We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions recently. Breakfast good, service was very good and helpful. We were there in summer on warm nights so would have been perfect with air conditioning as leaving the window open proved noisy from the trains that passed through Banff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    592
    154
    54
    26
See reviews for
277
706
45
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de janeiro
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went to Banff for the first time and stayed at the Aspen Lodge. Its a great place to stay because the staff is friendly, its really confortable, clean and really close to all the restaurants and stores (about 7 minutes walking). The hotel offers breakfast with a good variety of food and drinks. The hotel also offers free parking.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis Felipe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Banff Aspen Lodge story! I am happy that you enjoyed the hotel’s complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and parking, central location and friendly staff. Hope to see you again soon~
Sincerely,
Christy - Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel reminded me so much of the little French hotels I have stayed at, in France! The rooms are very compact, barely enough space to move around. The parking is impossible to find, we drove around for 1 hour to find a parking spot on the main road! The breakfast is "oh sooooo French" complete with boiled eggs! And of course, there is no AC, but you have a fan to cool yourself with...... :( Yes, I bet the architect of this hotel must have come from Quebec/Montreal or directly from France.......... but the girl at the front desk, Teresa, was German, believe-it-or-not, so she was very efficient, helped us to discover Banff, and definitely deserves praise for doing a good job! The house-cleaning staff completely missed our room, and "forgot" to clean it..... Ahem..... not exactly impressive!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrekified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. I believe you stayed in our Premium Room which ranges from 289 – 336 square feet. If you require more space there are properties in town that have condominiums and this could be a better option for you. I apologize that your room was not serviced by Housekeeping; please be assured that this would not have been done on-purpose. I have passed your review onto our Housekeeping Manager for her to review with her team as this should not have happened. I will also pass your comments onto Theresa at our Front Desk; I am happy she was able to help you fully experience Banff!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

You can't ask for a better location than the Banff Aspen Lodge. It's within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. The lobby, hot tub area, and breakfast room have been beautifully updated, but the rooms are a little tired and had no air conditioning. What was also disappointing was that the rooms had really poor air flow due to the positioning of the hotel, so the room was HOT. Even keeping the sliding door open all night when the temp dropped to 45 degrees didn't help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjkraimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here as part of a trip to Canada and Rocky mountains with TC. Rooms very hot as doesn't have air con, although it is installed ???. Basic motel ok, but main road goes past front door so if its hot and you are in the front (as we were) its hot AND noisy. Currently tyhere is building work going on to make a new breakfast room which is basement and very small for size of lodge. Get in eraly if you are going on a day trip. 2 hot tubs but both are overheated came out half boiled after 10 mins.. Mosquitos a problem in sumer so take good qualoty repellant or buy locally.

Banff is tourist hot spot, with lots of neice scenery though

Room Tip: Ask for a side room, back probably is ok but hot in summer main road goes past front of hotel, nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The hotel does not have air conditioning as we are an environmentally conscious property and our location in the Canadian Rockies means that the temperature generally cools off in mountains at night. There is some construction occurring at one end of the hotel that will be complete by October. We are not building a new Breakfast Room, but instead another exciting new feature for our clients! The Breakfast Room does have ‘to-go’ breakfasts if you are in a hurry in the morning. I’m glad you enjoyed the amazing scenery that Banff National Park has to offer!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in The Aspen Lodge, we loved Banff & this hotel is conveniently situated for shops & restaurants. We had a strange triangular shaped room which was a bit quirky but clean & quiet ( on the side of the hotel) Breakfast was a convenient continental but we found the staff a little abrupt. The hot tub looked great even though we didn't get chance to use it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cayennekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Banff Aspen Lodge is extremely well located. It is about two blocks from the main strip. Can easily walk downtown in minutes.

The room was roomy and comfortable. The people who worked at the front desk were really nice and accommodating.

Didn't get a chance to use the outdoor pool or sauna but both looked really nice.

The breakfast was very basic (toast, fruit, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal) but the servers where helpful and it was nice to be able to grab a quick bite before leaving the hotel.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Currently the hotel is under a little bit of construction but it didn't bother us in the least. There is also no air conditioning in the rooms at the moment but it wasn't a problem while we were there.

Great Stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I’m happy that you enjoyed your time at the Banff Aspen Lodge. You must come back to the hotel sometime soon as we have upgraded our breakfast to include cold cuts and cheese. We will also be adding in bacon, sausage and scrambled eggs and these new items will rotate every other day (cold cuts cheese will be served one day and then bacon/sausage the next day). Hope to see you soon~
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing