We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful staff very average rooms.”
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We are booked for 3 nights. On arrival we found that we had to go up 3 floors then hike along an outside balcony to get to our room. Reception staff did not mention this. Finally found the room and the key card didn't work so had to traipse all the way back to recetption. Tea bags provided in the room and a kettle but no milk. On asking reception we were firmly told that we had to use the coffee whitener powder as milk was only available at breakfast. Laundry does not open until 9am - we don't want to waste half the day waiting for washing! Not impressed. Also Internet access is ridiculously slow and can't handle video to make a FaceTime call.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDawz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. The hotel has signs posted on each floor to direct guests to their guestroom, as well a map of the hotel is provided on the back of our Key Card Package with specific room location details. Unfortunately Canada does not have UHF milk so we are unable to keep ‘real’ milk in our guestrooms. We should keep some at our Front Desk though and this is a great suggestion; thank you! I will speak with our Front Office Manager to get this organized. Our Laundry Room is open from 9am – 9pm daily; we do not open it earlier so that other guests staying in rooms near-by are not disturbed.
I hope you enjoyed your time in Banff National Park~
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,453)
There are newer reviews for Banff Aspen Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of an escorted tour of the Canadian Rockies sponsored by America by Rail. Our bus driver had a difficult time finding the hotel since there are MANY in Banff. The facility was clean, staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast (included) was exceptional. It included eggs, ham, fruit, sweet breads, beverage served at your table. When we arrived in the eating area, we were seated by staff at our table. Hotels in this ski area do not usually have pools, but the hot tub was located below our 2nd floor room on the lower level and actually had 2 hot tubs, 1 larger than the other which fronted a fireplace. There are many, many things to do in Banff, most are walking distance. We visited two museums and the Banff Art center which usually has some free event each evening during the summer.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the hot tub below.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calligal14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you for sharing your Banff Aspen Lodge experience! I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel’s deluxe continental breakfast, outdoor hot tubs with fireplace and central location. There are a lot of diverse activities in Banff and it is awesome that you were able to take advantage of this~
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in Sept 13 and loved it. We had room 228 on second floor overlooking heated pool and spa - both lovely spots for some romantic relaxation (as long as you are ok with other guests looking on as they walk by!). Our room was a good size with 2 queen beds and a separate table and TV/draw unit - plenty of space to spread out a bit. It was not dirty but wasn't spotless either - maybe a function of the option guests have to not have their rooms serviced while they stay and instead a donation is made to charity (we opted for this). Breakfast is served on the lower level and is basic but adequate - oats, cereals, yogurt, fruits salad, bread, boiled eggs, ham & cheese etc. With free wifi and underground car parking and just a short stroll in to town we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to others looking for a base to explore Banff from for 2 or 3 days.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canberrafella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about the Banff Aspen Lodge. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay; including our central location. As a 2013 Alberta Hotel & Lodging Association Housekeeping Award Winner, I was very surprised to read your comments about the cleanliness level of your guestroom. I have passed your review onto our Housekeeping Manager to address with her team, as our standards ensure that all guestrooms are to be spotless at check-in.
Thanks again~
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 nights stay at the Aspen Lodge. The beds are very comfortable, the rooms clean and the staff very helpful. Would particularly like to mention one of the reception desk staff, we think is 'Sue', always very kind, cheerful and could not do enough to help with the smallest things. Within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants, only small downside was the breakfast room is small and always busy, which means you may have to wait for a table to clear. We also found a great burger bar at Eddie's Burger Bar and a very good cooked breakfast at Mellisa's Missteak at 218 Lynx Street.

Room Tip: A room at the back was nice and quiet
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Banff Aspen Lodge for three nights in September. We found this hotel to be very clean and our room was very cozy. It is located minutes from the shopping area and you can easily walk to all the shops and restaurants. They serve a delicious free breakfast with hot and cold choices. This lodge is in a great location for sight seeing and hiking. We were able to take a hike right from the lodge up to the mountain that was a few blocks away. We also went on a very long hike and were very appreciative to sit in the beautiful hot tub after the hike, even though we're not hot tub people. It was so relaxing! One of the nice perks of a this lodge was that the staff at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. One of the men working the desk in the evening would ask us how our day was when we returned from our days adventures and we would chat about what we did. He seemed interested in listening and took the time to ask. There's something to be said about the personal treatment you get in a smaller establishment! We would recommend this to everyone and surely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 37Traveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Location, location, location; this is the main attribute for this motel. Overall, we had a good stay.

Pros: within walking distance of all the downtown restaurants, pubs and shopping. A lovely breakfast room, comfortable, attractive with good food and very attentive service. The room on the second floor was large, with two separate sinks, a king bed and two twin beds in the other room. A large balcony with a beautiful view of the mountains. On site and underground parking available. Very nice hot tubs, sauna and steam rooms.

Cons: no air conditioning and a "snore" sounding refrigerator.

Bottom line, as long as the temperature is forecast to be 60 F or below, we will be back.

Room Tip: Request the larger room on the side street and on the 2nd or 3rd floors.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Some great stuff...the location, the friendliness of the front desk, the cleanliness, the attractive hot pools. Perhaps we were unlucky with Room 122...but that's where we stayed, so that's all I know:(. On the ground floor and super hot in room though it was cool outside and the heat was off. Didn't feel comfortable leaving the patio door open at night as it went out to the street. Sigh...and...probably in the kitchen of the next door hotel, the music was quietly playing till after 1 am...but loud enough for us to not be able to sleep:(. Then, at breakfast, the man who was bringing coffee, tea to tables was super rude to me when I asked where water was located at the buffet...never did get it:(. Three strikes. Cancelled my reservation for 2 weeks from now. Too many negatives..too many better options in this fun town!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Joan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I apologize that your stay at the Banff Aspen Lodge was not what was expected. Our patio doors can be left open securely as the screen doors can be locked from the inside. I wish you had contacted our Front Desk in regards to your concerns about noise and security and we would have done our best to ensure you had a restful sleep. I have passed your review onto our Breakfast Room Manager to review with this team, as the service you received is not how our staff is trained. We will use your experience as a learning tool to ensure this doesn’t happen in the future. I would love to have you come back and stay with us again and try a different room type; please send me an email directly at sales@banffaspenlodge.com.
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,074 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $119 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing