We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Location, location, location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Banff Aspen Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ultimate Rockies Bundle
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a great mid price hotel with several good features. 1. The breakfast was wonderful with lots of healthy choices. 2. The beds were very comfortable. 3. The hot tubs are lovely. 4. Location is extremely convenient to the downtown area. On the down side the parking can be challenging, the staff seems to keep changing and being offered an upgrade to "premium" room that did not suit the configuration we wanted was declined by us. Our view from the far back corner of the hotel was OK, quiet, but would have preferred to have the room we booked and for it to be on the front side.

This is good value for your money and the hotel is in the process of making some major renovations which we did not know about during the booking process. We did not experience any noise and the front desk staff is trying to accommodate guests to the quietest areas of the hotel. Renovations are not happening on the weekends.

A few minor problems with our key cards, etc. but overall a very pleasant stay. All the staff that we met were very friendly and working hard to please the guests. We would stay here again.

We used Banff as our starting point for driving around the area. It was magnificent with the weather reaching close to eighty degrees and it had been snowing the week before. Overall we had a fabulous visit to the area.

Room Tip: If offered a room upgrade, check out the configuration to make sure it will work for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia5501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    514
    137
    48
    25
See reviews for
239
620
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We found the Banff Aspen Lodge to be good accommodation that was very affordable. The Lodge is located within walking distance to the town centre which is always a bonus. The amenities in the room could not be faulted with the bed being extremely comfortable. The Continental breakfast that was included was delicious. We would certainly stay here again should we find ourselves passing through Banff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chanj07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didsbury Alberta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Took three teenagers to Banff for a tournament - this hotel was perfect location as it was a block away from the high school where tournament was held and within walking distance to practically everything. Staff was very friendly and the boys enjoyed the hot tub at night. Rooms were clean and adequate for our length of stay, which was just one night. We stayed in room 121 which had a king size bed and two twin beds, which was ideal for the group. I found the breakfast was adequate, but the three teenage boys were disappointed with the selection available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mythbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great hotel, close enough to the main centre, but just far enough away to not be right in the mix. Modern decor and extremely comfortable mattresses.

All of the staff were friendly, upbeat and helpful. Special mention to Theresa and Elise on the front desk. Thank you ladies for your smiles and playing along with our jesting.

Breakfasts are plentiful, healthy and fresh with friendly wait staff.

I'd go back in a flash.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Manitoba
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel appealed to us as we had 3 of us staying in one room and it is rare to find a hotel with 3 beds. The location was perfect, being a few minutes away from the action of downtown. The breakfast was a real bonus with coffee and juice service and some good continental options. We would stay here again. Only down fall was that 3 of the bulbs in the bathroom were burnt out, so only 2 worked. Parking was a bit of a challenge, but that happens in Banff on the weekends.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dickbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponoka, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you are looking for a place that is run with loving care...this is it. From the youthful, upbeat staff, to the stylish, well-appointed rooms, it is evident that the Banff Aspen Lodge takes pride in keeping their customers comfortable. Plans to add a cafe and outdoor patio will only enhance our future visits.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debmacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I booked a night here based solely on the photo of the bed on their website. I deplore the stiff, weird and frankly creepy bedspreads in most hotels and I saw in the posted photo, The Banff Aspen Lodge offered crisp white duvet covers.

When we arrived we were helped by the genuinely nicest staff we have found in any Canadian hotel. From the moment we arrived we were treated so pleasantly that I was instantly happy we had not gone for the more expensive option we had considered.

The room was spacious, the view great and the hot pool in the courtyard a very lovely surprise. The included breakfast although pretty simple, was everything we needed to start a ski day well.

We will book here again and have already recommended this to several friends as they book ski weekends regularly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoteGroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 959 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing