We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed here for two nights in June 2014 with my husband. The hotel as a fantastic location with just a short walk from the restaurants and shops. The free onsite car park is a bonus. Although there was no air con we had a balcony room so slept with the door open - mosquito screens are fitted so no need to worry about them flying in! The room was a peculiar shape (almost triangular) but they make good use of the space. The breakfast was good although like with most buffet breakfasts it wasn't very hot but did set us up for the day. I did find it a bit strange that the juices were not freely available and you had to request a glass of juice from the staff. Certainly the first hotel where I have experienced that. On our second morning there were no staff around (presumably all in the kitchen) so I has to leave without a top up on my orange juice. A minor thing but is so easily resolved by supplying juice dispensers. We didn't try the sauna or spa area but they did look inviting. Overall a good hotel and if we were in the area again I would consider staying here again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank slwray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you for saying at the Banff Aspen Lodge.

I am glad to hear your stay with us was enjoyable.

Hopefully next time you can endulge in the Hot Tubs and saunas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,455)
There are newer reviews for Banff Aspen Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

637 - 643 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are connected outdoors.
Very nice modern rooms.
Tastefully decorated.

Continental breakfast was pretty good: scrambled eggs, fruit, bacon, sausage, etc.

Outdoor hottub is beautiful.

Only issue is internet (wifi) is very very slow.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ngc224m31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thanks you for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were greeted at Aspen Lodge to find no restaurant, no bar, no air conditioning, and a television that was outdated at the turn of the century.

That said, the staff were very attentive, particularly when we found ourselves in an emergency situation, the rooms were clean, but hot. The breakfast was varied enough to offer a good start to the day and was very substantial.

Thank you Aspen Lodge for the good things, hopefully the negatives will be worked on.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hi Joseph,

Thank you for the review.

I am sorry to hear that you expected a restaurant, bar, and air conditioning. Unfortunately we are not a full service hotel and therefore have no restaurant or bar.

However we have the Whitebark Café which offers light fare and Fantastic Coffee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here for two nights recently . Such a nice hotel. Spotless large clean comfortable beds, and a nice size bathroom with a good shower.
Breakfast was very nice with plenty of hot and cold choices. The staff were very attentive and cleared dirty dishes promptly. Good location, near the shops and bars. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grannyannie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hi GrannyAnnie,

Thanks for the great review...we hope to see you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed with a tour group. we were told all rooms had mt. views. Well they do to some extent IF you step out on the balcony and lean way out.
The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast (complimentary continental) was ok. nothing to brag about. Hotel staff was very helpful. We were told we could do laundry but there is only 1 washer and dryer so we hiked it a few blocks to the mall where there was a laundromat. Very expensive($4.00 US to wash and $ .25/3 min to dry)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinsnpines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

Like most hotels not every room gives the perfect view of the mountains. But our oversized balconies gives fantastic views as we are surrounded by beautiful landscapes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my husband. Hotel has free parking and a fantastic breakfast included. The hotel is well placed close to shops and local amenities. Staff are polite, friendly and willing to help. Our room was very big and clean. I could not fault the hotel. A number of reviews mention the rooms being warm at night we did not find this to be an issue for us. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Banff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hi Chloe,

Thanks for the Excellent review. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

June 21 to 23, 2014 - - Awesome experience. Staff friendly and helpful. Terrific at anticipating the next question. Offered options when possible. Complimentary breakfast was exceptional. Room was comfortable and clean. Location w/in four blocks of grocery store and retail center. Looking forward to our up coming stay on June 25, 2014.

Room Tip: Tell staff what your expectations are.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hi Paul,

Thank you so much for the review!

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,148 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $120 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing