We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and central hotel”
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Banff
North Wales
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent and central hotel”
Reviewed May 29, 2010

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights from May 23rd. The hotel is centrally located so you could walk to shops and restaurants. The room was spacious with two very comfortable queen beds and an adequate bathroom with everything that you would need.
The breakfast consisted of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurts, toast and preserves - all nicely presented.
All the staff were pleasant and helpful with a good attitude. Also importantly all areas were clean and well maintained.
Banff is a lovely town. We took a ride on the gondola up Sulphur mountain and the views were spectacular. We walked back down into the town which was a nice easy walk. Ate at Saltlik restaurant one night which was ok but not great. Also tried the St James Irish pub and the food there was good quality, wholesome and a much better price!.
We would definately recommend Banff and the Banff Aspen hotel and would stay there again should we return to Banff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    600
    156
    54
    26
See reviews for
282
712
47
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on the 20th - 22nd of May and we really think it was worth it! We were able to avail their promo price and stayed in one of their Superior rooms. The room was nice and clean - and bathroom is spacious enough for both of us. They have satellite TV and balcony as well. Their breakfast is great - not heavy like what other hotels offer, but is enough to fill you in and get you going in the morning. The reception ladies were helpful if you need information. And they have 2 hot tubs! The big one wasn't working when we're there but we did enjoy the small one - esp. when we were the only ones there. So relaxing after a long day of walking and sightseeing.

We will definitely stay here again and spread the word to our friends as well!

Keep it up!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

My 20 year old son and I stayed in a really nicely renovated 2 queen room with balcony for our four night ski vacation. We were on the third floor and it was very quiet. The room is large and bright with great lighting choices. We slept so well thanks to the best room darkening curtains EVER!! The exceptional, healthy continental breakfast was delicious and served in a beautiful room much nicer than most breakfast places. One of the two outdoor hotubs was under renovation so we used the other (with fireplace!). They are in a centre courtyard open to the sky... lovely. The entire area is wood and slate rock. The staff at Banff Aspen Lodge is friendly and really cares about your stay and yet, is respectful of your privacy. This lodge is in a great location for walking to everything 'downtown' and has excellent parking choices, including underground. Thanks Amy for helping me set up our reservations we had a wonderful holiday!!

Stayed April 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank skibumbeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Very easy to find, located near all the shops and a grocery store, the hotel was a great value on a budget. The bed was a bit old and uncomfortable, but we made it work. Banff is a beautiful place and we can’t wait to come back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank want2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2010
Thank you for your feedback and I’m glad you feel that the Banff Aspen Lodge has great value! The hotel purchased new beds for all guestrooms two years ago. However, could you please send us an email with your room number to sales@banffaspenlodge.com? The beds are on warranty and we need to test the bed and address this right away. The hotel does receive many other comments from guests saying how great they slept during their stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Living in Calgary, we spend weekends in Banff many times a year, usually electing to stay just Saturday night. Our favorite spot by far is the Banff Aspen Lodge.

The location is great, and it is a short walk to downtown even if the weather is cold out. The rooms are large and comfortable, and although the decor is a little outdated, its perfect if you don't plan on spending a lot of time in the room. Cleanliness is always excellent, and the staff are friendly and courteous. The outdoor hot tubs are very nice for ski season, and the free underground parking is wonderful.

We really like the free breakfast, and it is a nice way to start the day without forking out 20 bucks in downtown Banff, Watch for their packages, as the stay and soak deal with passes to the upper hot springs is a good value.

If you are looking for a Banff Springs experience don't stay here, but if you are looking for solid, quiet clean accommodation, this place is tops!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reemer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Sales Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2010
I loved reading your review and hearing that the Banff Aspen Lodge is your favourite spot in Banff; thanks so much for staying with us!

I do want to let you know that the hotel is currently renovating all guestrooms; they will be complete by December 31, 2010. All rooms are receiving new curtains, carpet, lighting, bedding, wallpaper and look absolutely gorgeous!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I admit the hotel has very friendly staff, clean & relative to the price paid, it was not a bad deal. but for the amount you pay per room, guests deserve more that cornflex & jams for breakfast. wouldn't hurt to have some scrambled eggs or cheese around.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hodaraffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Sales Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. All rates at the Banff Aspen Lodge include our Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast. As stated on our website, this includes fresh baked goods from our kitchen, your choice of wheat, white and multigrain breads, fresh fruits, selected yogurt and different types of cereal including our delicious homemade granola. Adding eggs and cheese to our breakfast would result in an increase to the hotel’s room rate, as the breakfast costs would go up. The hotel’s price point is very competitive, especially because we include a continental breakfast in our room rates. Thanks again and I hope you enjoyed your time in Banff National Park~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

My husband and I just stayed at the Banff Aspen Lodge for 4 nights. We were spring skiing in Banff and I cannot say enough about the lodge. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly as could be, easy to get to Sunshine Mountain and Lake Louise, ski storage easily available, breakfast was healthy and delicious, hot tubs/steam room/sauna were clean and such a great way to end the day. EASY and quick walk to the town. DEFINITELY recommend it - just ask them to turn the fridge off before you get into the room.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJB1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing