We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“excellent hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

staff were very nice, friendly and very accommodating!. nice and clean hotel! i could not ask for more :) Walking distance to downtown. Great location and easy access to restaurants and stores. Rooms are nice and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aleck_amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
I’m happy that you enjoyed your time at the Banff Aspen Lodge! Look forward to seeing you on your next Banff holiday!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    536
    141
    52
    26
See reviews for
254
649
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Excellent services by the staff. We had a good sleep as place is comfortable and clean. We had our breakfast here and the food is just good. The location is just near the main street so you can walk around the town if you want.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xXxHoNeYxXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Quite a spacious room for 4 adults, bedrooms separated by 2 sinks, 1 king size and 2 single beds, a good layout. Beds comfy, good shower both clean. The continental breakfast was adequate and hotel in a good location. No air con but excellent internet connection.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank decaugnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in September. The location was good and staff friendly.

We had been warned that the rooms on the main street side can be noisy so requested a quiet room. The room was got was a on the corner so it was still quite noisy from the street. However, this was not the main issue. The housekeeping store room was right next door. We were travelling with an infant who was still struggling with jet lag so were not really wanting to be up too early if our baby was sleeping. The staff had loud conversations right outside our door. The hotel management would do well to remind them that the rooms are not soundproof.

The hotel is hot so you need to open the door to cool down the rooms. This does not assist with keeping the room quiet. The seals on the doors let a significant amount of light into the room. This could be easily fixed. The rooms are tight for space. Once our playpen was set up, there was not much room left. I think the fact that we were in a corner room contributed to this as it was an odd triangle shape. It is possible that the other rooms are larger.

The good things about the hotel are the reception staff (very friendly and helpful with recommendations, directions etc), the location (walking distance from everything) and the breakfast. Despite what other people have said, we thought it was more than adequate. The staff in the breakfast room were also very good. The hot tubs are also very nice.

We would probably try somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Try for a quiet room away from the main street and housekeeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that the staff speaking outside of your room disturbed you during your stay; your comments have been passed onto our Housekeeping Manager who will review with her team to ensure this doesn’t happen again. You stayed in our mid-sized room (Superior Room – 239 square feet). If a larger guestroom is desired, I would recommend reserving our Premium Room (289 – 336 square feet).
I am glad that the hotel’s Front Desk staff were able to assist you during your stay and that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Rooms very clean, comfortable beds
Front desk Staff exceptional went out of the way to make sure all concerns and questions delt with quickly. Also good knowledge of restauants. Very helpfull and pleasant

Great location for easy walking access to downtown restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms better view ,could become a little noisy in summer but in cool weather an easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denniscolleenolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is located in the main street of town and you can walk around most of the time. The 2 spaces room is comfortable. I´ve read many complaints about the breakfast but, for me, it was good enough. I had more than I usually have at home for breakfast (latin habits). Would undoubtedly stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadiaMontagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for posting your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance to all the shops downtown and has a nice view of the mountains (although almost any hotel in Banff is going to have a view of the mountains). Our room was on the second floor and it was small but adequate and very clean. Check in personnel were very nice and all went smooth. I've read reviews on here that the breakfast room was small and the breakfast inadequate but I was pleased with the breakfast. The breakfast room is in the basement and it's smaller than a restaurant but bigger than the breakfast areas you find in hotel chains. They had cereals, oatmeal, yogurt, granola, fruit, ham and cheese, breads/muffins, and hard boiled eggs. The one issue that will keep me from going back is the warmth of the room. I read on here that the rooms were hot but we thought since we were going in October and the highs were in the 50's and low's in the 30's that we would be fine but our room was still hot. We had the heat off, the window and door open and we still couldn't get that room cooled down. When we ask about it at check out the girl couldn't explain why that was happening. We like a cool room to sleep and that it the only reason that we won't go back. Everything else was very nice.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back, ours was in front along the street and it was noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vignoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I’m glad that you enjoyed your time at the Banff Aspen Lodge. Should any of our guests have an issue with their guestroom, we ask that you call the Front Desk right away and not wait until checkout to report the problem. This way we can send the appropriate person to take a look and find a solution during your stay so that you enjoy the rest of your time at the hotel. I’m happy that you were pleased with our complimentary continental breakfast and I do hope you will come and stay with us again on your next Banff getaway!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,968 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing