We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price”
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value for the price”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Banff Aspen Lodge for four nights in March 2013. As this was a mid-priced hotel I didn't have very high expectations, and I was so pleasantly surprised! While the hotel is basic - the furnishings and facilities are not luxury - everything was in very, very good condition and very clean. Our room was very large, in fact we got a complementary upgrade. The bathroom was spotless, as if it has been recently remodeled. The carpet also looked new throughout the hotel. The furniture, while again basic, was in new condition. Free wireless and breakfast, a great in-town location making everything you want a short walk away, mini-fridge in the room, all made this an outstanding choice. The outdoor hot tub was great too - clean and enjoyable, we used it more than once! The only thing it was missing was a fitness room, and since I don't ski I would have loved to have a gym on site. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were very very pleased with this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants clean, quality accommodations with all the necessities provided in a good location. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a room with a living area, and it was fantastic! A sofa, desk, small eating tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kla122968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
I’m happy to read that you enjoyed your time at the Banff Aspen Lodge. Please note that for your next visit, the hotel does offer discounted passes to the local gym at the Banff Centre (a 15 minute walk from the hotel). You just need to see our Front Desk staff to purchase the passes.
Thank you and look forward to seeing you again~
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    615
    158
    56
    27
See reviews for
291
737
48
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel every year for several years now. The location is great, two blocks from shops and restaurants. It is maintained very well. Every year we can see the improvements, rooms being renovated, new bedding, common areas maintained very well. We love the spa area; that is probably the number one reason we select this hotel each time. The breakfast is perfect. The negatives - 1. This year when we checked in, the types of rooms we had reserved were NOT available and there was nothing else available. I just wonder why I reserved a specific room type if I can't have that when I arrive? We were given a room with twin beds and the twin beds were so short that my feet hung off the ends, and I am only 5'5". We were told that we could use the sofa as a pull-out, which we tried - the mattress on the sofa bed was about 3 inches thick - not useable...... 2. WiFi - this has been a problem at this hotel ever since they started offering WiFi. It is slower than dial-up! And most of the time, you can't even get on.... Last year we asked about the slowness and were told that they were going to upgrade. We just returned from our trip and it is just as BAD as ever. I have not encountered service this poor in MANY years. You can't check email, you can't log on to research something you want to do while there, it is just so frustrating! We found ourselves going down to the coffee shop so we could access information we needed.

Room Tip: When reserving your room, check before traveling to confirm that the type of room you reserved is wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marken76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I apologize that you did not receive the room type you had requested. Can you please send me an email (sales@banffaspenlodge.com) with your reservation details so that I can investigate this further? The hotel did upgrade our Internet last fall and the service has improved. If you happened to be using the Internet while the majority of our other guests were also using it, the speed may have been slower. Look forward to hearing from you~
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Husband and I just got back from a nights stay at the Aspen, first time we have stayed there. We selected it based on trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed ! The checkin was fast and courteous, and the premium room we got was very clean and quiet. We faced the back side, not the street and it was perfect. The rooms are redone in a very modern, sleek style and I couldn't find fault with anything. The hot tub sauna and steam room facilities are some of the best we have found especially in the town of Banff. Next morning we went for the breakfast which was included, it's not extensive but was fine for us. He homemade granola with fruit and yogurt was delicious. All in all we got great value for the money and with its proximity to all stores and restaurants in Banff it's a great choice.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street might be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canuckrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
So glad you enjoyed our ‘World Famous’ homemade granola and your time at the hotel. Look forward to seeing you on your next Banff Getaway~
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel was located on the avenue and was a short walk to everything in town. Rooms are new, clean, and up to date with travel amenities ( mini fridge, coffee maker, iron ect.). The courtyard w/ hot tubs is also amazing. Staff was overly accommodating, going as far as keeping the hot tub open an extra few minutes for some sore skiers. Complimentary breakfast was average and the only complaint would the lack of large towels, it was kind of like drying with a face cloth. All in all great hotel and mixed with ski deal a great value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyLeDouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am happy to read that our staff looked after you during your stay! I have passed your comment about the towel sizes onto our Executive Housekeeper. Hope to see you again~
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

far better than the 3* awarded, the staff on reception are all very helpful and friendly at all times, had our main dealings with an English guy who was very obliging, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.
RECEPTION STAFF ARE A TRUE ASSET TO THIS HOTEL AND ENHANCE THE GUESTS STAY.
Breakfast was just perfect to start off a day of skiing - do have a couple of suggestions though to keep more butter on the tables as had to keep asking for butter , also one useful tip would be to dress each table with a small jug of milk for adding to tea and coffee as had to either take hot beverages to the breakfast bar to add milk or take the milk away from the bar to take to our table ( i know that this is not the fault of the hotel as it is a private company who provide the breakfast service).
Excellent location
Room very comfortable, warm and quiet.
Hottubs excellent -
did not use sauna or steam room so unable to comment.
Overall a thouroughly fabulous time spent in Banff at the Aspen Lodge - would definitely stay again

Room Tip: we asked our agen to request a quiet room as had read one or two comments on tripadvisor about peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sashy552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Banff Aspen Lodge experience. I am glad that our Front Office staff were able to help you during your time at the hotel. I have passed your comments onto them! The hotel does run our Breakfast Room so thank you for your feedback. It is a great suggestion to have the milk on the tables. We are always looking for ways to make things more efficient during breakfast; I will speak with the Breakfast Room Manager to see if this is feasible while maintaining Alberta Health Services requirements.
Look forward to seeing you again~
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We came in very late and it was greeted by a very pleasant night auditor who gave us all the info we required quickly and then we were off to bed. The room was clean, quiet and in a good location. The breakfast was a perfect way to start our day with healthy options. I was very impressed with the friendliness of the breakfast staff as efficiently waited our table and provided us with drinks. Overall, although short this was a lovely stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cbunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location, awesome front desk, nice little pool and great size rooms! All fantabulous and i would stay at this hotel again and again if ever in banff!!! My only downer was that the wifi was a bit shoddy in the room and had to constantly come down to the reception to use. Im sure that can be improved though :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avidtravellerbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
I am happy to hear that the Banff Aspen Lodge was the best hotel of your trip and I hope you are able to visit us again!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,140 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing