We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay and good value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good stay and good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here during American Columbus Day weekend / Canadian Thanksgiving weekend. Due to the holiday, the hotel was packed with visitors and I believe was full one of the nights we were there (including bus loads of tourists from abroad).

Overall, it was a good stay. Front desk service was nice and helpful. There's a house phone in the lobby (as we didn't want to rack up international calling minutes on our cell phones) to make dinner reservations. We had a superior room with 1 queen bed. The room was average size -- smaller than the rooms with 2 beds (which we saw as we walked by when housekeeping was cleaning them). Our room was clean. There was a strong effort to be environmentally conscious, so we did not have our towels replaced daily (I believe they can be if you request it). Good free wifi in the room.

We did not bring our swim suits, but we saw many guests taking advantage of the heated pool and hot tub during our rather chilly stay.

The hotel parking lot was quite full during our stay, and even still, it's a very narrow lot (both the indoor and outdoor options). We chose instead to park on the street adjacent to the hotel during our stay -- there was ample street parking and we're city-dwellers so used to parallel parking. This could however be an issue for others.

The included continental breakfast was nice -- great selection of breads, cakes, local Valbella ham, cheese, hardboiled eggs, cereals, granola, and oatmeal. There was one home made cake/muffin option each day -- the chocolate chip banana bread was amazing, as were the hot-out-of-the-oven blueberry muffins. Breakfast is from 7-10am, but if you're staying on a weekend when the hotel is relatively full, try to get there by 9am as there was a line for a table at breakfast by around 9:30am. The breakfast servers were really friendly.

The location was great - we walked into town for dinner all 3 nights we stayed there. It was a short 5-10 minute walk to the heart of restaurants downtown, though a bit chilly to walk back in the dark. I highly recommend The Bison; we sat at the bar for dinner as we did not have a reservation but made friends with the very friendly/helpful bartender.

We had a room on the second floor towards the back of the hotel -- we liked this location as we did not face the interior atrium where the hot tubs were and thus did not have to deal with noise from guests in the hot tub in the evenings.

I'd stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor towards the back of the hotel -- we liked this location as we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluepig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and in Banff National Park. I too recommend the Bison Restaurant; it is a fabulous dining option in Banff!
Sincerely
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    515
    137
    48
    25
See reviews for
241
620
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is awesome!
Recently went to Banff on the Thanksgiving weekend .
The staff were nice, the rooms were comfortable, even the wifi connection is good.
Over-all this place is great. The location from the springs is a good one too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiechiemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

we wanted to try a different hotel this time in banff and the online pictures made this hotel look gorgeous. when we were here in the summer they were doing renos on this hotel so we thought it would be really good. we wanted to make sure that we got a large room with one king bed so we called to request a one bed room. on the phone they told us we didnt need to and that we could just request it online. So we did that. When we got to the hotel we were put on the first floor... with two beds and no air conditioning. Yes it is October however it was really stuffy and hot in there. We asked if we could switch rooms and they told us they could give us a fan or a room with a balcony so we could open the door. When we asked if we could just get some or all of our money back they said no. We had to pay the full $175 for a room we spent about 15 minutes in. The staff was not helpful at all and they were very rude to us. I'm sure if we were older than 18/19 they would have treated us with more respect and that isn't acceptable.

Room Tip: anything on the 2nd floor or higher. or the outside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emzz650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you feel that the hotel did not take your comments seriously due to your age; please know that this is not the case. As our Front Office Manager explained to you the next day, our policies and procedures are in place for all guests, regardless of their age.
Guestroom requests are noted and we do our best to accommodate them; unfortunately they are never guaranteed. The hotel only has three rooms with king beds and as they were not available, we did give you a room with two queen beds. As well, the hotel has a 48 hour cancellation policy and you did agree to this policy when reserving your room. This is a strict policy that cannot be waived and is in-place for all guests.
I am happy that you were able to speak with our Front Office Manager and she was able to explain the above points to you. Hope you enjoyed your time in Banff~
Sincerely.
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Overall a decent choice, cannot beat the location if you want to walk to just about anywhere in town. Was in Banff for a wedding, and was even able to walk back to hotel from the Banff Springs Hotel in less than 30 minutes. Stayed two different times with a short break away from the area. The first room was huge , but even with the heat turned off, the room was very warm - to the point where you had to leave the patio door open a bit which also allowed street noise to be heard. Our second room was on the back side of the hotel, overlooking the parking lot, and we heard no vehicle traffic whatsoever.
Front desk staff was always polite, and the breakfast area was clean and the breakfast itself was basic but good.
Wi Fi connection was excellent in the rooms.
The only complaint was the first night there was absolutely no parking available in their lot, and we had to park on a side street one block away, but had no problems doing so.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms fronting Moose Street if possible - lots of buses seem to use this street early in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blindbumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your time at the hotel. I’m glad you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s central location; the walk to the Banff Springs is amazing if you choose to walk along the Bow River!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

staff were very nice, friendly and very accommodating!. nice and clean hotel! i could not ask for more :) Walking distance to downtown. Great location and easy access to restaurants and stores. Rooms are nice and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aleck_amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
I’m happy that you enjoyed your time at the Banff Aspen Lodge! Look forward to seeing you on your next Banff holiday!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Excellent services by the staff. We had a good sleep as place is comfortable and clean. We had our breakfast here and the food is just good. The location is just near the main street so you can walk around the town if you want.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xXxHoNeYxXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Quite a spacious room for 4 adults, bedrooms separated by 2 sinks, 1 king size and 2 single beds, a good layout. Beds comfy, good shower both clean. The continental breakfast was adequate and hotel in a good location. No air con but excellent internet connection.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank decaugnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing