We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, good location,”
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Lacombe, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value, good location,”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We were traveling with friends and on motorbikes. We were hiking Mount Rundle for the day so we arrived early on our bikes, The hotel was great about letting us leave our bikes in the underground parking for the day, before we had actually checked in. Our room was on the main floor, main street side, so a bit noisy, but the room was great. The bedroom area is away from the street side, so ok for sleeping. Hot tub is great after a long hard day!!! This was our second time staying there because the other thing we liked is its location. You are a 10 minute walk to everything you could need, but far enough away not to feel too congested.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11TnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    616
    159
    56
    27
See reviews for
291
739
48
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2010

My Cousin and I were searching for a hotel in Banff to spend 4 days before heading west to a conference in B.C. We were courteously welcomed at the front desk of the Banff Aspen Lodge. Most of the rooms were newly renovated - all were very clean and spacious. We liked the idea of the sink being outside of the bathroom and it had many little glass shelves at the side to take cosmetics and such, so as to not clutter the sink area. The beds were very comfortable, the television had all the programming we desired, especially the NHL games on CBC, the news and the weather stations.
The two outdoor pools were nestled in between the 3 levels of rooms, open to the sky. The weather was cool for May but we loved relaxing in the hot pools, followed by the sauna. The pool temperature was comparable to the 39 C at both Sulphur Springs and Radium Hot Springs. It was a real treat.
The parking was convenient, just at the back of the hotel and it was all sheltered. It made carrying the bags in very easy.
There was a little shop off the front foyer where we could access post cards and snacks.
The Internet was available, for a small cost, in a comfortable seating room off the foyer.
The breakfast room was unbelievably great. Each day we were asked what juice and hot beverage we desired. Our mugs and glasses were refilled many times. The central table held nicely displayed breakfast items such as cereals and fresh granola, a large bowl of yogurt, a large bowl of freshly cut fruit, boiled eggs, fresh sweet breads and muffins and lots of toasting items.The room was beautifully decorated with framed paintings, photos and artifacts. It was completely inviting.
On our return trip to take the flight out of Calgary we returned to the Aspen Lodge. This time our room had two queen beds separated by the bathroom and we each had our own sink. We walked downtown as usual, brought back some food to enjoy while watching the NHL playoffs. Then back to the hot pool and the sauna.
The Aspen is located right on Banff St. so is convenient walking to many restaurants and all the shopping. It was perfect for us. We returned during this short, 2 week trip and would certainly stay at the Aspen again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I recently stayed at the Aspen Lodge in Banff. It has been renovated just recently and is really modern and beautiful. It is a quaint little hotel with lots to offer. It is on the main street but far enough away you avoid the crowds but still close enough to walk. The small hot tub by the fire place (outdoors) was closed but I'm assuming for only a short period of time. The continental breakfast was also very nice.
I have stayed at many hotels in Banff (expensive and cheap) and I would recommend this one to a friend.

It's one of my favorite places in the world!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky9533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed at the Aspen Lodge in Oct 09 for 4 nights & found the location great - about 1 block into the heart of Banff main shopping area. Our room was quite large with 2 queen beds.
Strange thing happened on the 1st night - when we went to bed the sheets were giving us small electric shocks! We could see flashes of green & would get a slight zap - it was quite funny. I asked reception about it & they said that it does happen - something to do with the cold air. It only happened that 1st night and made us laugh!
It was snowing whilst in Banff, so was quite good to have parking that was covered & free!
The breakfast was quite adequate with many choices available.
We loved the hot tubs - even though it was pretty cold when we got out & I had icicles hanging from my hair - it was a great experience. We have never experienced snow falling before so it was fantastic.
We loved Banff & the Rocky Mountains & will return one day soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneKaren67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights from May 23rd. The hotel is centrally located so you could walk to shops and restaurants. The room was spacious with two very comfortable queen beds and an adequate bathroom with everything that you would need.
The breakfast consisted of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurts, toast and preserves - all nicely presented.
All the staff were pleasant and helpful with a good attitude. Also importantly all areas were clean and well maintained.
Banff is a lovely town. We took a ride on the gondola up Sulphur mountain and the views were spectacular. We walked back down into the town which was a nice easy walk. Ate at Saltlik restaurant one night which was ok but not great. Also tried the St James Irish pub and the food there was good quality, wholesome and a much better price!.
We would definately recommend Banff and the Banff Aspen hotel and would stay there again should we return to Banff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on the 20th - 22nd of May and we really think it was worth it! We were able to avail their promo price and stayed in one of their Superior rooms. The room was nice and clean - and bathroom is spacious enough for both of us. They have satellite TV and balcony as well. Their breakfast is great - not heavy like what other hotels offer, but is enough to fill you in and get you going in the morning. The reception ladies were helpful if you need information. And they have 2 hot tubs! The big one wasn't working when we're there but we did enjoy the small one - esp. when we were the only ones there. So relaxing after a long day of walking and sightseeing.

We will definitely stay here again and spread the word to our friends as well!

Keep it up!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

My 20 year old son and I stayed in a really nicely renovated 2 queen room with balcony for our four night ski vacation. We were on the third floor and it was very quiet. The room is large and bright with great lighting choices. We slept so well thanks to the best room darkening curtains EVER!! The exceptional, healthy continental breakfast was delicious and served in a beautiful room much nicer than most breakfast places. One of the two outdoor hotubs was under renovation so we used the other (with fireplace!). They are in a centre courtyard open to the sky... lovely. The entire area is wood and slate rock. The staff at Banff Aspen Lodge is friendly and really cares about your stay and yet, is respectful of your privacy. This lodge is in a great location for walking to everything 'downtown' and has excellent parking choices, including underground. Thanks Amy for helping me set up our reservations we had a wonderful holiday!!

Stayed April 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank skibumbeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,143 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing