We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The perfect balcony for watching Canada Day parades!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Chester
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The perfect balcony for watching Canada Day parades!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed in the Banff Aspen Lodge for a week June/July so were in town for the Canada Day celebrations. If you're after a street front room with a balcony to watch the street then go for room 240! Excellent facilities including hot tub and jacuzzi. Courteous and efficient staff made this a great base for exploring Banff and surrounds.

Room Tip: If you want a street front balcony view ask for room 242!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing your story and I’m happy the Banff Aspen Lodge was able to be a part of your Canada Day Celebrations!
Christy – Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    536
    141
    52
    26
See reviews for
254
650
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel is in a great location. Walking distance to down town and bow river. We upgraded to a premium room and it was worth it. I'm not sure what a regular room would be like. But we had our own balcony (2nd floor) and faced down town, south I believe. The mountain view was not especially great.

We booked online through www.banffaspenlodge.ca we booked a 2day special. Which came w banff gondola tickets and 2 hot springs passes. The hotel had no record of the package deal, ( still not sure since it is there own website) The day we arrived the staff couldn't do anything for us.

The next day the front office manager, Shawn Macmillan, sorted the whole thing out. He demonstrated great customer service skills and common sense sorting out the problem.

All things said it was a great experience at the banff aspen lodge, I would recommend it, but I would likely try elsewhere on a return trip, only to try something new.

Oh and the hot tub, saunas and contential breakfast were all great!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarita Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed in Banff for 3 nights at the start of our Rockies driving holiday from Calgary to Vancouver. The room was clean and suited us perfectly. The room balcony faced the carpark which was a little noisy so you couldn't leave the door open for airflow at night. The room had heating but no airconditioning and only a small fan, so was a little stuffy with the warmer summer weather. All in all though was a good location, easy walking distance to Safeway and the centre of town. The continental breakfast was nice and the staff were lovely.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the carpark can be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotosbyLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
75 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at the Banff Aspen Lodge for two nights and enjoyed our stay. Our room had beds separated by the bathroom which was OK for us but would probably work better for families. It faced the main road, which was not good for use of the balcony. The staff was friendly and helpful and the location was excellent: an easy walk to downtown. We really liked the hot tubs which were very relaxing after a day of semi-serious hiking and biking. The free covered parking was very convenient.

The other guests came from a wide range of countries, which was nice in our brief minutes of interaction. The breakfast was disappointing, considering the high quality of everything else. An overall enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: get a room in the back of the hotel, we were in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We took an unplanned trip to Banff on Canada Day and didn't know if we would be able to find an affordable room for the night.

The Banff Aspen Lodge provided us with their last vacancy which suited our needs perfectly.

Our room was very small however, we weren't spending much time there anyway. There was a small fridge in the room which was a great amenity.

The Lodge has two hot tubs - one has a fireplace along the side.

We enjoyed our stay at the Banff Aspen Lodge!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheels_Wings_Wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

One of the best things about The Banff Aspen Lodge was the staff. Everyone we met during our 4 night stay was impressive. The reception staff were professional, extremely efficient and very friendly as well. All our enquiries and requests were dealt with immediately. The maitenance staff, the kitchen staff, everyone was great. Our room was spacious, comfortable and everywhere was very well maintained and very clean. Breakfast was great. A short walk to the center of town it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melb1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay there staff were very helpful and the manager helped

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviadk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,969 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing