We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
$430
$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$258
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$273
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
$281
$265
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rimrock Resort Hotel(Banff)
$414
$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$198
$192
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Inn(Banff)(Great Value!)
$231
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$566
$517
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,671)
Filter reviews
1,671 results
Traveler rating
665
712
192
66
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
665
712
192
66
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranolahot tubpremium roombreakfast staffbreakfast was includedbreakfast roomthe main streetshops and restaurantstwo sinksthird floorsteam roomstreet noiseboiled eggswould definitely stay here againunderground parkingstayed here for nightsmini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
920 - 925 of 1,671 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is located in the main street of town and you can walk around most of the time. The 2 spaces room is comfortable. I´ve read many complaints about the breakfast but, for me, it was good enough. I had more than I usually have at home for breakfast (latin habits). Would undoubtedly stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NadiaMontagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for posting your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance to all the shops downtown and has a nice view of the mountains (although almost any hotel in Banff is going to have a view of the mountains). Our room was on the second floor and it was small but adequate and very clean. Check in personnel were very nice and all went smooth. I've read reviews on here that the breakfast room was small and the breakfast inadequate but I was pleased with the breakfast. The breakfast room is in the basement and it's smaller than a restaurant but bigger than the breakfast areas you find in hotel chains. They had cereals, oatmeal, yogurt, granola, fruit, ham and cheese, breads/muffins, and hard boiled eggs. The one issue that will keep me from going back is the warmth of the room. I read on here that the rooms were hot but we thought since we were going in October and the highs were in the 50's and low's in the 30's that we would be fine but our room was still hot. We had the heat off, the window and door open and we still couldn't get that room cooled down. When we ask about it at check out the girl couldn't explain why that was happening. We like a cool room to sleep and that it the only reason that we won't go back. Everything else was very nice.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back, ours was in front along the street and it was noisy at night.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vignoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and I’m glad that you enjoyed your time at the Banff Aspen Lodge. Should any of our guests have an issue with their guestroom, we ask that you call the Front Desk right away and not wait until checkout to report the problem. This way we can send the appropriate person to take a look and find a solution during your stay so that you enjoy the rest of your time at the hotel. I’m happy that you were pleased with our complimentary continental breakfast and I do hope you will come and stay with us again on your next Banff getaway!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here twice on a road trip we were on, once going to our destination, the other, for 2 nights, returning. Going we stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, really liked it, one bedroom by the door, the smaller one, and the larger one with a terrace next to the 'main drag'. We each had our vanity/sink, on opposite sides of each other. On our return we got the suite with one bedroom and a 'living' area, much prefer the 2 bedroom suite as in the latter the bedroom is quite small with little room to move in it, and your bedroom door opens up to the walkway so you better not be in your 'skivvies' when the door opens! Everything was clean and tidy and somewhat newly renovated. The only 'complaint' with the room is that they still have the old model TV's in them.....NO FLATSCREEN......and these TV's are OLD. The breakfast is very nice, good assortment, fresh, nice juices and fruit bowl. JUST GET THERE BEFORE THE FOLKS ON THE BUS TOURS DO! (or you will be in line for awhile). Don't let the brusqueness of 'The Boss' upset you....he's OK. Overall, a very reasonable place to stay as we found the value there compared to what others have shared for what they paid. Was a bit surprised with the 'training' staff on the desk at various times. I visit a few hotels in my travels and meet allot of young people from other countries that are in hotel management training/exchange, and most are very pleasant. this was a bit lacking during our stays, and I suspect it has to do with the training and standards at this lodge....a bit disappointing. Owners could ay closer attention to this area as it does affects the outcome of one's stay. There seemed to be a lack of urgency with most circumstance, with us and others that I noticed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomashardy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for your review. The hotel does have a variety of Premium Rooms available; the ones that have two rooms separated by the washroom are our ‘divided’ rooms. Guests just need to put in their request at time of booking and we’ll do our best to ensure all requests are met! The hotel has high customer service standards for all staff and I apologize that you did not experience this with our Front Desk. I have passed your comments onto the Front Office Manager to review with her team, as the service you described is not how our staff are trained. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you on your next trip to Banff~
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel room was large, clean and very quiet. The hotel staff friendly and helpful. There is a lovely lounge off the foyer and a new cafe opening soon. The continental breakfast had a large variety to choose from, all foods fresh. Restaurants and shops are only a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your Banff Aspen Lodge story! I’m happy that you enjoyed our central location, friendly staff, clean guestrooms and complimentary continental breakfast.
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The room was big and clean, the continental breakfast was good and with fresh food. The location is great, it's just a 5 min walk within banff shops and restaurants. By the way we also liked the Ticino restaurant that is in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraV1316ST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews