We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great location, nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Banff
merseyside
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great location, nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

arrived early due to public transport, they did all they could to get us in the room earlier and placed our suitcases in secure place, very helpful. room lovely, great view and comfortable bed. close to town about a 5 min walk, would recommend hotel, very comfortable and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hot17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our customer service and am pleased that you were able to experience our mountain hospitality.

We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    558
    147
    52
    26
See reviews for
262
677
43
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great location on Banff avenue, spotless hotel with great amenities, though not evening meals which would be great I guess. Friendly, polite staff, especially Sue on reception who absolutely went out of her way to facilitate us. We stayed from 12 till 17 April.
We had an inside / outside room..... We took the elevator went outside looking down at jacuzzi / pool etc and had our room which was very big, 2 king sized beds, ensuite, extremely comfortable.
Breakfast....ll wow wow, really good service by servers and great selection. Alternative days we had grilled bacon, sausages and scrambled eggs alongside the cold buffet breakfast advertised, plus cakes. Local newspapers to hand also.

Room Tip: There may have been a fitness centre but the food was so good we didn't want to look for the fit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

As always we look forward to seeing you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I really enjoyed staying here, it's a pretty close walk to downtown so it was nice to be able to leave our car and actually walk around. The rooms were very clean, bed and pillows were surprisingly comfortable for a hotel. The staff was accommodating and friendly. Awesome outdoor pool and hot tub. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Stayed on the 3rd floor, we had a beautiful view but I would probably want to be at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kp233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to seeing you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We've stayed here twice in a Premier room and were totally satisfied both times. I don't know about the other rooms, but ours were clean and modern. The beds were so comfortable it was hard to get out of them. The two open-air hot tubs, steam room, and sauna were relaxing and truly a bonus to enjoy. The packages offered make for great value as it may include a nice dinner, or a shopping certificate, as well as get you into the Upper Hot springs. Breakfast is included and I was pleasantly surprised that there were waffles, other hot items, and meat offered in this continental breakfast.
I'm glad I discovered Aspen Lodge. I look forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: 3rd floor premium rooms are the best. Rooms with balconies facing the back are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay while in Banff National Park. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed at the hotel the last week of March with a large group. The hotel staff was very accommodating. Rooms were clean and comfortable. My only suggestion is that that breakfast start earlier so it is not such a rush to catch the first bus. I did something I've never done in all my travels, I left some personal items behind.Upon realizing it as I unpacked at home, I called the hotel and left a message for housekeeping. They called me right back and confirmed that they had my items and the front desk call me to make arrangements for shipping. I'm happy to say that the package arrived today. Thank you for your honesty and excellent service!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmspkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your group staying again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

All staff of hotel were extremely friendly, patient and accommodating to our questions and requests.
The room was spacious but a bit old with a noisy fridge and ventilation system. The mattress sagged in the center. The bathroom was tiny, drains were sluggish and the bathroom sink/counter area was small and situated in an awkward location exposed directly next to the front door. The breakfast buffet was very good (cold buffet one day; hot buffet the next day)There was daily fresh fruit, yogurt, toast, eggs, homemade muesli, porridge, muffins, etc.
The dry sauna, steam room and hot pools in the center court of hotel were clean, in tip top shape and a pleasure to use, especially from a full day of ski in the beautiful Banff Rocky Mountains.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the service at the Banff Aspen Lodge we pride ourselves on being there for our guests.

If at anytime you are not happy with your room we invite you to speak with our front desk. We have lots of options of rooms with larger bathrooms with a lot of space. Just ask our front desk and we will do our best to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at aspen for 11 nights mid March. A great little hotel, super location, very helpful polite staff. The breakfast was a real treat especially the delicious granola, mmmm. The staff at reception were so helpful which was extremely useful as the crystal reps supposed to be on hand to help were useless, BIG THANKYOU to all. The hot tubs and steam room were just the tonic after long walks and days on the slopes. The guys and girls in the breakfast room work tirelessly and always had great big smiles to greet you each morning. My Banff trip was magical and the aspen contributed to this. THANK YOU, hope to see you again in the summer 2015.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buffy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank You!

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our customer service. I will be sure to mention your comments to our staff.

We look forward to seeing you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing