We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure to ask for a room at the back of the hotel”
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Be sure to ask for a room at the back of the hotel”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The road in front is noisy. Staff were amazingly accommodating and helpful. No AC but they do have a fan in the room; I only wish it had been larger. I'd absolutely stay here again -- but I'd also look for a hotel off Banff Avenue. I al;so wish they'd stop heating the pool in the summer. I went down hoping to cool off but it was like a bathtub.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancymac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that our team took care of you during your time at the hotel! The hotel does not have a pool; we have two outdoor hot tubs with fireplace. The hot tubs are kept heated year-round and are a very popular way for our guests to relax and rejuvenate their muscles after exploring Banff National Park. Look forward to seeing you on your next Banff Getaway~
Cheers,
Christy - Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    611
    158
    56
    27
See reviews for
290
735
48
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My boyfriend booked a room for us for a weekend getaway for mid-July 2013.

Pros:
- The room was very nicely set-up, pretty big, and the beds were very comfortable
- The large hot tub was nice -- not that hot, but decent. This would be awesome in the winter or in colder weather. The small hot tub was under reno when we were there. No big deal.

Cons:
- THERE IS NO IN-ROOM AIR CONDITIONING. The room was probably 26ish degrees at night, and it was hard to fall asleep. The front desk staff were nice and gave us 2 fans to use, but it was really not enough. We were on the main floor facing the street, so opening the slide door resulted in a lot of street noise including drunken people yelling. Opening the slide door was a must to cool the room down a bit though.

Overall:
- I would recommend this place for the winter or in cooler weather, but definitely not for the summer. Even motels have in-room air conditioning, so I feel like for a $200/night room, it's kind of expected that my room shouldn't be an uncontrollable 26 degrees.

Room Tip: Do not stay here during the summer unless you want to roast. If you must stay here during the summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maplez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at the Banff Aspen Lodge at the beginning of our trip through the Rockies, it was a great start.
The room was a good size, well equipped and had a balcony. We appreciated the breakfast and enjoyed using the hot tubs in the courtyard. Location is convenient, with plenty of restaurants within walking distance.
The staff were very welcoming, made us feel instantly at home (we arrived late due to the floods in Calgary and closed roads) and made a great recommendation for a restaurant for dinner.
Overall it was a wonderful stay, we loved the hotel and hope to have the opportunity to stay there again one day

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were greeted by professional and friendly reception staff, assigned a spacious and quite room on the upper floor, and had a relaxed and most enjoyable stay. We can usually find stuff to gripe about, but not in this case! The buffet breakfasts have rightly garnered some renown, especially the house made granola, and did a great job of setting us up for a solid day's skiing. Best of all for us is the service workbench in the basement where we were able to tune our skis ready for the next day. Nerdy I know, but it works for us.

This is a really well placed hotel, about 10 minutes relaxed walk from the centre of downtown Banff. Staff were always helpful and welcoming, and we would have absolutely no hesitation staying here again

Room Tip: We stayed on the upper floor away from Banff Avenue, and the room was wonderfully quiet, despite the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanandmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent three nights in banff in a superior room and it was definitely worth the money. The room was large and comfortable, with separate areas for the double bed and the single beds. The staff were friendly, the hot tub relaxing and the breakfast was plentiful. The short walk into town was pleasant and all the restaurants and caves are right on your doorstep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Banff Aspen Lodge experience! I am glad that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s central location, outdoor hot tubs with fireplace and our complimentary continental breakfast. Hope to see you on your next Banff getaway
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The room that we had was divided into two rooms with a queen bed on each, all amenities are excellent except for the parking lot, we are not informed if there is an underground parking; we parked at the side of the road or at the back which is too far from the elevator ( we had to carry lots of stuff for our infant) other than that rooms are clean and breakfast excellent and breakfast room people very friendly esp to our baby. We also had mountain view on our deck which was nice. Front desk people are so so i dont find them friendly or helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjaEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize that assistance with your luggage was not offered to you. The hotel strives to offer outstanding customer service and we will take your review as a learning tool. The hotel’s Front Office Manager has reviewed your feedback with his team to ensure this does not happen in the future. I am happy that you enjoyed the hotel’s guestrooms and complimentary continental breakfast! Look forward to seeing you again~
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I think we were unlucky as previous reviewers have had positive experiences. We stayed 3 nights and on arrival were informed lift out of order and awaiting part for repair. As placed in room 314 on 3 rd floor and carrying luggage for a months tour of Canada were concerned how we would carry luggage however check in staff were helpful and said they would get luggage brought up to us which was appreciated. The room was split in 2 with a large bed in each section divided with a bathroom between. The room was dark and required lights even in daytime. There is no air conditioning in the hotel so was also rather warm requiring windows at both ends of the room to be left open to generate some cool air. However this meant having to endure the very noisy main road which this hotel fronts onto. So with constant noise from very early on to late into the evening it was far from a peaceful place to relax or have a good sleep. It didn't help that there was also some construction noise coming from the work also going on at the front of the hotel throughout our stay..
We decided to get our laundry sorted whilst at the hotel having read they have a self service laundry area so we headed down with laundry in hand to ground floor only to be advised by the receptionist that the washing machine was out of order and waiting a part !
The hotel has 2 nice looking pools on the ground floor and we decided to take a dip. But alas the final disappointment there was a sign beside the pools advising they were closed. There we were in bathing gear and feeling foolish asking at reception why the pools were closed at 3pm in the afternoon. It seems a guest had dropped a glass in the pool earlier in the day and it had been emptied. We were told that once the temperature was up we could use it approx in one hours time. We asked to be called when it was open again. We waited and eventually 11/2 hours later got a call to say it would be another 2 -3 hours before we could use it. We had given up by then.
The room had all the essentials we required and staff were generally helpful although felt staff were very defensive when we raised issues re the above. Also breakfast was fine but basic.. No sign yet of any cheeses or hams or scrambled egg.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from front of building and away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yorkshirellass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I apologize that your time at the Banff Aspen Lodge wasn’t what you expected. Unfortunately some of our amenities were not available during your stay and I understand that this would have affected your time at the hotel. We pride ourselves on our customer service and offering a product to our guests that reflects everything a great vacation should be. There is never a good time to perform renovations however they are required to ensure we offer a product that our guests require. We are happy to say that the renovations at the front of our hotel will be complete by the end of August. Our guest laundry was down as we were waiting for a part, this was unfortunately delayed as the part was coming from Toronto and due to the flooding there things were delayed. Our elevator was also down and delayed in getting up as there were many other elevators in the Bow Valley that were flooded and took priority over ours for repair. And of course when it “rains it pours,” unfortunately our large pool was drained earlier in the day and it does take some time to heat the water back up, generally this process is 24 hours.

We are happy to say that the elevator is up and running, the hot tubs are at a fantastic temperature, and our guest services is still providing exceptional service with a smile. We hope you can come back when our renovations are complete to experience our fantastic property the way it should be.

Sincerely,
Chris Barr - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,133 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing