We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Banff and love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed at the Rimrock Resort for two days and didn't want to leave. The service was awesome and the rooms were lovely. Down comforters on the beds and beautiful, up-to-date decor. Awesome view from our room, beautiful lobby and staff was very helpful. This was our first time to Banff. We have family in Calgary and comes from Virginia to visit. We spent a few nights in Banff. I loved the town and can not wait to come back to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pjtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,518 - 3,524 of 5,110 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

the rimrock was wonderful! beautifully (and i do mean BEAUTIFULLY!) situated a little outside of the main town, right across from the amazing banff hot springs) the rimrock was just perfect. fabulous views (our room faced toward the mountains and the back patio of the hotel - not facing the road) our stay was relaxing and lovely.

one of our favourite parts was the great location - just a free 8 minute bus ride (for hotel guests) downtown banff, but we felt happily a world away, nestled into the wonderful mountains. we visited the fairmont for fun afternoon walk one day, and even comparing it to the fairmont felt the rimrock views and location must by far be the loveliest in banff!

about the room: nice and quiet - we were never disturbed from noise in the hall or by neighbours even though we stayed 3 nights. i really appreciate that!

the rimrock door staff was the best - very very friendly and helpful, offering great suggestions after asking our interests - every suggestion was spot on!

we LOVED the larkspur lounge right on the main floor for yummy late night drinks and treats, and a great relaxed arts and crafts -lounge vibe, with magnificent views and roaring fires (at least in april)

within an easy walk to both the fabulous hot springs and the amazing banff gondola - we loved the instant relaxed but ritzy feel of the rimrock.

the only downfall we experienced was breakfast at the primrose - which has a great view, but was overpriced and the food underwhelming.

otherwise - a great spot.

lastly, we were there in what everyone told us was the quietest week of the year - which we LOVED, in april. i would highly recommend this time of year for a visit to banff in general - as there is lots of space to roam around everywhere, and not endure, what we've heard from others, a usually busy busy downtown.

be sure to stay at the rimrock! the location alone makes it perfect!

Room Tip: we had a room that faced the mountains (though i think most face some mountains :) and looked across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fun-fun-trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope that you will be able to return this April to stay with us again!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We had heard great things about the Rimrock and had toured the luxurious lobby before so we were expecting an over-the-top luxury getaway. To our surprise we were put in a room on the ground floor with a completely obstructed view of the mountains, a very basic room layout with no extras, and a room in dire need of some updating. The white caulking around the bathtub was moldy and turning black and there was nothing in the mini fridge. We asked to change rooms thinking that it couldn't get much worse and were put in a room with the exact same room layout but this time a very public view of the road and a weird open sitting area but with no couch for sitting. Both my wife and I woke up the next morning with runny noses and red eyes from the dusty air in the room. All the public areas of the hotel are very nice, the food is great, and the common areas have incredible mountain views. Maybe the $500+ rooms have awesome views and amenities but we were really expecting all the rooms would at least be luxurious, comfortable, and updated enough to make you feel like you're being pampered and staying somewhere special.

The parking fee for self-parking in the underground parkade is $16/night. Not an unreasonable fee but I'd caution against any driver who isn't confident with driving in tight spaces to park their own car. We only found 3 empty spots in the parkade and the most spacious one was incredibly tight taking some pretty exacting movements to get into and out of the spot.

Overall it was simply an average stay at best and not at all what we were expecting.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank corradovr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your experience with us. A member of our service team will be contact with you to discuss your experience further.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Don't expect to get anywhere fast in the hotel, the elevators are so slow. The rooms are not clean and the wait staff will ignore you in the Larkspur! The pool is disgusting and dirty too! The view was incredible!!!!




  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

We are disappointed the read that you did not enjoy your experience. A member of our Service Management team will be in contact with you.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The food is remarkable good for a hotel. Although we could not enjoy the Eden restaurant because it was closed for 3 days a week, we have contested that the food in the lounge, bar, and Primrose restaurant was remarkable good.
Only the room needs some upgrading, only 4 lamps in a huge room gives some pretty dark areas, and there were no central switches.
For the rest good services, kind personal, clean rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lex50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us at The Rimrock. Next stay ~ we hope that you will be able to join us in Eden to experience best in class service in cuisine. As Western Canada's only 5 diamond dining room, we are excited to exceed your expectations with food and drink.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very nice hotel with friendly staff. We used the spa services and found everyone very professional. The pool and hot tub area was quite nice also. In the suites looking out the window at the mountains it was very tranquil.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us at The Rimrock and we look forward to your next stay!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We've been coming to the Rimrock every year about this time - always such a wonderful experience. Great service! One of our favourite things is enjoying a glass of wine in the Larkspur Lounge overlooking the mtns.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Verlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your visit each year. We agree that there is nothing better than a great glass of wine, a grand fireplace, and an unbelievable view from Larkspur Lounge!

We look forward to your next visit.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
2.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,204 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,003 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,171 reviews
2.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $102 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing