We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Banff Inn(Banff)(Great Value!)
$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$344
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
$574
$496
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$307
$267
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
$360
$278
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
$223
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$405
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$575
$480
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,671)
Filter reviews
1,671 results
Traveler rating
665
712
192
66
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
665
712
192
66
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranolahot tubeconomy roompremium roombreakfast staffbreakfast was includedbreakfast roomthe main streetshops and restaurantstwo sinksthird floorsteam roomstreet noiseboiled eggswould definitely stay here againunderground parkingstayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
934 - 939 of 1,671 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Banff Aspen Lodge for three nights in September. We found this hotel to be very clean and our room was very cozy. It is located minutes from the shopping area and you can easily walk to all the shops and restaurants. They serve a delicious free breakfast with hot and cold choices. This lodge is in a great location for sight seeing and hiking. We were able to take a hike right from the lodge up to the mountain that was a few blocks away. We also went on a very long hike and were very appreciative to sit in the beautiful hot tub after the hike, even though we're not hot tub people. It was so relaxing! One of the nice perks of a this lodge was that the staff at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. One of the men working the desk in the evening would ask us how our day was when we returned from our days adventures and we would chat about what we did. He seemed interested in listening and took the time to ask. There's something to be said about the personal treatment you get in a smaller establishment! We would recommend this to everyone and surely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 37Traveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Location, location, location; this is the main attribute for this motel. Overall, we had a good stay.

Pros: within walking distance of all the downtown restaurants, pubs and shopping. A lovely breakfast room, comfortable, attractive with good food and very attentive service. The room on the second floor was large, with two separate sinks, a king bed and two twin beds in the other room. A large balcony with a beautiful view of the mountains. On site and underground parking available. Very nice hot tubs, sauna and steam rooms.

Cons: no air conditioning and a "snore" sounding refrigerator.

Bottom line, as long as the temperature is forecast to be 60 F or below, we will be back.

Room Tip: Request the larger room on the side street and on the 2nd or 3rd floors.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Some great stuff...the location, the friendliness of the front desk, the cleanliness, the attractive hot pools. Perhaps we were unlucky with Room 122...but that's where we stayed, so that's all I know:(. On the ground floor and super hot in room though it was cool outside and the heat was off. Didn't feel comfortable leaving the patio door open at night as it went out to the street. Sigh...and...probably in the kitchen of the next door hotel, the music was quietly playing till after 1 am...but loud enough for us to not be able to sleep:(. Then, at breakfast, the man who was bringing coffee, tea to tables was super rude to me when I asked where water was located at the buffet...never did get it:(. Three strikes. Cancelled my reservation for 2 weeks from now. Too many negatives..too many better options in this fun town!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Joan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I apologize that your stay at the Banff Aspen Lodge was not what was expected. Our patio doors can be left open securely as the screen doors can be locked from the inside. I wish you had contacted our Front Desk in regards to your concerns about noise and security and we would have done our best to ensure you had a restful sleep. I have passed your review onto our Breakfast Room Manager to review with this team, as the service you received is not how our staff is trained. We will use your experience as a learning tool to ensure this doesn’t happen in the future. I would love to have you come back and stay with us again and try a different room type; please send me an email directly at sales@banffaspenlodge.com.
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

From the small touches like a corkscrew to the friendly knowledgeable staff, this hotel was definitely worth staying. Secure underground parking, well appointed rooms, and good selection of food in a boutique basement breakfast room (including yummy homemade granola).

The only suggestion I would make is for a hotel billing itself as an Eco hotel, they would throw away less plastic if they had one jug of cream at the breakfast bar instead of three 2%s and a bowl of tiny creamer pots. Then those of us who actually like full fat in our coffee and on our cereal would have the option and not feel guilty or avoid using loads of plastic pots. Just saying.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RavenSSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for sharing your Banff Aspen Lodge experience; we appreciate your feedback! I have passed your review onto our Breakfast Room and they will look into having one jug of cream available on the buffet table instead of using the individualized creamers.
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions recently. Breakfast good, service was very good and helpful. We were there in summer on warm nights so would have been perfect with air conditioning as leaving the window open proved noisy from the trains that passed through Banff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews