We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view of the Rockies!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Spent a recent weekend getaway in a Premium Valley View room, which was worth the splurge! The ever changing view of the Rockies and forested valley in the evening sun and again as the sun rises was breathtaking! The room also overlooked a small outdoor ice rink surrounded by snow-dusted trees, which you can use if you bring your own skates. The room itself was a decent size, with a sitting area by the window (where I spent most of my time).

The hotel is a distance away from the main shopping/restaurant area in the Town of Banff, so it is a great place to stay if you prefer the seclusion, and have a rental car (i.e. not much within walking distance, as you are half way up a mountain). Which naturally led to our choice of dinner at the 5-diamond Eden Restaurant inside the hotel, which was the highlight of our stay! We chose the 3-course wine pairing, which also included 3 amuse-bouche -- all of the dishes were beautifully presented and very creatively prepared. The service was impeccable, and well worth the splurge (again!).

The only drawbacks were the slightly outdated bathroom fixtures (shower) and a teeny-tiny hairdryer (the kind found in motels, stuck to the wall), which was unexpected in a deluxe-priced hotel.

I would definitely return to this hotel again, but maybe with my own hairdryer ; )

Room Tip: Valley view room is worth the extra expense!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvrmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience after your recent trip to Banff. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the views from your guestroom and were able to take advantage of the hotel amenities, and surrounding attractions.

We look forward to your next stay!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,654 - 3,660 of 5,053 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed for weekend. The facility, the food, the staff were all absolutely fabulous. The views are incredible and they are everywhere. Dined at the Eden with the wine pairing. It was a great experience. Would not do it again because we didn't enjoy it enough for it to be worth the expense but we are glad we now know what it's all about. The gym is decent, maybe not completely consistent with a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to read that you were able to take advantage of dining in our 5-diamond dining room, Eden. It is a one of a kind experience and our staff have great pride in being the only 5-diamond dining room in Western Canada. We host a Fall Special in Eden each November/December, and encourage you to come back and have the experience again.

We look forward to your next visit.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Rimrock is a lovely place to stay. Comfortable rooms and the free bus to Banff
is great. We would stay here again. Friendly staff. Pool and hot tub was great.
The lounge is a great place to pace a few hours reading by the fireplace, great views.



  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

We are happy to hear that you were able to find time to relax, and that you chose to join us to do it. The grand fireplace, accompanied by the grand views certainly bring you down to enjoy the quiet of nature for a period of time. We hope next time, you will be able to indulge in a treatment in our Spa, to add to your relaxing vacation!

We look forward to your next stay!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I looked around at many hotels in Banff. I settled on either the Fairmont-Banff or this hotel. On Expedia, I was able to get this room for $200 less than the Fairmont so I deemed it the winner. I went on the CDN Thanksgiving so rates were slightly higher than normal but paid $177 for the night.
I liked everything about this hotel. The service was good, the decor was well done and updated. Not long after checking into the room, the hotel called to ensure that everything was to my liking, and let's not forget the best part- the view! You are literally IN the Rocky Mountains.

The hotel offers a few dining options as well as two lounges & a coffee shop. We had our Thanksgiving dinner at the Primrose, the more casual option. Food was good and so was the service. We also ate breakfast here. They have a menu option as well as a buffet for breakfast and kids 5 and under can have the buffet for free. I chose the menu option and everything was delicious. Very large portions. It wasn't cheap but what 5 star hotel offers cheap? None that I have ever been to. Plus, I don't mind paying if you get value for it, and the meal was worth it. Not to mention, convenience sometimes wins out as well . You can't get any easier than eating in your own hotel. My Breakfast was $16 and two adults could have shared it. The view from the dining rooms add to the decor and ambiance. You have to pay for parking which I hate, but all hotels seem to be this way. It was $16 to self-park or $30 for valet.

One of the key benefits about this hotel is the proximity to everything. You are a short 10 minute drive to the town of Banff for great dining and shopping. The hotel offers a FREE shuttle to and from the town, so you can leave your car and not have to worry about parking etc. and simply relax. Another added bonus is that you are literally steps away from Banff Upper Hot Springs and the Banff Gondola. I walked from the hotel to the Gondola in less than 5 minutes.

No one denies that Fairmont Hotels are among the top anywhere you go, particularly in Banff & Lake Louise. But if you want a great hotel for a lot less money that is right next door to the Fairmont, check out the Rimrock. You will definitely be glad you did!

Room Tip: For an additional fee, you can have your room upgraded to overlook the mountains if you did not get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Rimrock on TripAdvisor. It is a delight to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you were able to take advantage of all our on-site amenities, as well as indulge in some of Banff's local attractions.

We hope that you were able to take the opportunity to participate in the Birds of Prey display we have at the hotel over Canadian Thanksgiving. It is so an unique feature, being able to interact with Owls and their Golden Eagle, Spirit.

We look forward to your next stay, and invite you to look at our website to find our great promotions, and rate offerings all year round.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay with amazing views from our suite at this hotel. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. We enjoyed a delicious dinner in the Primrose dining room as well, followed by a nightcap in the lounge. It was all good value and we will definitely return here when our travels next take us to Banff for a mini holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, and that you were able to join us in Primrose for exceptional food and service.

We look forward to your next stay!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel. The dinner in the Primrose Restaurant was an 'excellent second choice' since the Eden was closed. Our room location was magnificent and worth the extra for the special birthday celebration. Look forward to returning when we are back in Banff!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

We would like to extend Birthday Wishes! We are delighted that you chose to celebrate your birthday celebration with us at The Rimrock. We are very proud of Primrose and the service and experience our serving team and Kitchen provide, and are pleased that you enjoyed your experience in our Restaurant.

We look forward to your next visit, and assisting in your celebration of many milestones in the future.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We slipped away to the Rimrock for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary and the service and hotel were fantastic. Everyone was friendly and we had first class attention throughout our trip. Definitely looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Raymond N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience on Trip Advisor. It is a delight to read that you enjoyed your experience with us. Our staff have a great amount of pride in providing each of our guests a WOW experience and when we are able to read that we succeeded in achieving this, we cannot wait to celebrate with our team.
Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us. Happy Anniversary to you and your partner, we hope to have you back at The Rimrock to celebrate many more milestones!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
2.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,195 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
993 reviews
2.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $108 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing