We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very well run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very well run hotel”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Very professional, friendly and helpful personnel. Good selection of restaurants offering a varied menu and very good value for $. Our premium room had a panoramic view of the townsite and valley below. Excellent shuttle transport is available (right from and to hotel) free of charge to Banff town centre. Rooms well appointed clean and comfortable. Very good wifi access free of charge. Parking indoors with lots of space- particularly welcome during our stay when it was snowing heavily. Nice pool, hot pools and steam room with a well equipped work out area. Overall a nice relaxing place to stay albeit the pricing is on the upper end but it is Banff after all where accommodation of this quality is at a premium.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you were able to enjoy the views as well as the atmosphere.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,834
    1,122
    409
    173
    115
See reviews for
1,201
2,211
99
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (902)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We paid for a standard room. At the time of booking I understood that meant no valley views. What I did no realize is that "standard" is code for undesirable. The first room guest services assigned to us overlooked the heating units and parking garage. I had to strain to see the mountains. When we requested to be moved we were given the room next to the service elevator, and overlooking the front entrance. Between the sound of bus traffic and the endless whooshing of the service elevator, it was not a particularly pleasant or relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobinBristow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay with us. We are proud to have a variety of guestrooms for our guests to choose from when staying with us. From our Standard category with obstructed views, to our Premium categories providing either a mountain of valley views, to our Grandview guestrooms providing an expansive mountain and valley view! We are happy to place a quiet request on your reservation for your next stay with us, and do our best to meet your need of a guestroom located away from machinery and areas of the hotel that can be subject to noise. We apologize that we were unable to meet your room needs on your most recent visit and hope that you will return for a Truly Rimrock Experience.

We look forward to your next arrival!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Our family stayed at the Rimrock for 2nights in April 2014 for a mini-staycation. This is across the road from Banff Upper Hot Springs and about a 5min drive to downtown Banff. We got a 2 Queen standard room with an "obstructed view", and they weren't joking as we face the parking garage. Note to self: pay the extra money for a view room as that defeated the purpose of staying in the mountains.

The highlights of the Rimrock:
- we loved the pool and hot tub, both were big and spacious
- there is a squash court and you can borrow their racquets and balls for free. That was fun for our kids to try
- parking garage was connected to hotel and was heated
- very elegant and classy feel, front desk was very friendly and helpful

The lowlights according to me:
- Self-parking was $16/day. Valet parking was $32/day.
- Several fancy restaurants and bars onsite but it was too pricey for us ($5 for a bowl of cold cereal per the breakfast menu). We opted to have dinner at the Keg downtown instead :)
- Room was very standard and bathroom must have not been renovated yet. Faucets were loose and handles were wiggly.

Overall - the Rimrock is obviously geared towards upper class visitors and business travelers (I think their 6th floor is for conventions). Hotel lobby is actually the 7th floor because the hotel is built on the side of a mountain. We didn't know that going in and was a little confused.

On our next visit, we would not stay at the Rimrock only because we prefer to be closer to downtown (we don't want to drive all the time). For the price, it wasn't great value for our family.

Room Tip: Obstructed view really means obstructed view. Our window faced the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience after your recent stay.
We are delighted that you felt welcome upon your arrival to the hotel. Our service team has great pride in providing exceptional WOW experienced to our guests and it is our pleasure to share your comments with them. Next time you are in the area we invite you to come and try one of our dining room selections, from Larkspur Lounge which is great for families in a casual setting, to our Italian dining room Primrose, or if you want to have an amazing night out try our 5-diamond dining room Eden. We are pleased to offer an array of selection choices that allow you to find the best fit for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Staff was very friendly, price wasn't bad through work and off peak time. View is great but it really depends on room, I had ground floor. Seemed clean, not new but comfortable and big enough. Room only has pay fridge. Conference room was very good although no windows or cell service. Had no cell service in hotel room either. $8 can ride to town or free bus which isn't bad considering the overall cost of being here but I would prefer to wander the streets more, this is better for getaway. Concierge was very helpful and recommended a great place to eat on town. Parking is $16 self or $30/day valet.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Clint R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay. We are delighted that the concierge was able to provide you with a great option for dining downtown and hope you will join us again at the hotel to enjoy Primrose Italian dining room or our 5-diamond dining room, Eden.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2014

First time at Rimrock Resort. Definitely not the last. The weekend at the Spa was offered by daughter and her boyfriend. That was the most relaxing soul searching weekend ever. The view of the mountains breath taking. The staff at every level were fantastic. I will recommend Rimrock Resort on a heart beat. Walking distance for the Hot Spring. The weekend was amazing Thank You Alexandra and Jessie.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Liane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience and glad that you daughter and her boyfriend were able to send you to us to be spoiled!

We hope you will be back for another weekend of pampering soon!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hotel is no doubt in a very nice location - you'll keep coming back! - it's just few steps away from the famous Gondola
The staff are so friendly, helpful,caring and approachable
I like the hotel's banana bread!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 606Tess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
We are elated that you enjoyed your experience with us! We look forward to your next stay ad agree ~ there is nothing quite like the homemade hotel banana bread!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have stayed at the Rimrock a number of times over the years, but this recent visit was more of a pleasure than in the past. It was obvious that the hotel staff had brought their "A" game to customer service; every staff intaraction was positive, helpful and centred around my positive experience as a guest. When you stay at a high end hotel like the Rimrock, you expect a high level of customer service...and that's what they delivered.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience and that our service team exceeded your expectations. We take great pride as a hotel in providing best in class service and finding the opportunity to WOW each of our guests. It is an absolute pleasure to share your feedback with our team and look forward to continuing the great service attitude for all your future stays!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
2.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Property: Rimrock Resort Hotel
Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing