We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly and professional”
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and professional”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Really pleasant stay. We were in Banff for a week's skiing with a family of 4 and had no complaints at all.

Rooms were clean and beds/amenities all as expected. Staff were excellent and made us feel at home, helping with all arrangements.

Hot tubs sometimes crowded, but always with friendly people. Breakfast (with world famous granola!) was very good.

If I had to pick on something the rooms/facilities are functional rather than fantastic, but as a base to explore the area from it is great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    599
    155
    54
    26
See reviews for
281
710
46
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is a real jewel. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast and the most friendly and helpful staff we have ever encountered. Everything is in walking distance including great restaurants, shopping, ski shuttles and beautiful hiking.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night, but the staff worked hard to ensure we were welcome and comfortable. Our room overlooking the Main Street was not overly noisy; it may be at a busier time of year. The breakfast was certainly adequate but not extensive, and the staff made sure there were never any tables unoccupied! The walk to the river and shops was just enough to stretch the legs. The underground parking was being renovated so outdoors it was; glorious weather made this a non-issue.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our third week-long stay at BAL and as always we were very pleased with convenience, quality of accommodations, staff and breakfast. We had asked for a quiet room, away from the pool and hot tub and they complied. Staff are always very pleasant no matter how busy or how trivial our needs. Free continental breakfast is varied and fresh to fuel a day of skiing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We enjoyed staying here very much. The room is pretty standard but comfortable enough, and the beds are soft. The continental breakfast is good, especially the homemade granola. The real treat are the two center courtyard hot tubs, we really appreciated the warmth and ambience of the facilities. The fireplace adds a great deal of beauty and coziness.

Banff Aspen Lodge really is within easy walking distance of the downtown (no need to move the car!), and that combined with a reasonable price and clean comfortable accomodations I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovelowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We had our room upgraded for free, we were so disappointed with our original room 126 - absolutely made our weekend. Great service, good location and a very clean rooms. The continental breakfast is well beyond expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertEnns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We booked one nights stay here but due to a burst pipe in our room we were upgraded to an Executive suite, or condo. This wasn't actually part of the lodge but was located directly behind it. Added to this, we were also given a complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates to compensate us for any inconvenience. We thought this was really great, and Trevor was very eager to ensure we were satisfied with the arrangement. The executive suite was large and very comfortable. Only complaint is we had no hot water the next morning. And we missed out on breakfast due to an early start (breakfast is at 7am). However, we really appreciated Trevor's customer service but not sure I can comment on the actual lodge considering that we didn't end up staying there or using any of the lodge facilities. Great location though!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisavdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing