We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very pleasant and affordable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and affordable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Booked a premium room with 2 queen beds....room was spot on...new furniture..clean sheets..comfortable beds...the hot pools are just great and we and kids really enjoyed them...breakfast was not wow but good enough to give you a healthy start for the day..nice location on banff ave...it's a 10min walk to shops...as for price this hotel is great value for money....we extremely enjoyed our stay and look forward to our next stay....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi Adham,
I am thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We do strive to offer great accommodations and amenities for a good price point; I am pleased that your experience reflected this. We hope you come visit us in Banff again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    528
    139
    51
    25
See reviews for
248
637
40
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Front staff very friendly and helpful.Breakfast is wonderful.Room is comfortable and very clean.
That really make our trip relaxing. Thanks to the management for having the best staff working there.
Albert & Eva

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

My wife and 2 others stayed here in July 2013, my wife and I having stayed the previous Christmas and been very impressed then. This hotel is a solid, no-fuss place on the main street close to the restaurants and shops. In cold weather the outdoor spa area is very enticing, and hot cider is offered in the lobby. The rooms we had were clean and quiet. The staff at the front desk are friendly and knowledgeable about the town. Recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a room on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. The room was nicely appointed, very modern looking, as was the bathroom. There was a strange ramp down to the bedroom as you enter which we stumbled up/down a few times during our stay. There is a large heated pool and spa as well as a sauna, steam room and showers. Plenty of fresh towels available. Try to use the facilities - they're great! Might get busy in peak season but was quiet when we stayed.

We walked into town every day to shop and again at night time for dinner. Great location. Front desk staff were friendly as were the breakfast staff. Breakfast itself was good, plenty of fresh fruit, muesli cereals and yoghurt as well as different baked pastries/muffins every day.

Really enjoyed our stay and would recommened.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JodeCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy that you got to enjoy our outdoor hot tubs and all the other amenities. We hope to have you come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

I booked a ski and stay package at Banff Aspen Lodge in December 2013. Checking In they upgraded us to a bigger room which was awesome- one king bed and two single beds for the two of us. They explained everything very well at check-in including the hours and location of the free breakfast (good, great service) and the underground parking (small).

The room was great, everything looked upgraded and nice sheets on the beds. Bathroom was clean and separate from the sinks which was awesome.

Best perk was the outdoor hottubs in the center of the hotel. Our room overlooked these.

Overall, good value, good location (walking distance to everything), helpful staff. Only thing missing was a lounge :(

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank charlene r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The Banff Aspen Lodge has a great location, only a few minutes walk from the busy section of Banff Ave. On arrival the staff were very helpful and friendly, giving advise on how to find things. The room was great, spacious and well appointed. Housekeeping do an excellent job and the room was kept very clean throughout our stay. Breakfast is also great, a large selection of items and bacon, eggs etc every other day. We were skiing, the ski locker is large with plenty of space and the hotel provide locks to secure your kit. Ski bus stops very close by. A coffee shop has just opened in reception which offers a further range of coffee and snacks. Overall I'd definitely stay again and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I have stayed here numerous times and each time it's been great. The outdoor hot tub is a great spot to unwind and the rooms are updated and clean. The front desk has been helpful whenever we've needed it and the included breakfast is just perfect. Nothing exciting but more than adequate. For an expensive town, Aspen Lodge is terrific value and I'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keen_Traveller071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,935 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing