We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place, great staff, quiet location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Canada
1 review
“nice place, great staff, quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

We spent 2 nights here with 2 young children (2 and 5) and had a great time. We got a good rate (150/night), so no complaints about the value. Lovely lobby with amazing views, plenty of friendly staff on hand and great indoor pool area. Things are pricey (but everything in banff is) - but the parkade was free. Our only 2 complaints were the room's dinky television, and no free wireless internet.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cleclerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,736
    1,091
    395
    170
    110
See reviews for
1,147
2,159
97
485
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (879)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

Just returned from 7 days staying at the Rimrock Hotel in Banff. It is far enough out of downtown to be peaceful and quiet, but close enough by car (5 minutes) to have access to all the shops and restaurants on the main street. Unless you're a young 20 you don't want to stay in downtown...too much noise, people, and too little of the nature you came to enjoy. This hotel competes with Fairmount Banff (an old historic hotel) for the four star business in town. We preferred the Rimrock because it is more modern, the rooms are larger, and the service and staff were as accommodating as could be. We really enjoyed this hotel. We booked thru hotwire and were given one of the basic rooms, but still we looked out at pine trees as far as they eye could see. We were told we could change to a better room later in the week if we wanted, but opted to stay put. The bathroom was large, the room had two comfortable chairs to sit on, and a refrigerator. The only complaint we had was the television was really old and quite small. Normally we don't watch television on vacation, but we wanted to watch the World Cup and the TV just wasn't adequate. But, I need to say, for 7 days we had no complaints about the service, the food, really anything. It is a first class, high service operation.
Banff Park is beautiful and I would recommend this area for just about anyone who likes the out of doors. The scenery is breathtaking and the Canadians we met were as nice as you could want.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

We are just leaving a four night stay at the Rimrock Hotel in Banff. Food, service and location has been outstanding. Very personable, and friendly. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

I know what you're thinking..."The Rimrock looks really nice---why are there so many bad reviews?" I, too, wondered that.....and I'm STILL wondering that! We stayed at the Rimrock in late May. This place is A-mazing. Not a single thing during the week wasn't provided with the utmost of kindness and willingness to help. Every person in this place from the bellboys, to the cleaning staff and the concierge were there to make sure our stay was great.
Here's the deal: if you're spending the dough to go on this vacation, don't tighten your wallet on your hotel. Don't get anything less than the premium rooms. If you do, yes you might be disappointed. The rooms below premium have not been updated since the 90's and ARE outdated. Don't get me wrong, they're still nice...just not as nice as you might expect with the appearance of the rest of the hotel. The higher 2 category of rooms are updated and LOVELY and seriously worth every penny. These rooms are HUGE compared to the Banff Springs and, I think, better decorated for a much better price! The single other thing that could use a facelift? The pool...but it serves its purpose and we enjoyed the spa every night to wind down.
TIP: We stayed from Wednesday to Wednesday---from Wednesday through Saturday we basically ran the place and got alot of discount opportunities for being there during the middle of the week!!
Things to know: This hotel IS outside of town. It would take a LONG time to walk to town. However, there is a free bus into town, or lots of parking in town if you want to drive yourselves.
Parking at the hotel IS NOT free. This is one thing we did not like. If you're paying this much for a room, parking should be included. But it is garage parking and we never had trouble finding a spot.
Make sure to grab a sandwich and eat on the balcony on the lobby level. Great way to relax!
Bottom line: We LOVED the Rimrock. We would never stay anywhere else in Banff (or even Lake Louise!) Definitely a high class place, with a MUCH better price than its comparable neighbors, the Banff Springs.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshLee823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed here for one night at the end of an excellent holiday at the Three Bars Ranch in Cranbrook, before flying back to the UK. We paid £280 (offer price) for a Grand View room. Make no mistake, you are paying for the grand view and nothing else. We had spent the first night of our holiday in a loft suite at Brewster's mountain lodge in Banff. The room at Brewster's was fabulous, very spacious - on two tiers with a big outside balcony overlooking the mountains, had a big whirlpool bath and was in the middle of Banff itself which meant we could explore. Ok, the hotel isn't on the same level, luxury-wise but it was still very pretty, the staff were very friendly and at £118, it was much cheaper, much more convenient for Banff and we had a lovely continental breakfast included. At Rimrock three beers cost us $26, breakfast was extra and the room was nothing special. The view was very grand though! (And very expensive!). We intend to return to Banff as soon as possible and will stay at Brewster's again. Rimrock? Well, we can see the mountains for free from outside so we'll give it a miss.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

Having stayed at the Rimrock previously, my fiancee and I decided to book in at the hotel again during our recent visit to Banff, in spite of some of the less than flattering reviews which have appeared on this site.

To our delight the Rimrock was just as good as when we stayed before. All staff were courteous, efficient and welcoming. Both ours and my parents rooms were spacious, light, well furnished and equipped, spotlessly clean and commandeered magnificent views which were breathtaking.

Although we didn't eat in the hotel due to us having prior engagements in Banff, we had drinks in the Divas Bar and were served by friendly staff and enjoyed the ambience of this great venue.

We also took advantage of the free shuttle bus for a return journey into Banff town centre, which meant that everyone could enjoy a drink out without having to worry about driving back to the hotel.

Our overall experience of the Rimrock was fantastic and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting luxury accommodation in Banff without having to pay Fairmont prices. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GagaGirlDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

Great hotel - we had a beautiful view - only wish they had robes. On other concern was we saw the maid leave our room upon returning - 15 mintues later we heard a light knock....seconds later an asian man entered to say he was there to inspect the room....not sure if that was standard, but we ensured to add the "do not disturb" sign the following day.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supportautism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
2.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Property: Rimrock Resort Hotel
Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing