We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We like the hotel location and hot tubs. The front desk was helpful and our room was clean and nice, with a balcony. But without AC we had to open the balcony door and asked for a fan.

The queen bad and the bathroom were small. Parking was a problem during the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xiaodan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    585
    154
    54
    26
See reviews for
276
701
45
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel was booked as part of our Rockies and Alaska tour. The location was good - very close to town centre and the rooms were spacious with comfortable beds. But the breakfast..............sugary granola, fruit salad, pizza muffins, chocolate zuccini walnut muffins and toast!!! The bread was soft and doughy thus did not make good toast - our group of travellers thought this did not suit ourn European palate. A group of German tourists were given plates of cold meat and cheeses. We asked for similar and were told they had this as they had paid extra. I assumed a 'continental' breakfast included cold meats - it does in other establishments but not in this one despite offering to pay for it! The coffee or tea was served at the table but we were told we had to go to the main table for the milk if we needed it - pretty dire service.
Thus this was not a good start to our tour and it did not accord with what had been promised in the brochure.

Room Tip: Difficult as the hotel is undergoing renovations and everywhere seemed to be noisy. The view from ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollyallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Please note the hotel is upgrading our complimentary continental breakfast this summer; one day there will be an option of scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage and the next day there will be cold meats and cheese. This will rotate every other day and our breakfast will still include fruit salad, yogurt, baked goods, fresh bread, cereal and our homemade granola. We are pleased to be offering this Deluxe Continental Breakfast at no additional charge to our guests. Should you desire a Full English Breakfast, our Front Desk can suggest restaurants in town that would be happy to serve you.
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This is an average hotel and failed to live up my expectations.

Breakfast was average but we had to wait in queue to get a seat inside the coffee shop. The place was way too small...

Although I booked a room with queen bed, we were given one with two queen beds. The room didn't look like the one on the booking website...so very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rahanash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Banff Aspen Lodge. I have verified your reservation and you booked a Premium Room with two twin beds and a sitting area through a third party website; which is the room that you received on arrival. If a room with one queen bed is preferred, I suggest reserving that room or calling the hotel before arrival to place your request. Lastly, should guests be in a hurry to start their day exploring Banff National Park, our Breakfast Room does off a ‘to-go’ service.
Sincerely
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Better late then never, I wanted to write about our stay March 8 - 18. This was our second stay at this hotel.
Hotel is located one block from the beginning of town. Our room was on the third floor overlooking the entrance, with a very nice view of the mountains. We had two very comfortable queen beds with crisp white linens and lots of pillows. The large bathroom had the sink outside. Room had a table and 2 chairs, small refrigerator, coffee maker plus a pot to heat water, phone, TV, and free wifi which worked great. Plenty of space for hanging clothes, plus hooks to hang your coats. Our room was kept spotless! Thank you housekeeping.
The front office staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful. Always greeted you as you passed their desk and willing to be of help no matter what you needed.
The room to store your skiis (with the use of their padlocks) worked out perfectly.
There are two outdoor hot tubs, a large one and a smaller one with a fireplace -- doesn't get much better than that after a day of skiing. There is a sauna and steam room as well.
We rented a car from Calgary, which really was not necessary once we got to Banff. There was under cover parking plus a small heated garage. On street parking was always open as well.
We had tri-area ski passes which provided us with free bus transportation to all 3 ski areas, and the pick up point was only a half block away. Very convenient.
On our next trip to Banff, we would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AudreynBruceF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Sincerely,
Christy - Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We arrived at Banff Aspen Lodge and were warmly welcomed. Our room was on the ground floor and as it was a damp evening it was so good to find such a warm comfortable bright room. Outside on our corridor were two hot tubs a large one and smaller one with gushing hot water to relax in overlooked by a warm flame fire in a grate!. Breakfast was fine with sweet granola porridge fruit bread and a variety of pastries. There was a lovely lounge to relax in close to reception with daily newspapers available. The hotel is so close to Safeway supermarket and all the main shops and restaurants within walking distance. This meant I could go alone out to shop and feel so safe walking back on my own as it was so close to the centre. One downfall was the noise from the fridge at 75 decibels measured on i phone metre. Hard to sleep but I used noise cancelling headphones! however there was a notice in room that if one found it too loud staff could disconnect fridge but perhaps as we were on ground floor traffic noise added to overall decibels!All in all a good experience and would highly recommend the a banff aspen lodge

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for the quietest room if there is one. Just be aware noise can be an issue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marymccaberogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Banff Aspen Lodge was the first of our stops on a two week journey across Canada's Rockies. Unfortunately it was raining when we arrived but the place was so welcoming. The staff were pleasant and helpful, unfortunately our keycard would not work so we had to have it reprogrammed. The room was good and the bed comfortable. Our group also had the use of a meeting room on the top floor which was useful. Breakfast was in the basement which was warm and cosy with a good hearty breakfast. There were hot tubs (more like small swimming pools) in the centre of the courtyard but we did not use them. There were others who did and enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
334 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I booked this hotel with their mid week special and it was a great deal! Since we were taking the Greyhound bus, I wanted to find a hotel that was relatively close. This hotel was easy to get to and within a 10 minute walk. We were checked in by a friendly girl and provided our room keys. We stayed on the second floor and had to go to through a door to outside to get to our room. The keys didn't work the first time so I went downstairs and all was good.

We were pleased with the room layout. There was a bed when you first walk in and then 2 sinks on your way to the other bed and balcony. The toilet and tub were just off by the sinks. This is great for 2 people as it feels they each have their own room with bed and tv. I was hoping for a better view as I asked on the reservation form but it was still decent of Banff Ave and mountains.

It was a little noisy in the night when trying to sleep from the hum of the fridge (although they offer to unplug it if guests want), voices from neighbouring rooms, and the train. It can get a little warm and you can open the balcony door but the noise level will increase so that was the only complaint.

As others have mentioned, the breakfast is lovely. We enjoyed the complimentary coffee/tea/juice, the granola was amazing, and oatmeal and fruit were all good. But the highlight of this hotel, are the hot tubs. We used the one that had the fireplace but couldn't figure out how to turn on the jets. There was a person in the larger tub and he came over to ask us if we wanted the jets turned on as the control was by his tub. It would have been nice to have the control by our tub. But relaxing and warm water, loved it! It's not private as many guests would walk by to get to their rooms. There's also a sauna by the tubs.

Location is great and everything was within walking distance. Friendly staff and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that's higher up on the 3rd floor. Facing Banff Ave is a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovingSunandSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing