We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Dubai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Loved the place.. very affordable, cosy and clean. Especially loved the hot tubs!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sangeetha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    557
    147
    52
    26
See reviews for
262
676
43
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We decided to stay there for 6 nights at the end of August and early September. The rooms are medium sized with good amenities including fridge. The breakfast is simple but ample and satisfying. The wifi is way too slow so plan on not using it too much. There are two things that really make this place: great location in the center of town, and the best outdoor hot tubs we have ever seen. One of the out door hot tubs even has it's own fireplace. Very friendly and nice staff too. Overall great place would stay there again. One other item- we booked online and found that people who walked in without reservations paid about $70 less than us per night. So looks like if you are going in between seasons like we did, just walk in for the best room rates.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTravelerXOXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Thank you for the review. I am happy to read how much you enjoyed relaxing in our outdoor hot tubs and our central location. In regards to the room rate you paid, the hotel does have a few different room categories available at different prices. We always recommend booking ahead of time to ensure your requests can be met. Look forward to having you stay with us again; you should definitely come back in the winter to experience our hot tubs when it is cold outside~
Christy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

My daughter is starting her first year at university in Alberta, so we decided to have a mini holiday in the Rockies on our way. I spent a lot of time online, reading hotel reviews and finally decided to go with Banff Aspen Lodge based on it's location, the reviews I'd read and the reasonable rates available. I was not disappointed at all with my choice. It was a very pleasant experience from start to finish. Our room was so clean, with everything needed for a comfortable stay. The beds were the most comfortable I've had in a hotel. We enjoyed the breakfasts, the granola was sooo good!! My daughter and her friend used the hot tubs everyday and loved them. The hotel is close to downtown, it is great in the evenings to be able to wander the streets and not to need a vehicle to get back and forth. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and look forward to staying again in the years to come as I take my daughter back and forth between BC and Alberta:)

Room Tip: Our room had no view, we faced another hotel, but on the plus side it was really quiet and we slept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights. Rooms were clean beds comfortable and the staff very helpful.

Room Tip: third floor overlooking mountain a must.! The only issue in the Summer is having the sliding door op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harperr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Over the years, we have relied on Trip Advisor reviews in picking where we stay and have not been dilsappointed. Unfortunately this was not the case with the Aspen Lodge. Auto Club only gives the hotel a two diamond rating.and I think that is accurate. Although there has been some updating of the hotel, it is still pretty long in the tooth. Our room was divided into two bedroom areas and had two seperate sinks which we liked. The main issue was that there was no air conditiioning and it was quite warm in the room at night. There was a note in the room suggesting opening the doors and windows to cool the room off. Since our room was on Banff Avenue the street noise was such you could not leave the door open at night. There was a small fan in the room which was not of much help. .We were also a somewhat disappointed with the continental breakfast. The hotel is very close to downtown which is a plus, and the price was reasonable. I guess you get what you pay for, and I wished we had spent a little more and stayed at a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyeugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for your review and I’m glad that you enjoyed the hotel’s central location. I am pleased to announce that due to our recent renovations, the Banff Aspen Lodge has been upgraded to a three diamond rating by AAA/CAA. This rating is very accurate of the product that the Banff Aspen Lodge offers. Our complimentary continental breakfast includes baked goods (cinnamon buns, muffins, croissants, etc), fresh bread, yogurt, fruit salad, a variety of cereals and our homemade granola. We include the continental breakfast, wireless internet and parking in our room rates, creating amazing value for our guests.
Cheers,
Christy – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Very friendly hotel staff. The room was nice. We had two double beds, and the beds were on opposite sides of the bathroom area, which is nice when traveling with older kids. One negative: there aren't many available outlets (I had to unplug a lamp just to charge my laptop). Parking fills up, so if you get in really late you may be hunting for a space on the street.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmptyNestersCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

More akin to some European hotels with the design details, excellent breakfast and service. Though the room was somewhat small, it was clean, adequate, the hotel was centrally located, and the reason we came to Banff was to be outside!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LDboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#10 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing