We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stolen camera and loud”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Clearwater Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“stolen camera and loud”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed here last year in december and were very pleased when we checked in. The Lodge is very nice and the pool is BEAUTIFUL. The lodge was in a perfect location. I was very upset though when after a day of snowboarding we came back to our go pro camera missing. We talked to management and were very persuaded they were going to do something about it. I had just bought this camera for my boyfriend for christmas for this trip. After leaving management did NOTHING about it. I was very disappointed about this. If you are staying here make sure to lock your stuff up. Cleaning service i guess is not very reliable. This is more of a younger travelers place. It can get very loud.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. The hotel’s Front Office Manager emailed your boyfriend on January 14th 2012 to follow-up in regards to the camera; I apologize if he did not receive the email. The hotel contacted the RCMP and they did a full investigation, including interviewing our housekeeping team. No findings were had from the investigation and unfortunately the Banff Aspen Lodge cannot assume responsibility for the missing item. If you have any further questions about the investigation, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Safety Deposit Boxes were located at the Front Desk during your stay to secure any valuable items and all guestrooms are now equipped with in-room guest safes. We hope that the loss didn’t detract from your holiday in Banff National Park.
Sincerely,
Christy - Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    592
    154
    54
    26
See reviews for
277
706
45
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night and would definitely return! Our room was very clean and spacious, had a beautiful view of Banff Ave and the mountains. The staff was friendly, there is underground parking and the hotel is walking distance to restaurants and shopping. The hot tubs are located in the centre of the hotel but are outside in an enclosed courtyard type area, so nice in the winter! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and if you book at the right time through hotels.com you can get a great deal!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel overlook Banff Ave and you can get a great view of the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl_h6783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel room is so clean. Decent size room. Great complimentary breakfast and good staff. Right in the town with great location and free parking.
Only one little thing is that the room is too warm at night time. I slept with the bed sheet for the whole night. Overall, I am very happy about it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happier ever Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Visiting Canada recently we stayed for a few nights at the Banff Aspen Lodge.
The staff were very friendly and very helpful.
The rooms were excellent. They were clean and spacious with comfortable beds.
They have two outdoor hot tubs. One larger than the other. The smaller of the two has an open fire at one end as well. Breakfast was included in the deal and was very nice.
Anyone visiting the Banff national park I would recommend they stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigjohn2_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This place books itself as "green" and therefore has no air conditioning.
Our first room had a very noxious odor and was on the street which meant that it was extremely noisy. Because of the noise, we could not open the window which made the smell even worse.
The next day we spoke to management who claimed no knowledge of the odor but did acknowledge it after visiting the room with my husband.
We were moved to another room - same odor but better location so we could open the window which helped. Management stated that they could not charge us more for the "better" room because we had book through an on-line booking service!
The front desk staff was not very friendly which was surprising as we found people in Canada to be extremely friendly. All in all, I would not recommend this place which is too bad because it is in a great location and the rooms would be great if not for the odor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frequent_travler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Banff Aspen Lodge. The hotel definitely tries to do our part to be an environmentally friendly property. We do not have air conditioning as it is only hot in Banff for 2-3 weeks a year and even on warm days, our location in the Rocky Mountains means that the nights do cool down. Our guestrooms received new carpet so that may have been the odor you experienced. We have not received any other comments about the rooms you stayed in.
The hotel prides itself on offering outstanding customer service, so I was surprised to read your comments on our Front Desk staff. Thank you for your feedback and I have passed your review onto our Front Office Manager to review with his team.
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have just finished a 4 night stay at the Aspen Lodge and can't rate this place highly enough! From our arrival and the first rate front of house staff that talked us through where was good to go and what to go and see to the excellent rooms and hot tubs we had a cracking time!

The rooms are basic but in a good way, very IKEA in their fixtures which was great and in keeping with the hotel, beds were comfy and the rooms were cleaned daily. The hot tub outside was great, and we took regular advantage of this with the snow and the cold in the area, never to busy or quiet and very clean.

Breakfast was great for people on the go that wanted to grab a bite and different options available everyday and the staff, especially the server that was local to the area was very attentive and made sure we were never without tea or coffee.

The location is the best in the resort, walking distance to downtown, 5 minutes at the most if you stroll along in the snow and close by to a supermarket for any provisions that you might want to bring back or pick up.

Our highlight was the too British Front Of House Staff who were great banter and every night took time out to speak to us and have a laugh. On our day of leaving the staff again helped with boarding passes etc and helped with storing our bags.

A massive thank you from me and my wife, all of you made our honeymoon a great experience whilst we stayed with you. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

A comfortable and convenient base for our week in the Canadian Rockies. Close to the shops and restaurants of this lovely town. Affordable, in a high tourist town, friendly and helpful staff , well maintained, outstanding free breakfast, lovely hot tubs in the courtyard. We had a ground floor room overlooking the courtyard. Not large but we had asked for the economy price so that was fine. It was well appointed and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom had a a really good sized shower.

Room Tip: The back rooms appear to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank callas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing