We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Banff Aspen Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ultimate Rockies Bundle
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was a lovely little hotel on the main street, a couple of blocks from the main shopping area, we didn't notice any street noise. The hotel was clean, although the exterior was showing signs of needing a bit of a paint, understandable given the harsh winter environment. The room itself was clean and spacious, with a balcony overlooking the mountains and in room WIFI. The squirrel that greeted us outside our room in the morning was a lovely touch! Breakfast included a selection of hot and cold foods and was quite acceptable, did have a bit of a wait both mornings to be shown to our table. THe front desk staff were very helpful and ready to give advice, including restaurant recommendations and where to spot the local wildlife.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_BlackCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi Travel_BlackCat

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    513
    137
    48
    25
See reviews for
238
619
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

You can't beat the location of this nice little hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable, with sort of standard motel features, and that was just fine. (When visiting Banff, the last thing you want to do is sit around in your hotel room.) There was a small fridge, which is very handy, and we had two TVs, one in the bedroom and one in the sitting room. There was also a small balcony. The breakfast was above average compared with many other free hotel breakfasts I've had; offerings included scrambled eggs, hard-cooked eggs, bacon, sausage, granola, yogurt, cut fresh fruit, croissants, a nut bread, other kinds of bread for toast, etc. And the coffee was good! Would definitely stay here again. Only negative, comfort-wise, was the lack of air-conditioning, which probably wouldn't be a problem in the other 11 months of the year.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi BillCollector

Thank you for your review.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
285 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

On arrival great friendly staff at the desk. The room was clean, comfortable and of a generous size with a balcony. At night it was peaceful and easy for sleeping. Breakfast was more than ample with pads of selection including fresh fruits, cereal, yogurt, porridge, and hot buffet. A hot tub was in use most of the time we were there. It is near enough to walk into the main city area plus free wifi and free parking. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms looked equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankChris545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi FrankChris

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in this part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durants Neck, North Carolina
Level Contributor
477 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Banff Aspen Hotel is located in Banff on the main shopping street Banff Avenue. This is a great place. I checked in this afternoon for a 2 night stay during Canada Day celebrations. (I did not know that was happening when I made the reservations). The lobby was very modern and up to date. Right on the main street through Banff – great location.
The room is very nice with 2 queen beds, a desk and chair with a balcony, a color TV, coffee/tea maker and alarm clock. There is free parking, free Wi-Fi, and free continental breakfast.

The staff were really friendly and helpful. The beds were just right, not too soft and not too hard. I would have liked to see bath sheets instead of bath towels. Be advised, the guest rooms are NOT air conditioned. So if you get a west facing room it does get pretty hot in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
273 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We booked a Premium room, which was in a secondary building with a central area around the pool and hot tub. Our room was large, with a balcony overlooking the (mostly quiet) rear parking lot. The room had a comfy queen beed, a sofa, small table with 2 chairs, small desk, and large unit with television, small refrigerator, coffee & tea maker, and drawers. The bathroom and outside vanity area were small but attractive with marble floors and a curved shower rod in the bath. Like many hotels in the area, there was no AC but opening the door to the balcony kept the room cool and there was a small fan to circulate air. Overall the room was very comfortable, although the desk area was small for two laptops. (We might have also used the small table but there were no electrical outlets there.)

It's hard to beat the location -- only a few blocks to downtown where there are a variety of dining and shopping options. The hotel's public areas are attractive, with a nice cafe off of the (small) lobby. On each floor near the elevator there was a "take a book; leave a book" library.

Our room rate included breakfast, which was a very nice breakfast in a downstairs dining room. The breakfast included scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cold meats and cheeses, breads, muffins, fruit, and granola -- a really nice buffet breakfast. We did encounter a problem one day when three (!) tour buses told their travelers to go to breakfast within the first hour the buffet opened, but the staff managed to fit new travelers in quickly as each group finished.

While for the most part we were very happy with Banff Aspen Lodge, there were two problems. First, there is a definite lack of parking -- only a VERY small underground garage, some parking underneath in the back, and some other spots that were constantly taken up with tour buses. We ended up walking to dinner and giving up on some other plans to avoid not having a place to park. Second, the free wireless internet was very unreliable. It took several minutes to connect to the internet, when it happened to work. If you could connect, maybe it was good enough for email, or maybe not. Web pages sometimes loaded, sometimes they overwhelmed the network. It's not like we were attempting to watch videos -- we just wanted to read email, maybe look something up on Google, or check Facebook. It was so unreliable and inconsistent that several times I just gave up and used the cell plan on my iPad.

The bottom line is that this hotel has a great location, attractive and comfortable rooms, and a nice breakfast, but parking is scarce and the internet is wildly inconsistent. Until these deficiencies are corrected, though, I really can't recommend Banff Aspen Lodge. I probably wouldn't have visited if I had known the internet was as bad as it is.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkerbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi walkerbob,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am glad that you enjoyed most of your stay with us.

With a full hotel it can sometimes cause our wireless to be slow. I am happy to see that we are finishing a upgrade to the wireless system which will allow for a much faster connection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We asked for a quiet room when booking more than six months prior and received a room near two streets making it very noisy. Lots of noise from some of the houses near the back of the hotel, and lots of noise from people on the side street. And of course there are the trains, which you are not far from. Most hotels in Banff have this issue so be careful choosing your hotel. Parking was inconvenient and when asked about a convenience store, the staff gave directions to one many blocks from the hotel. My husband found one only a block away in the other direction on his way back.

There is no air conditioning and we did not arrive until 9pm, so our room was like a sauna. We kept the door to the room and the patio door open for 2 hours to get enough cross breeze to cool it down some. Rooms are large enough, but don't expect bedding like you would get in a Hampton, Courtyard, or Fairfield. The sheets are very thin and the pillows are hard.

Also we did not like that our room was in the "motel" part of the hotel. We went up an elevator inside, then dragged our luggage through an outside door and went around an outside corridor to get to the room.

According to the staff all of the rooms are the same. We paid $200 CA for an "updated" room so we were disappointed in the price for what we received. We traveled for 8 days in the Canadian Rockies, paid about the same throughout, and this was by far the worst of all the hotels. We actually enjoyed all of the others.

I talked with Chris, the hotel manager, and he was satisfied that none of these problems were within his control.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. The rooms look nice enough, but the noise from the streets and the trains are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfslw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi golfslw

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Our hotel is located on Banff Avenue which is the main street of Banff. It is a busy town during the summer and thus there is noise from the streets and neighbouring community. Unfortunately I cannot control the noise of people outside of the hotel.

The trains are a staple throughout the mountains and they are required to sound their horn to ensure animals are not on the tracks.

I hope you enjoyed your time in Banff National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for 2 nights august 1 to 3rd 2014. We got to the hotel and were upgraded to a bigger room for free. It was our first weekend away without kids in 10 years celebrating our anniversary/ honeymoon we never had.. We were very pleasantly pleased. This hotel was amazing the staff were fantastic the whole stay. Very helpful. The breakfast was wonderful. The hot tubs were awesome to soak in after a ling day on ur feet. This will be our go to hotel. Highly recommend the banff aspen lodge and will definatly be telling all of our friends and family. The bed was so comfy. Thank you for a wonderful stay :)

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi Jennifer

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for spreading the word!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 958 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing