We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel with some luxury touches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great hotel with some luxury touches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a room on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. The room was nicely appointed, very modern looking, as was the bathroom. There was a strange ramp down to the bedroom as you enter which we stumbled up/down a few times during our stay. There is a large heated pool and spa as well as a sauna, steam room and showers. Plenty of fresh towels available. Try to use the facilities - they're great! Might get busy in peak season but was quiet when we stayed.

We walked into town every day to shop and again at night time for dinner. Great location. Front desk staff were friendly as were the breakfast staff. Breakfast itself was good, plenty of fresh fruit, muesli cereals and yoghurt as well as different baked pastries/muffins every day.

Really enjoyed our stay and would recommened.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JodeCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy that you got to enjoy our outdoor hot tubs and all the other amenities. We hope to have you come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    528
    139
    51
    25
See reviews for
247
637
40
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

I booked a ski and stay package at Banff Aspen Lodge in December 2013. Checking In they upgraded us to a bigger room which was awesome- one king bed and two single beds for the two of us. They explained everything very well at check-in including the hours and location of the free breakfast (good, great service) and the underground parking (small).

The room was great, everything looked upgraded and nice sheets on the beds. Bathroom was clean and separate from the sinks which was awesome.

Best perk was the outdoor hottubs in the center of the hotel. Our room overlooked these.

Overall, good value, good location (walking distance to everything), helpful staff. Only thing missing was a lounge :(

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank charlene r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The Banff Aspen Lodge has a great location, only a few minutes walk from the busy section of Banff Ave. On arrival the staff were very helpful and friendly, giving advise on how to find things. The room was great, spacious and well appointed. Housekeeping do an excellent job and the room was kept very clean throughout our stay. Breakfast is also great, a large selection of items and bacon, eggs etc every other day. We were skiing, the ski locker is large with plenty of space and the hotel provide locks to secure your kit. Ski bus stops very close by. A coffee shop has just opened in reception which offers a further range of coffee and snacks. Overall I'd definitely stay again and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I have stayed here numerous times and each time it's been great. The outdoor hot tub is a great spot to unwind and the rooms are updated and clean. The front desk has been helpful whenever we've needed it and the included breakfast is just perfect. Nothing exciting but more than adequate. For an expensive town, Aspen Lodge is terrific value and I'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keen_Traveller071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We got this hotel on a mid-week deal. We stay in Banff a lot so we were a bit timid to stray from our usual hotels. We were pleasantly surprised with our room. We had great in room beverage choices and the bedding was comfortable. The room was clean and very quiet. We loved the outdoor hot tubs. They were piping hot and never overcrowded. We didnt want to drive back to Calgary on our check out date due to Blizzard. The staff were very accommodating giving us a late check out to decide if we wanted to stay another night. Thanks and will be a returning guest!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDS686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel was everything we were looking for for our weekend escape to Banff. The first thing I noticed was that everything looked exactly the same as the photos online.
We were looking for an inexpensive room with a few perks for two nights in Banff. We don't ski and were looking to simply relax.
The staff are very polite.
Room was spotless.
Obvious recent upgrades.
Hot tubs, steam rooms and sauna were always spotless and stocked full of towels.
Free breakfast was delicious - not your typical bread and waffles. A great selection of breads, loaves, boiled eggs, meats and cheeses.
Location was perfect - short walk to downtown
Bathroom had separate area with double sinks - any one who travels with their significant other knows this is a great bonus!
We received an upgrade to a Premium King room with two single beds in a separate room - this would have been perfect for a group of friends or a family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BearAndBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed at this Banff hotel recently and found it to be passable but not impressive. The rooms are minimally stocked and don't provide modern features such as ipod docks or newer televisions. The air quality, for some reason is very dry and stale in the rooms, and it also got chilly at night. The bathroom in the 'Premium' room was extremely tiny with a showerhead which was far past due for replacement. My past few stays in Banff, I've noticed that the hotels closer to town-center get quite a bit of party riff raff late at night. If you want a peaceful night sleep - it may be better to book further out from pub/club area. Towards the Tunnel mountain area is nicer. We had noise and partiers in the room next to ours until 4:30 am - and that was a weeknight! I will certainly book elsewhere next time i stay over in a Banff hotel.

Room Tip: The staff were nice gals but the property needs some attention.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing