We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall but awful wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Good hotel, but wifi is extremely slow, that's all. Not totally cleaned always, dosen't look very different

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nedsels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 967 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights in Jult 2011. Stayed in a chalet with loft. This unit was perfect for our family of four. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ontario-Family73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here because I got good rate thought it would be nice to outside of Banff. The parking is extremely tight and a real pain. Our lower level executive suite room was ok but only a view of the noisy road. The bed was comfy. The only restaurant is very pricey 5* across the street and it's a HIKE down and up the hill. Bus does not run on schedule but driving into town and parking was not a problem. They come by too early at 815am to service the room. Overall, I think spending a bit more and be in a better location would be worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Kathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Best value for your money, facilities were very clean and they have hot tubs and a pool but you need a car to get down to the main town strip where all the shops and restaurants are. It is located up a large hill and there is no magnificent views from here if that is what you are looking for.
The front staff are not very friendly and the beds were not the most comfortable but worth the price for what you got because most other places in banff are much more expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadiatravelgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Just spent three nights with family, we booked two executive suites via Expedia at an amazing rate.

We arrived with mixed expectations based on some mediocre reviews and were pleasantly surprised!

Both suites were huge and featured king beds with 40" flat screed TV, separate sitting area with leather sofa and large deck, but the wow was the bathroom!!, huge jacuzzi tub, steam shower, double vanities with granite counters, all looked recently reno'd ... also microwave and fridge. Rooms were spotless as well, as views included Mt. Rundle, the morning light was especially dramatic and I enjoyed my coffee on the deck both mornings!

The location was ideal, up a short hill from town, about a 15 minute walk but you had the feeling you were camping, surrounded by forests with mountain views on all sides!

Didn't use the pool or hot tubs and the bathrooms were like your own private spa!!

I was reluctant to write this as I wished to keep Tunnel Mtn Resort a family secret.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank connect2source
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This was our first vacation as a couple and we absolutely loved the resort! We stayed in the executive suite for 5 nights, the tub and steam shower were fantastic and we spent a lot of time at the "spa" that the resort has - a huge hot tub, steam room and sauna. We found the location of the resort very convenient as it was not right in busy downtown Banff, but up the hill and a bus stop was right outside the main entrance so we didn't have to worry about driving/parking in Banff. Bus fare is only $2 or $5 for a day trip so we bussed everywhere. Really nice and helpful staff and an overall great place to spend your vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andedawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Good value in a slightly older style resort. The resort is on the outskirts of the town so a car is useful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0 mi away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $105 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing