We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,811)
Filter reviews
1,812 results
Traveler rating
741
756
212
67
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
741
756
212
67
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews granola hot tub economy room premium room breakfast was included breakfast staff breakfast room the main street two sinks shops and restaurants the ground floor street noise steam room underground parking ski trip ski bus mini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
1,063 - 1,068 of 1,812 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions recently. Breakfast good, service was very good and helpful. We were there in summer on warm nights so would have been perfect with air conditioning as leaving the window open proved noisy from the trains that passed through Banff.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I went to Banff for the first time and stayed at the Aspen Lodge. Its a great place to stay because the staff is friendly, its really confortable, clean and really close to all the restaurants and stores (about 7 minutes walking). The hotel offers breakfast with a good variety of food and drinks. The hotel also offers free parking.

Date of stay: September 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Luis Felipe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for sharing your Banff Aspen Lodge story! I am happy that you enjoyed the hotel’s complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and parking, central location and friendly staff. Hope to see you again soon~
Sincerely,
Christy - Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel reminded me so much of the little French hotels I have stayed at, in France! The rooms are very compact, barely enough space to move around. The parking is impossible to find, we drove around for 1 hour to find a parking spot on the main road! The breakfast is "oh sooooo French" complete with boiled eggs! And of course, there is no AC, but you have a fan to cool yourself with...... :( Yes, I bet the architect of this hotel must have come from Quebec/Montreal or directly from France.......... but the girl at the front desk, Teresa, was German, believe-it-or-not, so she was very efficient, helped us to discover Banff, and definitely deserves praise for doing a good job! The house-cleaning staff completely missed our room, and "forgot" to clean it..... Ahem..... not exactly impressive!!!

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shrekified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for the feedback. I believe you stayed in our Premium Room which ranges from 289 – 336 square feet. If you require more space there are properties in town that have condominiums and this could be a better option for you. I apologize that your room was not serviced by Housekeeping; please be assured that this would not have been done on-purpose. I have passed your review onto our Housekeeping Manager for her to review with her team as this should not have happened. I will also pass your comments onto Theresa at our Front Desk; I am happy she was able to help you fully experience Banff!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

You can't ask for a better location than the Banff Aspen Lodge. It's within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. The lobby, hot tub area, and breakfast room have been beautifully updated, but the rooms are a little tired and had no air conditioning. What was also disappointing was that the rooms had really poor air flow due to the positioning of the hotel, so the room was HOT. Even keeping the sliding door open all night when the temp dropped to 45 degrees didn't help.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjkraimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here as part of a trip to Canada and Rocky mountains with TC. Rooms very hot as doesn't have air con, although it is installed ???. Basic motel ok, but main road goes past front door so if its hot and you are in the front (as we were) its hot AND noisy. Currently tyhere is building work going on to make a new breakfast room which is basement and very small for size of lodge. Get in eraly if you are going on a day trip. 2 hot tubs but both are overheated came out half boiled after 10 mins.. Mosquitos a problem in sumer so take good qualoty repellant or buy locally.

Banff is tourist hot spot, with lots of neice scenery though

Room tip: Ask for a side room, back probably is ok but hot in summer main road goes past front of hotel, nice views but noisy and hot. Wife woken at 2am , sat bolt upright when local bikers stopped outside - really funny but sad for her
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. The hotel does not have air conditioning as we are an environmentally conscious property and our location in the Canadian Rockies means that the temperature generally cools off in mountains at night. There is some construction occurring at one end of the hotel that will be complete by October. We are not building a new Breakfast Room, but instead another exciting new feature for our clients! The Breakfast Room does have ‘to-go’ breakfasts if you are in a hurry in the morning. I’m glad you enjoyed the amazing scenery that Banff National Park has to offer!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews