatly value your impressions. I will pass your comments to our staff. Looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Tunnel Mountain Resort from October 26th to 28th inclusive. When we first checked in, we were given a one bedroom suite which we thought did not have a great view, and thought that some of the lights were not working (we had not checked the plug ins). One call to reception and they arranged another suite for us. Unfortunately, that suite had full carpeting to which my allergies would not have taken well to, so we requested a switch back to the one we had been given previously. Service was excellent, and the switch was made without any fuss and pleasantly. Toiletries were not provided after the first day, and other than our beds being made up, no cleaning was provided. But that had clearly been stated on the guest sheet and posted on walls, so we were aware. All in all - waking up to say hello to the mountains was great! We were there for a conference, so did not spend too much time in the suite.

Room Tip: We stayed in 159 which is a basic one bedroom suite in the basement level. I liked it because you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for posting a review on your recent stay. I hope your review provides useful advice to future travellers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Love to stay in Banff, when I booked online I thought I was getting a lower Chalet like we got last year! We didn't so I'll have to be more careful when booking in June& Oct.. Our stay was great as usual and look forward to going back next year!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cummins7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

It was a pleasure to host your return visit. It is fantastic to hear from guests that have been staying with us over the years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the Tunnel Mountain Resort at the end of a long road trip. The place was clean, and perfect for our needs. We didn't utilize the kitchen, but we did get a fire going one night. We enjoyed seeing little pikas running around right outside of our room. The hotel is very convenient to downtown Banff and the the highway. There are a couple of small convenience stores nearby.

Room Tip: We were on an end room, near the road. No noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and the wood burning fireplace. We hope you will keep us in mind for your future Banff adventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

After much research online, we decided on the Tunnel Mountain Resort for our weekend getaway. Check in was fast, efficient and friendly. The room itself is a little dated, as noted by the smaller tube TV in the bedroom. There was no luggage rack, which I found odd. The air conditioner was still in the wall and caused a major draft, as well as the patio door. The fireplace was a great bonus and for only $7 they delivered a bundle of wood to the room. We stayed nice and toasty warm! Having the kitchen made it convenient for us to cook meals (we were prepared, as we brought groceries before we go to Banff) ($$$). Be sure to bring an extra frying pan and a good cutting knife, as I found our room was lacking those. For those winter travelers on an extended ski vacation, a kitchen is a must and Tunnel Mountain seems like a great budget place to stay. The hot tub, steam room and sauna were great. We didn't make it to the pool, but they do have one. Lastly, I could see location being a bit of a factor, as it's about a 10-15 minute walk into town, but there is the local bus, taxis and of course your own vehicle if you have one.

All in all, a fantastic stay that only offers minimal complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madusa_3231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for posting a review on your recent stay. I hope your review provides useful advice to future travellers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 34 in Banff
2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,007 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $83 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing