We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,713)
Filter reviews
1,713 results
Traveler rating
685
724
201
67
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
685
724
201
67
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranolahot tubeconomy roompremium roombreakfast staffbreakfast was includedbreakfast roomthe main streetshops and restaurantstwo sinksthird floorsteam roomstreet noisewould definitely stay here againunderground parkingwithin easy walking distancestayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
964 - 969 of 1,713 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in Sept 13 and loved it. We had room 228 on second floor overlooking heated pool and spa - both lovely spots for some romantic relaxation (as long as you are ok with other guests looking on as they walk by!). Our room was a good size with 2 queen beds and a separate table and TV/draw unit - plenty of space to spread out a bit. It was not dirty but wasn't spotless either - maybe a function of the option guests have to not have their rooms serviced while they stay and instead a donation is made to charity (we opted for this). Breakfast is served on the lower level and is basic but adequate - oats, cereals, yogurt, fruits salad, bread, boiled eggs, ham & cheese etc. With free wifi and underground car parking and just a short stroll in to town we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to others looking for a base to explore Banff from for 2 or 3 days.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canberrafella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about the Banff Aspen Lodge. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay; including our central location. As a 2013 Alberta Hotel & Lodging Association Housekeeping Award Winner, I was very surprised to read your comments about the cleanliness level of your guestroom. I have passed your review onto our Housekeeping Manager to address with her team, as our standards ensure that all guestrooms are to be spotless at check-in.
Thanks again~
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 nights stay at the Aspen Lodge. The beds are very comfortable, the rooms clean and the staff very helpful. Would particularly like to mention one of the reception desk staff, we think is 'Sue', always very kind, cheerful and could not do enough to help with the smallest things. Within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants, only small downside was the breakfast room is small and always busy, which means you may have to wait for a table to clear. We also found a great burger bar at Eddie's Burger Bar and a very good cooked breakfast at Mellisa's Missteak at 218 Lynx Street.

Room Tip: A room at the back was nice and quiet
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Banff Aspen Lodge for three nights in September. We found this hotel to be very clean and our room was very cozy. It is located minutes from the shopping area and you can easily walk to all the shops and restaurants. They serve a delicious free breakfast with hot and cold choices. This lodge is in a great location for sight seeing and hiking. We were able to take a hike right from the lodge up to the mountain that was a few blocks away. We also went on a very long hike and were very appreciative to sit in the beautiful hot tub after the hike, even though we're not hot tub people. It was so relaxing! One of the nice perks of a this lodge was that the staff at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. One of the men working the desk in the evening would ask us how our day was when we returned from our days adventures and we would chat about what we did. He seemed interested in listening and took the time to ask. There's something to be said about the personal treatment you get in a smaller establishment! We would recommend this to everyone and surely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 37Traveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Location, location, location; this is the main attribute for this motel. Overall, we had a good stay.

Pros: within walking distance of all the downtown restaurants, pubs and shopping. A lovely breakfast room, comfortable, attractive with good food and very attentive service. The room on the second floor was large, with two separate sinks, a king bed and two twin beds in the other room. A large balcony with a beautiful view of the mountains. On site and underground parking available. Very nice hot tubs, sauna and steam rooms.

Cons: no air conditioning and a "snore" sounding refrigerator.

Bottom line, as long as the temperature is forecast to be 60 F or below, we will be back.

Room Tip: Request the larger room on the side street and on the 2nd or 3rd floors.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Some great stuff...the location, the friendliness of the front desk, the cleanliness, the attractive hot pools. Perhaps we were unlucky with Room 122...but that's where we stayed, so that's all I know:(. On the ground floor and super hot in room though it was cool outside and the heat was off. Didn't feel comfortable leaving the patio door open at night as it went out to the street. Sigh...and...probably in the kitchen of the next door hotel, the music was quietly playing till after 1 am...but loud enough for us to not be able to sleep:(. Then, at breakfast, the man who was bringing coffee, tea to tables was super rude to me when I asked where water was located at the buffet...never did get it:(. Three strikes. Cancelled my reservation for 2 weeks from now. Too many negatives..too many better options in this fun town!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Joan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I apologize that your stay at the Banff Aspen Lodge was not what was expected. Our patio doors can be left open securely as the screen doors can be locked from the inside. I wish you had contacted our Front Desk in regards to your concerns about noise and security and we would have done our best to ensure you had a restful sleep. I have passed your review onto our Breakfast Room Manager to review with this team, as the service you received is not how our staff is trained. We will use your experience as a learning tool to ensure this doesn’t happen in the future. I would love to have you come back and stay with us again and try a different room type; please send me an email directly at sales@banffaspenlodge.com.
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews