We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,711)
Filter reviews
1,711 results
Traveler rating
684
723
201
67
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
684
723
201
67
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranolahot tubeconomy roompremium roombreakfast staffbreakfast was includedbreakfast roomthe main streetshops and restaurantstwo sinksthird floorsteam roomstreet noisewould definitely stay here againunderground parkingstayed here for nightswithin easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
970 - 975 of 1,711 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel reminded me so much of the little French hotels I have stayed at, in France! The rooms are very compact, barely enough space to move around. The parking is impossible to find, we drove around for 1 hour to find a parking spot on the main road! The breakfast is "oh sooooo French" complete with boiled eggs! And of course, there is no AC, but you have a fan to cool yourself with...... :( Yes, I bet the architect of this hotel must have come from Quebec/Montreal or directly from France.......... but the girl at the front desk, Teresa, was German, believe-it-or-not, so she was very efficient, helped us to discover Banff, and definitely deserves praise for doing a good job! The house-cleaning staff completely missed our room, and "forgot" to clean it..... Ahem..... not exactly impressive!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for the feedback. I believe you stayed in our Premium Room which ranges from 289 – 336 square feet. If you require more space there are properties in town that have condominiums and this could be a better option for you. I apologize that your room was not serviced by Housekeeping; please be assured that this would not have been done on-purpose. I have passed your review onto our Housekeeping Manager for her to review with her team as this should not have happened. I will also pass your comments onto Theresa at our Front Desk; I am happy she was able to help you fully experience Banff!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

You can't ask for a better location than the Banff Aspen Lodge. It's within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. The lobby, hot tub area, and breakfast room have been beautifully updated, but the rooms are a little tired and had no air conditioning. What was also disappointing was that the rooms had really poor air flow due to the positioning of the hotel, so the room was HOT. Even keeping the sliding door open all night when the temp dropped to 45 degrees didn't help.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjkraimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here as part of a trip to Canada and Rocky mountains with TC. Rooms very hot as doesn't have air con, although it is installed ???. Basic motel ok, but main road goes past front door so if its hot and you are in the front (as we were) its hot AND noisy. Currently tyhere is building work going on to make a new breakfast room which is basement and very small for size of lodge. Get in eraly if you are going on a day trip. 2 hot tubs but both are overheated came out half boiled after 10 mins.. Mosquitos a problem in sumer so take good qualoty repellant or buy locally.

Banff is tourist hot spot, with lots of neice scenery though

Room Tip: Ask for a side room, back probably is ok but hot in summer main road goes past front of hotel, nice views but noisy and hot. Wife woken at 2am , sat bolt upright when local bikers stopped outside - really funny but sad for her
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. The hotel does not have air conditioning as we are an environmentally conscious property and our location in the Canadian Rockies means that the temperature generally cools off in mountains at night. There is some construction occurring at one end of the hotel that will be complete by October. We are not building a new Breakfast Room, but instead another exciting new feature for our clients! The Breakfast Room does have ‘to-go’ breakfasts if you are in a hurry in the morning. I’m glad you enjoyed the amazing scenery that Banff National Park has to offer!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in The Aspen Lodge, we loved Banff & this hotel is conveniently situated for shops & restaurants. We had a strange triangular shaped room which was a bit quirky but clean & quiet ( on the side of the hotel) Breakfast was a convenient continental but we found the staff a little abrupt. The hot tub looked great even though we didn't get chance to use it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cayennekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Banff Aspen Lodge is extremely well located. It is about two blocks from the main strip. Can easily walk downtown in minutes.

The room was roomy and comfortable. The people who worked at the front desk were really nice and accommodating.

Didn't get a chance to use the outdoor pool or sauna but both looked really nice.

The breakfast was very basic (toast, fruit, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal) but the servers where helpful and it was nice to be able to grab a quick bite before leaving the hotel.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Currently the hotel is under a little bit of construction but it didn't bother us in the least. There is also no air conditioning in the rooms at the moment but it wasn't a problem while we were there.

Great Stay!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

I’m happy that you enjoyed your time at the Banff Aspen Lodge. You must come back to the hotel sometime soon as we have upgraded our breakfast to include cold cuts and cheese. We will also be adding in bacon, sausage and scrambled eggs and these new items will rotate every other day (cold cuts cheese will be served one day and then bacon/sausage the next day). Hope to see you soon~
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews