We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and service”
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a mid-sized motel located on the main street within the town of Banff. We were upgraded to a suite at no additional cost as there was construction activity going on at the backside of the hotel. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was comfy. The reception staff were nice and accomodating and allowed us to check as early as 10 am. The breakfast was the usual continental type but in ample quantity. Restaurants at walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floors and on the side facing the road. Provides a view of the mountain
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrZeeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,453)
There are newer reviews for Banff Aspen Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I was in town for a conference for four nights. The Fairmont was sold out and so I thought I would give this place a try. I was very impressed. This isn't a luxury hotel, but it really had everything I needed. It was clean, had good sized rooms and the staff were friendly and helpful. The (included) breakfast was a great perk (great home made granola!), as was the free Internet. The hotel is well-located, in the middle of town, and a short walk to the Fairmont (or $8 cab or $2 bus). Overall I was quite pleased, and unless you are really looking for a luxury 5-star hotel, I would recommend this place to anyone— you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jglicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Although we only stayed one night it was great. We were there for a girls weekend and the room was perfect, the beds were divided but 2 sinks and the bathroom which left us with some privacy and each room had its own tv so if one was up before the other they could watch tv. The location was fantastic, close enough to walk to downtown and and all restaurants but far enough away from all the late night partying noise. Will be my preferred hotel for every Banff trip now.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Funjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in April as part of our Honeymoon trip. Our room was a fair size with a nice balcony. Good sized bathroom too and a very comfy bed. Breakfast was awesome - continental and lots of choice. We were disappointed as we only had this on one morning as the second morning we had to leave really early before breakfast. The staff were really friendly too. For the price we paid (£66 ish per night) - it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MKPWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I always check tripadvisor and since this was #4 and available at $149/ night, I thought we'd try it. There were three of us in a double queen room and they charged an extra $20/ night since there were more than 2. Not sure why as the breakfast, while good, certainly isn't worth $20, even in Banff. We have stayed at several Banff hotels and this one is the second from the bottom. It was under construction and less than impressive on entering. The doors to the room were dirty with paint peeling. The rooms were small with a view of nothing. The bathrooms were tiny with the toilet roll holder falling off the wall. The beds and pillows were good. The first night was reasonably quiet but the second night someone's kids ran for 2 hours up and own the hall then until midnight the adults carried on their conversation at volume 10. Guess the sound proofing isn't the best. Breakfast has only eggs. no other protein. The breads/ muffins/ loafs and granola were very good. Good location. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ivanhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to investigate your review further; can you please email the hotel’s General Manager at gm@banffaspenlodge.com and inform him of the room number that you stayed in? Once we know this our Maintenance Team can fix the issues mentioned above.
Should any guests experience excessive noise during their stay, they are encouraged to call the Front Desk so that we can ensure all guests at the hotel enjoy a nice and relaxing night’s sleep. The hotel is currently undergoing some construction to our underground parking garage. This will be complete by June 30, 2013.
The hotel’s complimentary continental breakfast is being upgraded to a deluxe continental breakfast this summer; one day there will be bacon, eggs and sausage available and the next day there will be cold meat and cheese. This will rotate daily.
We look forward to hearing from you.
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

this hotel is situated in good location with Friendly staff, cool courtyard hot tubs w/ fireplace. Complimentary parking, wifi and breakfast. Awesome place. Walkable to down town. Good Value. Some underground parking, as well as street level / behind hotel.

Room Tip: stayed on second floor (213) small balcony with view of Main Street.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VinceInCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

I’m glad that you enjoyed your time at the Banff Aspen Lodge and appreciated the value that the hotel offers! Look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Christy - Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,074 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $120 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing