We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super helpful service and good value”
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2009

As a single traveler who arrived one day late due to weather problems, I especially appreciated the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff. The front desk is very helpful with suggestions on local places, skiing and getting around. The hot tub is very large and very comfortable even in -11 to -28C weather! I've seen some comments that the rooms are dated but I found the rooms very large, furnishings quite high quality, lots of storage and importantly firm mattresses, everything very good quality for the price. Breakfast is included which makes this very good value for money. Location is a short easy walk to ski buses (2-3 doors down) and downtown dining and shopping. Internet is expensive and capacity limited, I don't know how this compares with other Banff hotels. I agree with reviewer "abigllama" the service and value are excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dynastydiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,453)
There are newer reviews for Banff Aspen Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,210 - 1,216 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2009

My Family and I stayed here for 5 days in February. We were there primarily to Ski and Sunshine and Lake Louise. The Hotel is overall pretty nice, the 2 outdor hotubs and the location are the highlights. The rooms were basic and definitly dated, and could use an upgrade. But it had everything you needed. One problem we had was that a lot of air was coming in around the seal of our Balcony sliding door so we had to keep the heat on pretty high to keep the room warm. The hotubs were closed 1 of the 4 nights which was disapointing. The location is great, very close to Downtown and all the Restaurants.

The other thing to note is that if you are skiing, you have to walk ~2min to the bus stop at the Red Roof Inn or the Ptarmagin. not a big deal, but not ideal while wearing skiboots.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingstonTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

16 of us have just returned from 12 nights at the Banff Aspen Lodge and absolutely loved it. Totally exceeded expections. Rooms were a great size and the cleaners were brilliant. Hot tub was fantastic, although one of them was broken for the duration of our stay. Location was good, only 5 mins walk to the main strip. Reception staff were the best part, literally so helpful. providing us with all sorts of random things which we asked for.

Breakfast also great, although the staff there not so much!

You would definately have had a beast if you do not stay here, it was that good for the money!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l238284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Spent eight nights and we really enjoyed the property. The rooms were very comfortable and quaint and appear to have been recently renovated. The walkout balcony was great for fresh air and natural light in the room. Housekeeping was great and didn't just drop off towels and make the bed but really would touch up the room and it would smell fresh and clean daily, something not expected at a property with excellent value. Location is perfect for heading into downtown and very short walk to catch the bus for skiing. The comp breakfast is perfect for fueling up for skiing, it's basic, awesome granola and good service. The hot tubs and sauna were clean and relaxing. The staff are also super friendly and helpful which is something that puts this property way over the top.

Only minor complaints are that the water pressure on the shower was on the weak side. It was a low flow shower head which is good to save water but seemed to make showering in the morning take longer. So not sure how much water you save in the long run when it seems like it takes forever to get all the soap out! Also the wireless internet cost is $10 a day which also includes a bandwidth cap. So if you antivirus chooses to update and you have to download pdfs from work it can get a bit sketchy. Hardly anyone charges for internet anymore and it was frustrating to pay for very limited access.

Regardless, it was a great stay and we'd gladly stay at this property again!

TIP: Purchase your tri- area ski passes in advance, they'll be at the hotel when you check in and include the bus rides to the mountains. For advanced skiers check out the day trip to Kicking Horse in Golden, BC. Probably some of the most intense skiing in the area and bus will pick up at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abigllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2009

Thank you for your review on the Banff Aspen Lodge. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! The hotel does charge for our wireless internet, as we include our delicious Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast in all room rates. In regards to the internet bandwidth, we are currently working on a solution the will eliminate the bandwidth cap. The guestrooms have undergone soft renovations over the last while, with a major renovation planned at the end of 2009. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you on your next Banff Getaway~

Cheers,
Barbara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2009

PRO Location is great, you have everything walking distance... We got the superior room, and it is spacious and confortable, Breakfast is ok, cereals and bread, not bad... The people there are friendly. CON They charge for the use of internet or WiFi, If you're going skiing you have to catch the bus a block and a half away, Hot Tub is always full, didn't get a chance to get in, I don't like it crowded.. TV, they have very few channels..
Besides those little things, our stay was pleasant.........

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellistics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2009

We booked two rooms here the beginning of February 2009. When we checked in we asked for a cot for one of the rooms and they upgraded the room to add an extra bed for no additional charge. We had a nice view of the mountains and downtown Banff. There was a sitting room with a fireplace in the main common area and a courtyard with two hot tubs open until 10pm. The chlorine in the hot tubs was a bit harsh on our bathing suits so don't wear your favourite one. The ski bus picks up close to this hotel for $15 round trip to the three main resorts. Parking is adequate and free of charge. Our vehicle was oversized so we used the lot out back which was perfect. This hotel is an easy walk to lots of restaurants and shopping. Breakfast was very good with good service and a nice comfortable room. The best part was we only paid $89/night so overall excellent value!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lpoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

We spent one night here and had 2 rooms. Our rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. There was a sitting room (with a sofabed) and tea/coffee maker) and a fairly small bedroom. Oddly there were 2 sink areas/? The huge hot tub was just outside. The staff were friendly and the breakfast quite adequate. The indoor parking good (it was very cold) and the town at most a 5 min walk away. All in all excellent value for $99.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank keenvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,077 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $119 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing