We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very happy Thanksgiving weekend in a Mountain Cabin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very happy Thanksgiving weekend in a Mountain Cabin”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

After an amazing experience we had the first time we stayed here my family and I decided to book a couple cabins for thanksgiving. Everything was perfect. We couldn't have asked for anything more. The kitchens in the units had everything we needed to cook dinner and anything extra we asked for was brought by the cheerful and friendly staff with in minutes. The room was clean and it was nice to sit by the wood burning fire place after dinner while enjoying the beautiful view.

If you are planning a family get-a-way over the holidays this should be the first place on your list to stay. We will definitely be celebrating our holidays here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank detroitwhaaaaaaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, It was a pleasure to host your return visit, I am very happy to hear we succeeded in making your stay an enjoyable one for you and your family. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again over the holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    401
    203
    97
    50
See reviews for
351
474
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bad Homburg, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you have your own rental car the location of this resort is very convenient on Tunnel Mountain, only a short drive to downtown.
We stayed 4 nights in a one-bedroom suite.
The bedroom was the first room after entering the suite and quite dark (which was uncomfortable while packing or un-packing the luggage but good for sleeping). From the bedroom you go through the kitchen into the very spacious living room. The bathroom is big enough and features a bathtub with whirlpool function. The kitchenette is equipped with a huge fridge & freezer; the rest of the equipment could be better. I especially missed salt, pepper and some herbs or oil for cooking. There was no dish liquid in the kitchen so we couldn’t do our dishes manually and had to use the dishwasher (which was as a consequence running half empty).
We didn’t use the balcony because of the changeable mountain weather. It would have been nice if the chairs outside had been a bit cleaner. Our suite was on the ground floor, so we didn’t dare to leave the balcony door open during the night because the bedroom was, as mentioned before, on the other end of the suite.
The interior of the suite is in darker colours and will not appeal to people who prefer modern surroundings.
The personnel at reception was friendly. One evening our key cards didn’t work (of course when we were laden like donkeys with rucksacks and purchases from the supermarket) but after a short excursion to the reception we received new ones.
Our stay was okay (even if I got an electric shock from the cursed hair dryer) - but taking into account the considerable price, the complete suite could be in better condition (e.g. there were tiles missing in the kitchen).
Next time in Banff, I will try my luck somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youknowwhoIam, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is through your comments and feedback that we are able to improve our service, and facility
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked an executive suite and will stay here again. We really like that it was quiet and out of the way from busy downtown but close enough that you could easily walk in good weather. It is an older resort but a good price for some of it's amenities. The king sized bed was comfortable and we liked the option of a steam shower or jacuzzi tub. Our bed was made when we arrived but not very neatly and though the bathrom was clean it looked as though it hadn't been deeply cleaned in awhile. All in all not a bad option if you're not a stickler about certain things.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABBaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youknowwhoIam, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for posting a review on your recent stay. I hope your review provides useful advice to our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The resort is pretty old and in need of a lick of paint. However it is clean and teh accomodation is very spacious so you have lots of room for all your gear. Each accomodation has a spacious lounge and kitchen area and tehre are two bedrooms in each (one double and teh other with twin beds). You could easily sleep 5 or 6 if folk used the sofas as well. The hotel does not have anywhere to eat so you have to go out unless you want to cook yourself

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Royboy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youknowwhoIam, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. I hope you can visit again in the future, we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel room was beautiful! The room was very large and had lots of special things in it - a fireplace, balcony, jetted tub, steam shower, and even heated tiles in the bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room was very clean and the staff at the front desk were very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youknowwhoIam, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the Tripadvisor Community. I hope future travelers will view this review as an example of our passionate staff and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in an Executive King Suite w/balcony number 302 over the Canada Day weekend (until Tuesday, actually) The room itself was huge, extremely spacious. Huge (and I mean HUGE) bed, sofa, coffee table, fireplace, desk to sit at, tv, microwave, double sinks, shower & spa bath. All very nice. Very clean (with the exception of the balcony and it's furniture, they looked as if nobody had popped out there to clean over the past year!) Balcony view was facing the main road outside (but mostly shielded by trees and the noise doesn't disturb) Unfortunately we didn't have time to make use of any resort facilities as we spent most of our time out and about. The resort is about a five or ten minute drive 'downtown' but there are buses that run I think every thirty or forty minutes. IMO it would be a fair trek and back on foot unless you're pretty fit. All I can do is go by our stay at Tunnel Mountain and yes I would recommend it as we liked our room and have no complaints from our stay. No pictures this time as mine are pretty much exactly the same as everyone elses! Little tip, carry on driving past Tunnel Mountain to see some great views - specially on a clear night when the moon can be seen over the mountains and water.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamLouise67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youknowwhoIam, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, It was a pleasure to host your visit to both Banff and Tunnel Mountain Resort. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Everything -- dirty shower, loud air conditioning unit, lights burned out, screen door to balcony hard to open, no housekeeping unless you requested it, rugs not vacuumed. What else do you need to know!!

Helpful?
Thank Gloria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
2,003 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
2,103 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Property: Tunnel Mountain Resort
Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing