We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location, comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location, comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at the end of July for 5 nights, they were building an outside patio area, hopefully it is finished. Enjoyed our stay, comfortable queen beds, breakfast whilst good could be improved by adding cooked meats and cheese to the menu. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for the review! We are currently undergoing construction at one end of the hotel; this will be complete by mid-October to reveal an exciting new feature for all our guests to enjoy! Our complimentary continental breakfast does now include cold cuts and cheese daily. We will also be adding in bacon, sausage and scrambled eggs as another option.
Look forward to seeing you again!
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    558
    147
    52
    26
See reviews for
262
677
43
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Wonderful location for walking into town with rooms that vary considerably in noise level and cross breeze (so you can sleep in the summer since there is no a/c). Nice European style breakfast.

Some rooms have 2 separate sink vanities and a good cross-breeze, but others only have a window on one side and 1 sink, so ask for what you feel you will need.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank recreationaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The hotel does have a variety of guestroom options for our guests; please communicate your needs to us at the time of booking and we will do our best to accommodate your requests!
Sincerely,
Christy - Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Banff Aspen Lodge - traveling with two small children (ages 1 and 3). While a bit small, the room with 2 queen beds was very comfortable and clean. Location is great, within 5 minutes walking time to the main part of town and ample free parking for guests. The continental breakfast was good, including a wide range of options that worked for all of us. The only complaint is that the breakfast approach is a bit inflexible with it being seated, and only option of specific item takeaway box if need to eat outside the restaurant - which was a bit challenging when needing to feed the kids in the room (awake after breakfast closed). Was able to get permission on second day to take some non-boxed food up, which was greatly appreciated.

I would definitely consider staying at Banff Aspen Lodge again if we find ourselves traveling to Banff again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peakinmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Banff Aspen Lodge looks like a small motel, but when you walk into the rooms, it is 5 star hotel. The rooms were clean to the last detail, a well equipped bathroom, and a fine breakfast to start the day. The location of the hotel was great, it was near Banff's downtown, yet there was not a lot of traffic ( you could still walk to excellent restaurants and shopping stores.). The staff there made my visit a great one. This is one fine of a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

A very good hotel, with above average rooms and nice amenities, like two outsize Jacuzzis and ample parking.
Its major let down is groups. The groups get preferred over regular customers especially during breakfast (time and better menu).

No AC just heating

Room Tip: Avoid early breakfest , you would not have a place as the groups gets priority waits till 8:00
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amir R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am happy that you enjoyed the hotel’s outdoor hot tubs with fireplace and complimentary parking! Should you arrive for breakfast and find that the Breakfast Room is at capacity, the hotel does have a ‘to-go’ option where you are able to take food to go if you are not able to wait for a table. Our breakfast menu is the same for all guests. We did have a particular group who paid a higher rate to have more variety at breakfast. I am happy to let you know that all guests now receive cold cuts and cheese as an option daily at no additional cost!
Sincerely,
Christy - Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were very happy with this hotel. Breakfast was great. Yogurt, hardboiled eggs, cereal, oatmeal, toast, fresh home baked goods. We were also happy with our room. The two queen beds were in separate rooms with a bathroom in between. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PattyB789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great service at check-in. Nice hot tubs. A very clean comfortable room with good beds. Close to downtown. Excellent breakfast included. Reasonable room rate. We have already recommended this hotel to others and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 312 for Three women. We had two twin beds w/pull out couch. Plenty of room with two sinks, two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan_mountaingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Banff Aspen Lodge experience! Look forward to seeing you again~
Sincerely,
Christy - Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#10 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing