We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Swift Current
1 review
“Relaxing getaway”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have stayed at the Rimrock Hotel in the past and just loved it. The staff are great, very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and well appointed. The food in the restaurants is amazing, both the breakfast buffet and fine dinning in Eden. We will stay at the Rimrock again and highly recomend this resort to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,916
    1,161
    430
    183
    119
See reviews for
1,237
2,287
102
537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Rimrock for 4 nights as part of a package put together for us by Trailfinders. Because we booked at the beginning of the year we had 4 night for the price of 3 and received a free room upgrade. This meant that we had a huge room with a stunning view. The 2 queen sized beds were amazingly comfortable and the linen extremely soft. A real touch of luxury! The hotel can be quite confusing to navigate at first but as soon as you get the hang of it it is a great place to stay. The swimming pool, whirlpool etc are lovely and no one seems to mind you wandering to and from the pool in the robes provided in the rooms. Things are expensive (parking $16 a day) and the hotel is situated a way out of the town but they give you free bus passes and the buses run about every 40 mins and stop right outside the hotel. We didn't find the location a problem at all. It's ideal if you want access to the hot springs and the gondola. We found all the staff extremely polite and helpful. Would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

My husband and I wed in Feb at the Rimrock in Banff. The experience was amazing. We were treated like royalty while we stayed there and the Rimrock staff did everything they could to make our guests and us happy. The service the Concierge gave was outstanding. They even drove one of our wedding guests to the hospital on the night of the wedding when he fell ill.
I can't wait till we can stay there again on our first anniversary!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stormNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed over a weekend to attend a wedding, had room service for breakfast and enjoyed the take out deli for snacks. The service was fantastic and our room was the nicest I have stayed in.
The view of the valley was incredible, pay the extra fee just to see this!

Room Tip: pick a room with a view, its worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMV70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We chose the Rimrock for our honeymoon destination, from day one we were treated like royalty. The staff are friendly, the rooms and views are gorgeous, you truly do get what you pay for. Oh, the beds are super comfortable too. Not to mention the food! We dined at the Eden restaurant which was the highlight of our trip. Chris Joy, Robert (our beverage specialist), the host of the restaurant and our server whose name I can't remember were nothing but gracious. My husband and I had never had a fine dining experience before, and Chris showed us how to order from the menu. Robert paired our wines absolutely perfectly and our server made sure to explain each course to us. The chef is a magician, every bite was like heaven. All of the staff were an absolute pleasure do deal with. Even if you don't stay at the Rimrock, try Eden restaurant and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Amee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The rooms were dirty and the staff were very rude . The food was terrible and way over priced !!
We had my sons wedding on there and for a couple to spend over $20,000 for a 2 day event and not to mention all the money they got from all of his guests i would like to think that a hotel would be very accomdating towards the couple and there guests but they wernt at all , they were completley the opposite ! Its a shame that a nice location for a hotel is run by complete amateur's and un professional staff ! I will not be going back !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review after your recent experience with us.
It is disappointing that you were unable to enjoy your Son’s wedding. We attempted to deal with the challenging incidents, and behaviours noted as offensive by other guests, as professionally as possible to ensure that all Rimrock guests were able to have a great experience at the hotel.

Our Service team is very proud of the service that we provide, and always look forward to hosting special events.

In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We have stayed at the Rimrock a few times now, the last time being the end of June 2014. The location is gorgeous, just a couple of minutes up on the mountain side from Banff. Every room I've stayed in has a lovely view. The service is top notch, as it should be for the higher than average price. Our double room was very nice. We took advantage of the Larkspur for dessert food and drinks the first night, and everything was delicious. Yes expensive, but it's expected for where you are staying. The Primrose breakfast buffet was nice as well, as was dinner later that evening. Vast wine selection. They have frequent shuttles to town, which was handy. The pool is rather small, but enjoyable. Next time I'll try the spa. Great stay overall.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
2.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,140 reviews
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,025 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
927 reviews
10.6 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Property: Rimrock Resort Hotel
Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing